We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deadly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mineral King Road

Mineral King Road
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A challenging scenic road.
Three Rivers, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Deadly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I know three people who actually survived going over the side on this road! On some sections "going over the side" can mean an almost sheer drop of 600-800 feet! Often times those drivers who are intimidated, drive way too close to the middle of the road presenting a "head-on" collision opportunity for the unsuspecting driver coming around a blind curve. This happened just few years ago when a scared driver had a head-on collision with a park ranger.
Take this advice: Anytime you can, drive this road at night! You'll be infinitely safer being able to see the headlights coming around the many, many blind curves.
Day or night, plan on 1 1/2 - 2 hours to travel from Highway 198 to Mineral king Valley.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Steep and Winding Road”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The year was 1971 and my youngest brother and I began the drive up the road in my `65 Opel wagon to check out the camping as our parent`s and sister were going to follow us in their station wagon and 15` travel trailer. Almost a mile up that steep road I had to lighten the load which had my brother exiting the car! We turned around and headed back down the mountain and found a payphone to call our parents and give them the news. Little did we know that we had missed the sign below that advised visitors of the difficulty for trailers and RVs to travel this road! A very enjoyable vacation was in store for all of us in Sequoia at Azalea Campground that year which was not our first there for our family.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Mineral King Road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Getting to Mineral King Valley is an adventure - the narrow dirt road clings to the side of a hill most of the way, but affords lovely views, and the Valley is worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Park to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had a great time this summer visiting the park. Lots of easy trails for the family to hike. My daughter participated in the junior ranger program which was a very special memory for her. The giant sequoias are an awesome attraction if you haven't lost your sense of wonder. I mean these trees are unbelievable. Lot's of great places for picnics and of course camping if you plan for that. We stayed just outside of the park and drove in to different locations each day planning for a few hikes and a picnic each time. We had my grandparents with us this time so we went at a slow pace but it was great being surrounded by the beauty of the parks and having time with family. Seniors can purchase a lifetime pass to the parks for a low rate which benefited us on this trip.

- Early morning drives are great for spotting wildlife.
- Junior Ranger Program for Kids - http://www.nps.gov/learn/juniorranger.cfm
- Check out the day hikes - http://www.nps.gov/seki/planyourvisit/dayhikes.htm
- My favorite picnic - Grizzly Falls

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sequoia and King Canyon National Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Both are located in the Sierra Nevada (California) at the latitude of Fresno. The altitude is about 2000 meters for the Sequoia and goes down to about 1000 meters for the King Canyon.
In the Sequoia Park, you can drive and see interesting view points and hike as there are several trails. Do not expect large views because the park is covered by trees. Of course the most interesting trees are the sequoias, of which the "Sherman Tree" is the largest tree in the world ! The "Grant Tree" (on the road to the King Canyon) is just a little bit smaller. The road in the park is rather slow and there are not so many parkings.
The King Canyon park has a "V" shape ; there are not so many trees in this park but the views are spectacular. The road goes down from the Sequoia park and follow afterwards the river at the bottom ; you return by the same road. You find also trails especially at the end of the road. When I was there (October 2012) the Sequoia Park was in the clouds but descending to the King Canyon lets the sun appear.

Count one day to visit each park.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mineral King Road also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Mineral King Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mineral King Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.