We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rolling Up and Down Highway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Generals Highway

Generals Highway
, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 30-mile scenic drive at 7,000 feet.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rolling Up and Down Highway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Make sure your brakes and engine braking are working before tackling this one. There's lots of climbing and downhills as you cross watersheds. Not many viewpoints, but the ones that exist are good. Be sure to get gas on your way up to the parks--there is none in the parks and the mountains eat gas! We did not drive the southern half of Sequoia, but we understand that is a very challenging road they are trying to modernize, so be prepared for construction when the weather permits.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    54
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rough road in spots but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

There is a bit of dusty construction and sitting in the car waiting to get up the mountain on the one-lane part of the road but a stop at Hospital Rock and a quick hike down to the river make it all worth while. Bring your camera and hiking shoes and have fun climbing the rocks to get pictures of beautiful pools.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rough road”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After paying $10 to go through the gate we discovered that the road was all torn up and barely passable in places.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The open road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was under repair from what I understand in the summer. While we were there only parts were under construction but it did not hamper our drive at all. You would be a fool to try to drive up here in the high tourist season. The roads are narrow and to get anywhere you have to drive 45+ to fast for these roads in my opinion. The turnouts are well planned and we enjoyed our drive in late September after the crowds had thinned.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanford
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a Beautiful Drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

You can enjoy the Giant Sequoias and breathtaking views on this lovely drive thru Sequoia National Park without even leaving your vechical. You can go two diferent ways, from Fresno go up Hyway 180 to Hyway 198; or from Visalia go up Hyway 198 and come out Hyway 180; either way is spectacular . This entire trip can take you only 4 hours if you make no stops.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Generals Highway also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Generals Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generals Highway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.