We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was awestruck!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giant Forest

Giant Forest
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Forests
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A forest with ancient sequoia trees.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I was awestruck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The giant sequoia trees were so amazing. I have never seen trees so big (obviously) but I just didn't realize how MUCH bigger they are than regular trees. Such an incredible sight.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    45
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“natural beauty abounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Being retired allows us to avoid the big highways...and we chose a route thru this National park on our way from Oregon to LA for Thanksgiving with family. It is pristine and incredibly lovely.... the big trees and lovely peaceful groves can restore the most jaded soul. We were blessed with sunshine and mild weather which made it nearly perfect. The slow and winding two lane highway made us wish we had come on our motorcycles! We definitely will come back next time to ride this on our motors. We reached nearly 7500 feet elevation and had incredible vistas over numerous mountain ranges. I only avoided a 5 rating due to the remoteness and time this takes..... be prepared to spend a whole day getting here and enjoying it....

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“fabulous and not busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Big Tree Trail was the best and easiest trail. You have access to so many sequoias and it was nearly emtpy compared to General Sherman and General Grant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Awsome views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Of course a must when in this park.
These trees make dwarfs of the normal trees (which are quite big themselves).
You've gotto take your time to see the various places and enjoy yourselves.
The roads are windy and the distance longer then expected.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Huge trees and bear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a chance to see really huge trees there and one black bear as well. So it was very nice and scary in the same time so we really enjoyed that. Amazing place!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giant Forest also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Giant Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giant Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Giant Forest to your Saves list