We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feast for the Eyes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Generals Highway

Generals Highway
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 30-mile scenic drive at 7,000 feet.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
172 attraction reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Feast for the Eyes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Try to take it relatively slowly driving on the Generals Highway--but don't hold up other traffic. Pull over and enjoy. The road goes through Sequoia and Kings Canyon with pull outs for some of the most spectacular views you can imagine. The road is well paved and easy to navigate.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    39
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Generals Highway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

What an introduction to the big Sequoias! Travel this highway north and south to see General "Tall" Sherman and General "Girth" Grant. Be sure to drive through one of these great Sequoias.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth your time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Although it takes quite some time to get from entrance to General Sherman, the drive is cool with a few places to stop for the "vistas", the scenery changes quite a bit on the way up to about 7000 ft.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Take in the views - take time to stop for short hikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We spent a day driving, hiking, and taking photos. We sandwiched this drive between two big hiking days. Every turn gave another stunning view. Lots of wild flowers. There were several places to stop and see waterfalls and take short hikes. In May, there were very few people so we could linger and drive slowly to enjoy the ride. Beautiful in both directions.

We stopped at Hume Lake for quick lunch and to get gas. It was beautiful and peaceful. Keep an eye on gas levels and fill up when you can. The beauty can be compromised when a nagging wife keeps talking about the gas - don't do that like I did!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Town, Maine
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Windy, scenic drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was a bit nervous before going on the Generals Highway and was worried about falling off from a cliff or something. I had my boyfriend drive and it honestly wasn't as bad as I had feared. Sure, there are lots of turns and you get pretty high up before you reach any of the campgrounds, but it was totally worth it!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Generals Highway also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Generals Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generals Highway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.