We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sequoia Park, BEST Campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodgepole Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgepole Campground
Save Saved
You added Lodgepole Campground to your Saves list
One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
California, USA
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sequoia Park, BEST Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

June 8, 2007.
Spent 4 days at the Lodgepole campgrounds, located in the Sequoia National Park. Had great time. Campgrounds were well taken care of and very well monitored by the Parks Service. Had everything one needs; groceries, laundry, showers and phone service.
Plenty of room for our 36 Ft RV. Roads were narrow and sometimes steep. BUT, not dangerous for this size vehicle.
Bus Shuttle service available to take you to other areas of the park.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

I have been doing a lot of camping in the recent past and I have to admit that the lodgepole campground has been the best so far.
I booked my site from [--] and it gets filled up completely during summer. so make sure to book your sites in advance.

Iam not sure of the number of sites in this campground but I know that there 4 sites which are right next to the beautiful creek. they are the best ones to choose.

The sites are pretty well spaced out which gives you your privacy.
The site comes with a fire ring, stone benches around it to relax, table- bench and bear container.

You may not be able to park your cars within your campsite. However, the parking lot is not more than 25 feet. Each campsite gets an assigned parking area.

Of course these sites are frequently visited by bears, so make sure not to leave any food items and other toiletries (including toothpaste,perfumes etc) outside the bear container.

We happened to spot a deer running across the creek..The water was pretty cold in the time we went (Jun 2006).

The creek running right next to these sites,makes the campground a bit cold at nights.

To sum up, I would say, this is one great place to camp and have some adventure!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2006

Well, I promised I'd come back to tell you how it went..... it was awesome!! My son was pretty impressed with the campsite I had chosen without ever seeing it before. Upon checking in at the ranger station, both rangers commented about the site I picked saying "thats one of the best ones"....but heck! It is THE best one out of all tent sites in my opinion. You know how everyone enjoys their privacy and seclusion when camping blah bla bla? Well.....there was no campsite to the right of us (like they never made one for camping at all) and the site on the left was a good distance away.

Contrary to what people have been posting on here about Lodgepole being crowded in the summer... yes its true but the problem lies at those sites that are all bunched up together down the hill. Keep driving on the upward loop and they begin to spread out.

Now the ultimate kicker of our site...... the RIVER!! was right there! Ours had to be the only tent site that had the closest access to this secluded little sandy area for fishing or wading. Literally from our picnic table it was about 8 or 9 steps before you hit water. In early July, the sound of the water was very moderate and it made the site a lot colder after dark so beware, we were freezing! Thank Goddess for tent heaters heheh.

Lastly, bears have been sighted roaming around and it is a high priority for the rangers to tell everyone about the consequences of feeding them. I have included a pic of a bear box so you can see its size and an idea of what can fit into it.

Oh btw thats the other thing I wanted to share. IF ANYONE is visiting Lodgpole there is a 3 mile trail called Tokopah Falls that is only accessible thru the campground and I'm so glad we did it because it was beautiful and well worth it.... that is where we saw our wild bear on the trail next to us, foraging.

Enjoy your parks!
Jay

  • Liked — River just steps away...
  • Disliked — loud River noise while sleeping
  • Tips/Secrets — The campsite number is!............. #101
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

We stayed at the Lodgepole Campground on September 30, 2006. For car camping, this is a very good campground. We booked our tent site online through the National Park Service, which is highly reconmended, as Lodgepole is the only campground in the park that takes reservations during the off season. You will find that after summer, many of the Sequoia/Kings Canyon campgrounds close for the season and the ones that don't are on a first come basis. Also, the online reservation system through the National Park Service seemed to indicate that there were plenty of sites, however, when we got there Lodgepole was full. Although it was full campground it was very quiet. They do a good job of spacing out the sites, so you are not right on top of one another, plus the sound of the river muffles some noise as well.

Finally, a little warning. There are NO showers at the Lodgepole Campground. There are showers at the Lodgepole Market and Visitor Center, however, they were only open from 9:00am to 5:30pm. Not good if you want to hike all day and then take a hot shower.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2005

Lodgepole is a great camping experience. There is something to do for eveyone of all ages. Plenty of nearby trails for those of you who would like to hike amongst the giants of Sequoia.
If fishing is your cup of tea. Twin lakes is spectacular if you don't mind a bit of a hike, or you can fish the river that flows through the campground.
If you are traveling with little ones plenty of activities during the day and evenings. The Rangers do a great job of educating visitors with interesting information concerning the history of the park and it's wildlife.
The facilities are kept very clean and there is a general store in the campground in case you run low on any supplies.
Overall Lodgepole is a fun place for a family to enjoy the great outdoors.

P.S Be sure to follow campground rules concerning bears. They do come through the campground, and we saw first hand what a bear can do to a van because a camper forgot to throw away his empty soda can. Otherwise it is a great experince to view wildlife up and close.

Stayed July 2002
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodgepole Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgepole Campground

Address: One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodgepole Campground has 214 sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lodgepole Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Lodgepole Campground Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodgepole Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.