We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - Our annual camping destination for five years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodgepole Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgepole Campground
Save
You added Lodgepole Campground to your Saves list
One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
CA Central Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful - Our annual camping destination for five years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

We have stayed at the Lodgepole Campground for the past five years. All of our campsites have been in the same loop up near the waterfall.
We have been during June and July in previous years and choose August this year so that we could splash around a little in the river. Last year they had a really high water flow at the end of June and we were not able to slash around since the water was to rough. There is a nice small pool at the bottom of the campground waterfall (the Topeka Waterfall is about 2 miles upstream) and a smaller sitting pool that has been carved by the river above that.
The water is not too cold and the surrounding rocks are warm after a day in the sun. It makes a wonderful place to splash around after a day of hiking.
The tent only campsites that we enjoy are in the Upper Lodgepole loop. Sites 124,125,126,128 are all riverfront property. During the high water season 128 has a small private stream that runs near it. This year we were at 128. The website that the National Park Service uses to book the sites (recreation.gov) has a map of the campsites. They are all close enough, but not too close to the bathrooms which are located directly across the lightly traveled road. There is a water spigot right behind 124. Site 128 is the most private of the four sites that we like. It is also farthest away from your car and 15 steps up. Not too bad, but on your first day at elevation hauling all of that stuff can be a chore. Site 128, being up the hill a little has no close neighbors and a fallen tree provides more privacy. There are two sites on that loop (123,127) that offer little privacy that I don't recommend if you can get on of the others.
If you have a large tent site 124 would be a good choice. Our tent hung off of the tent pad at site 128 (lined with rocks) and was a little bumpy. The tent pad at 124 is huge. Sites 124 and 128 also remove your tent from the fire pit so you don't get smoke wafting in the tent all night long. Site 128 is the largest of the four sites.
The Lodgepole Market just down the hill has ice, snacks and so far everything that we have forgotten we have found there. There is a mercifully small amount of souvenirs for our three kids to choose from. You can also find a burger, sandwiches, laundry and a hot shower near the Market. The Visitor Center with tickets to Crystal Cave (you should see it once) is a short walk away.
Sequoia National Park has just implemented a Shuttle route to a few stops this year. There are two stops in the Lodgepole area that take you as far as Crescent Meadow. We were able to do a couple of point to point hikes (instead of round trip) using the Shuttle stops.

  • Liked — Location near the waterfall
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
28 Thank lovethewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

We camped at Lodgepole for 3 nights over the 4th of July. After reading up on the area I was very concerned about bears. Therefore, we chose a sight surrounded by other campers, packed our food in ziplocs, and tried not to bring "overly odorous" foods. Well, 4 1/2 days in the parks and we didn't see one bear. However, other in our campground did.

We were in site 155. the bear box provided was much larger than their website says. It accomodated our 2 coolers plus some extra space. The restrooms seemed to be cleaned each day. There were 4 flush toilets and 2 sinks for each gender in our part of the campground. Pay showers were available down at the store.

The creek was beautiful. My kids loved playing in it. There were several sections of it that could be used to "swim" - you really couldn't go anywhere, but could get your whole body wet.

Each campsite had a bear box, a fire pit with a grill and a picnic table.

Our only complaint was loud neighbors. People read that quiet time is from 10p.m. to 6 a.m. and think that it is OK to have their kids practice violin at 6:45 a.m. You know, it's a campground and we were in a tent, what do you expect.

The campers on the fringe of the campground saw the most wildlife - bears included.

Overall, wonderful scenery & lots of hikes. We felt very safe here. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Safety of having rangers nearby
  • Disliked — TENT CAMPING!!!!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank jonna30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

June 8, 2007.
Spent 4 days at the Lodgepole campgrounds, located in the Sequoia National Park. Had great time. Campgrounds were well taken care of and very well monitored by the Parks Service. Had everything one needs; groceries, laundry, showers and phone service.
Plenty of room for our 36 Ft RV. Roads were narrow and sometimes steep. BUT, not dangerous for this size vehicle.
Bus Shuttle service available to take you to other areas of the park.

Helpful?
9 Thank Z-Mann5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

I have been doing a lot of camping in the recent past and I have to admit that the lodgepole campground has been the best so far.
I booked my site from [--] and it gets filled up completely during summer. so make sure to book your sites in advance.

Iam not sure of the number of sites in this campground but I know that there 4 sites which are right next to the beautiful creek. they are the best ones to choose.

The sites are pretty well spaced out which gives you your privacy.
The site comes with a fire ring, stone benches around it to relax, table- bench and bear container.

You may not be able to park your cars within your campsite. However, the parking lot is not more than 25 feet. Each campsite gets an assigned parking area.

Of course these sites are frequently visited by bears, so make sure not to leave any food items and other toiletries (including toothpaste,perfumes etc) outside the bear container.

We happened to spot a deer running across the creek..The water was pretty cold in the time we went (Jun 2006).

The creek running right next to these sites,makes the campground a bit cold at nights.

To sum up, I would say, this is one great place to camp and have some adventure!

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank vijapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2006

Well, I promised I'd come back to tell you how it went..... it was awesome!! My son was pretty impressed with the campsite I had chosen without ever seeing it before. Upon checking in at the ranger station, both rangers commented about the site I picked saying "thats one of the best ones"....but heck! It is THE best one out of all tent sites in my opinion. You know how everyone enjoys their privacy and seclusion when camping blah bla bla? Well.....there was no campsite to the right of us (like they never made one for camping at all) and the site on the left was a good distance away.

Contrary to what people have been posting on here about Lodgepole being crowded in the summer... yes its true but the problem lies at those sites that are all bunched up together down the hill. Keep driving on the upward loop and they begin to spread out.

Now the ultimate kicker of our site...... the RIVER!! was right there! Ours had to be the only tent site that had the closest access to this secluded little sandy area for fishing or wading. Literally from our picnic table it was about 8 or 9 steps before you hit water. In early July, the sound of the water was very moderate and it made the site a lot colder after dark so beware, we were freezing! Thank Goddess for tent heaters heheh.

Lastly, bears have been sighted roaming around and it is a high priority for the rangers to tell everyone about the consequences of feeding them. I have included a pic of a bear box so you can see its size and an idea of what can fit into it.

Oh btw thats the other thing I wanted to share. IF ANYONE is visiting Lodgpole there is a 3 mile trail called Tokopah Falls that is only accessible thru the campground and I'm so glad we did it because it was beautiful and well worth it.... that is where we saw our wild bear on the trail next to us, foraging.

Enjoy your parks!
Jay

  • Liked — River just steps away...
  • Disliked — loud River noise while sleeping
  • Tips/Secrets — The campsite number is!............. #101
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
57 Thank Aquarian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

We stayed at the Lodgepole Campground on September 30, 2006. For car camping, this is a very good campground. We booked our tent site online through the National Park Service, which is highly reconmended, as Lodgepole is the only campground in the park that takes reservations during the off season. You will find that after summer, many of the Sequoia/Kings Canyon campgrounds close for the season and the ones that don't are on a first come basis. Also, the online reservation system through the National Park Service seemed to indicate that there were plenty of sites, however, when we got there Lodgepole was full. Although it was full campground it was very quiet. They do a good job of spacing out the sites, so you are not right on top of one another, plus the sound of the river muffles some noise as well.

Finally, a little warning. There are NO showers at the Lodgepole Campground. There are showers at the Lodgepole Market and Visitor Center, however, they were only open from 9:00am to 5:30pm. Not good if you want to hike all day and then take a hot shower.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
19 Thank NHVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2005

Lodgepole is a great camping experience. There is something to do for eveyone of all ages. Plenty of nearby trails for those of you who would like to hike amongst the giants of Sequoia.
If fishing is your cup of tea. Twin lakes is spectacular if you don't mind a bit of a hike, or you can fish the river that flows through the campground.
If you are traveling with little ones plenty of activities during the day and evenings. The Rangers do a great job of educating visitors with interesting information concerning the history of the park and it's wildlife.
The facilities are kept very clean and there is a general store in the campground in case you run low on any supplies.
Overall Lodgepole is a fun place for a family to enjoy the great outdoors.

P.S Be sure to follow campground rules concerning bears. They do come through the campground, and we saw first hand what a bear can do to a van because a camper forgot to throw away his empty soda can. Otherwise it is a great experince to view wildlife up and close.

Stayed July 2002
Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,669 reviews
10.2 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
16.0 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
13.2 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
17.1 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodgepole Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgepole Campground

Address: One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodgepole Campground has 214 sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lodgepole Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Lodgepole Campground Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing