We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough road in spots but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Generals Highway

Generals Highway
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 30-mile scenic drive at 7,000 feet.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rough road in spots but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

There is a bit of dusty construction and sitting in the car waiting to get up the mountain on the one-lane part of the road but a stop at Hospital Rock and a quick hike down to the river make it all worth while. Bring your camera and hiking shoes and have fun climbing the rocks to get pictures of beautiful pools.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    46
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newhall
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rough road”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After paying $10 to go through the gate we discovered that the road was all torn up and barely passable in places.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The open road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was under repair from what I understand in the summer. While we were there only parts were under construction but it did not hamper our drive at all. You would be a fool to try to drive up here in the high tourist season. The roads are narrow and to get anywhere you have to drive 45+ to fast for these roads in my opinion. The turnouts are well planned and we enjoyed our drive in late September after the crowds had thinned.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanford
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a Beautiful Drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

You can enjoy the Giant Sequoias and breathtaking views on this lovely drive thru Sequoia National Park without even leaving your vechical. You can go two diferent ways, from Fresno go up Hyway 180 to Hyway 198; or from Visalia go up Hyway 198 and come out Hyway 180; either way is spectacular . This entire trip can take you only 4 hours if you make no stops.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

A long winding road up the mountains with stunning views. Takes a couple of hours to reach the top but well worth the trip. You see lots of wildlife and maybe even bears! Just don't ride the brakes on the way back down!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Generals Highway also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Generals Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generals Highway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.