We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The open road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Generals Highway

Generals Highway
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Drives
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A 30-mile scenic drive at 7,000 feet.
Cumming, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The open road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was under repair from what I understand in the summer. While we were there only parts were under construction but it did not hamper our drive at all. You would be a fool to try to drive up here in the high tourist season. The roads are narrow and to get anywhere you have to drive 45+ to fast for these roads in my opinion. The turnouts are well planned and we enjoyed our drive in late September after the crowds had thinned.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    28
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hanford
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a Beautiful Drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

You can enjoy the Giant Sequoias and breathtaking views on this lovely drive thru Sequoia National Park without even leaving your vechical. You can go two diferent ways, from Fresno go up Hyway 180 to Hyway 198; or from Visalia go up Hyway 198 and come out Hyway 180; either way is spectacular . This entire trip can take you only 4 hours if you make no stops.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

A long winding road up the mountains with stunning views. Takes a couple of hours to reach the top but well worth the trip. You see lots of wildlife and maybe even bears! Just don't ride the brakes on the way back down!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Gods Country - Beautiful ! Love the high country, trees, river, streams, nature. Magnificant scenery.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Scenery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I drive on General's Highway almost every weekend, and the view never gets old. The sight is gorgeous, especially once you get higher into the mountains. The only bad thing (which I believe is quite minor) is some parts of Generals Highway is so windy that it may make you feel dizzy or sick.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Generals Highway also viewed

Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Generals Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generals Highway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.