We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular drive!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Canyon Scenic Byway

Kings Canyon Scenic Byway
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 30-mile scenic drive between Grant Grove and Cedar Grove Village.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Spectacular drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I drove this road in June from Grant Grove to Roads End in order to pick up the trail for Mist Falls. This road is incredible, undoubtedly one of the most spectacular drives i've ever taken - steep cliff walls on both sides, the road hugging the edge, running along side the beautiful rushing white water of the Kings River - and barely a car in sight! Kings Canyon has all the beauty of Yosemite with just a tiny fraction of the people...

The road is approximately 35 miles end to end so be sure to have as full a tank as possible when you enter the park (Squaw Valley is your last chance to fill up if coming from Fresno). You may be able to get gas in the park at Hume Lake or Kings Canyon Lodge but prepare to pay a premium.

The road offers access to a number of hiking trails, both long and short, as well as a number of peaceful and secluded campsites.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    25
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is without doubt one the most incredibly beautiful places I have ever seen. If you get a chance to drive thru Kings Canyon then don't miss it

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Like others, I'd rate this as the highlight of our Sequoia/Kings Canyon trip (granted we didn't do any backpacking). One of the most impressive drives I've had, with steep canyon walls of multicolored rock and a gorgeous white water river. Don't leave the parks without seeing this stretch of road!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, Nederland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

For me, this was the highlight of our visit to Sequoia/Kings Canyon NP. You drive through the mountains and have great views. Walk to the Roaring River Falls and through Zumwalt Meadow.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Fahrvergnügen!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We totally had an awesome ride to Cedar Grove Village and back: steep ascents & descents, hairpin turns, and breathtaking views all along the way! What made it even better was that we had the road to ourselves…Sweet! If you take this drive during peak season, you may get stuck behind a bunch of timid drivers. If you don’t mind going at a slower pace, then you’ll be fine; otherwise, your driving experience may be diminished.

Bottom Line: A Driver's Delight!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Canyon Scenic Byway also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Kings Canyon Scenic Byway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Canyon Scenic Byway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.