We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giant Forest

Giant Forest
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Forests
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A forest with ancient sequoia trees.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We almost missed this, found how close it was to where we were staying that night and so glad we went! We took the guided trolly tour and just sit there in awe looking at these beautiful giants! Learned a lot of things about these trees! The park is a must stop on your trip!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    51
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I was awestruck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The giant sequoia trees were so amazing. I have never seen trees so big (obviously) but I just didn't realize how MUCH bigger they are than regular trees. Such an incredible sight.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“natural beauty abounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Being retired allows us to avoid the big highways...and we chose a route thru this National park on our way from Oregon to LA for Thanksgiving with family. It is pristine and incredibly lovely.... the big trees and lovely peaceful groves can restore the most jaded soul. We were blessed with sunshine and mild weather which made it nearly perfect. The slow and winding two lane highway made us wish we had come on our motorcycles! We definitely will come back next time to ride this on our motors. We reached nearly 7500 feet elevation and had incredible vistas over numerous mountain ranges. I only avoided a 5 rating due to the remoteness and time this takes..... be prepared to spend a whole day getting here and enjoying it....

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“fabulous and not busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Big Tree Trail was the best and easiest trail. You have access to so many sequoias and it was nearly emtpy compared to General Sherman and General Grant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Awsome views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Of course a must when in this park.
These trees make dwarfs of the normal trees (which are quite big themselves).
You've gotto take your time to see the various places and enjoy yourselves.
The roads are windy and the distance longer then expected.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant Forest also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Giant Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giant Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.