We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, best to go at off-peak time if you can” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giant Forest

Giant Forest
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Forests, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A forest with ancient sequoia trees.
Greater Cleveland
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Great experience, best to go at off-peak time if you can”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The forest a sight to be seen. I've had the pleasure of seeing it twice. I got a lot of great pictures during a daytime visit. It was also fun driving through late at night and seeing the tall trees in the dark with no one else around. It might be good to bring some food and drink with you if you plan on hanging around.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    55
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Unforgettable moment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Even if the road to climb is quite long and extremely busy , when you enter such park , you feel really small in front of such giant trees touching the sky ; you have a plan entering the national aera and it s important to have a look on it to enjoy and discover such natural architecture ; you have many possibilities to park the car and walk into the landscape and finally , you feel sometimes alone between 2 giants ; was a very nice experience and very profitable

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“"WOW"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

These trees have to be seen to appreciate the sizes of them, not just how tall they are but how big around they are. We were joking that you could play hide and seek around one tree and not see the other person! The air, the scenery, and the trees are out of this world! There are lots of areas to pull over to enjoy all of those things! If you are planning on going to a number of national parks be sure to get a pass for the year as it is good for all of the national parks in the United States and this will help with your cost down.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Take your time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Pictures cannot capture the grandeur of this forest. The road has many turnouts, so feel free to stop and look. We really enjoyed how people would pull off and let others pass. The views command you to stop here and there. Absolutely breathtaking!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

You must visit this Park if you can! We loved it. We spent 2 nights at Wuksaki Lodge and saw General Sherman, did the big trees trail and the Giant Forest. We had lots of fun in the snow, and we were lucky that it was a lovely sunny day. Natural at its best!
www.twoyamyamsabroad.com

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant Forest also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Giant Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giant Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.