We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Park to Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mineral King Road

Mineral King Road
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A challenging scenic road.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Park to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had a great time this summer visiting the park. Lots of easy trails for the family to hike. My daughter participated in the junior ranger program which was a very special memory for her. The giant sequoias are an awesome attraction if you haven't lost your sense of wonder. I mean these trees are unbelievable. Lot's of great places for picnics and of course camping if you plan for that. We stayed just outside of the park and drove in to different locations each day planning for a few hikes and a picnic each time. We had my grandparents with us this time so we went at a slow pace but it was great being surrounded by the beauty of the parks and having time with family. Seniors can purchase a lifetime pass to the parks for a low rate which benefited us on this trip.

- Early morning drives are great for spotting wildlife.
- Junior Ranger Program for Kids - http://www.nps.gov/learn/juniorranger.cfm
- Check out the day hikes - http://www.nps.gov/seki/planyourvisit/dayhikes.htm
- My favorite picnic - Grizzly Falls

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Versailles France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sequoia and King Canyon National Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Both are located in the Sierra Nevada (California) at the latitude of Fresno. The altitude is about 2000 meters for the Sequoia and goes down to about 1000 meters for the King Canyon.
In the Sequoia Park, you can drive and see interesting view points and hike as there are several trails. Do not expect large views because the park is covered by trees. Of course the most interesting trees are the sequoias, of which the "Sherman Tree" is the largest tree in the world ! The "Grant Tree" (on the road to the King Canyon) is just a little bit smaller. The road in the park is rather slow and there are not so many parkings.
The King Canyon park has a "V" shape ; there are not so many trees in this park but the views are spectacular. The road goes down from the Sequoia park and follow afterwards the river at the bottom ; you return by the same road. You find also trails especially at the end of the road. When I was there (October 2012) the Sequoia Park was in the clouds but descending to the King Canyon lets the sun appear.

Count one day to visit each park.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Scary, Twisty, and very narrow!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This road was only big enough for one and a half cars at most. Plus there were a lot of blind spots, and no guardrail of any kind. One mistake and that's it....your history...I prayed all the way up and down everytime I had to drive it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The brochure I read states that this road has 698 tight turns. I think it is correct. The road ends in a valley surrounded by mountains. There are plenty of hikes that go up to gorgeous mountain lakes & waterfalls. A few miles before the end of the road is Silver City, where you can grab a bite to eat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Dirt road all the way!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Love the hike at White Chief but if you are out of shape, DO NOT attempt the hike. Make sure you are acclimated to the altitude for a night or two before hiking so you don't get altitude sickness (nausea, vomiting => brain swelling). Take your time and enjoy. Marmots may chew on your radiator hose so park your car a mile down the road from the hike and hoof it up. If not, get chicken wires and wrap it around your car. Don't let these cute friendly creatures deter you from hiking this Swiss Alps look alike beauty.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mineral King Road also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Mineral King Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mineral King Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mineral King Road to your Saves list