We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tent camping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodgepole Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgepole Campground
Save Saved
You added Lodgepole Campground to your Saves list
One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great tent camping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Awesome spot along the river four nights!! The rushing water sound drowned out all other noises like vehicles and neighbors. Bathrooms and showers were a little dirty and smelly but not much different than other campgrounds I've stayed at. Much better than Stony Creek Campground where we spent one night.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    28
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Arrived at the Sequoia National Park main entrance and saw the sign that said Lodgepole Campground "Full". Oh no we thought, that is where we wanted to stay. I said lets drive by and check if they are really full? Upon arrival at the Lodgepole Campground entrance the friendly Ranger at the window said yes, we do have open tent sites. Needless to say we were overjoyed. I had last stayed here over 30 years ago as a 10 y/o boy on a family trip. Its a long drive to get to Lodgepole, but well worth it once you arrive. We ended up with site #74. It was right next to the bridge and the river which provides the nice relaxing sound of flowing water. We set up our tent, got all of our food in the bear locker and got all set up. There is a well equipped market and modest eatery with ready made sandwiches and pizza and such at the entrance to the campground as well as a visitor center which has showers for $. There are good clean bathrooms with flushing toilets as well as places to clean dishes and such. There are two shuttle stops and the shuttles get you to most of the major sites. The shuttles/buses run pretty frequently so you don't have to wait long for the next one. We traveled with our 4 y/o Son and he had a blast on his first camping trip. The park rangers drive around checking on things, like making sure bear lockers are closed. You do feel safe while there and that is important when you are there with your family. The trail to Tokopah Falls starts at Lodgepole and its a great start to your hiking adventures at Sequoia National Park. There are over 200 spaces at Lodgepole and you are pretty close to the campsites around you, but its a great chance to meet people from literally all over the world. If you can, make a reservation if you want to stay here, or take a chance like we did and just drive there and see what you can get. Its a great place to be at one of the most beautiful places on earth.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect from the campground closest to the main amenities in the middle of the park, but Lodgepole was excellent. First, it is right by the pay showers and the market and cafe. Second, it is very centrally located, important because we started the next day with Crystal Cave and finished in Kings Canyon (by the way, the Big Stump trail is well worth driving up to Kings Canton for, and the cave in Sequoia is very well preserved and definitely worth the ticket cost and the long side drive then steep hike from the parking lot). Those are the reasons we choose to stay at Lodgepole our second night instead of remaining at Potwisha, which was a less scenic campground but convenient to the 198 entrance for a late arrival. Lodgepole will be our go to for our next visit. Our tent site was right by the river, making it beautiful and cool. Some of the sites seemed close together, but we only had a site on one side of us and felt we had plenty of privacy. The ranger was very helpful and friendly in explaining to us how to pick and pay for a walk-up site. I'm not sure how it usually is, but we were able to get a great site for one night without a reservation on the first weekend in June. I'd recommend making a reservation to be safe though. Lodgepole is worth the forethought for convenience and scenery.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zofingen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Quite a drive through the park before you get there, but its worth it. The places are large enough and clean. restrooms are in short reach, showers are located in the center. Trails start right of the campground and the shuttle stops here to take you everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Family trip. We had never been to Sequoia national park. We heard that lodgepole campgrounds was the best campground. They were right! We loved it! We went this memorial weekend. This was a last minute trip. All reserved sites had been taken. We were lucky that they have about 80 sites that are first come first serve. When we arrive Thursday night they only had 15sites left. Happy campers. Most sites have plenty of space between each other. We had sites 88 & 90; they weren't huge but worked for us (5adults 2kids). Both sites are on top of a hill with 2 parking slots below. Campgrounds are centrally located to most attractions. They even have a shuttle that will take you to the main locations.
Visitors center was nice (not huge but worth stopping by. The Rangers and other staff were helpful. My boys were given Jr. ranger packets to fill out. They completed the packets and received a jr ranger badge. They were very excited about that accomplishment. If you want to do the cave tour this is where you can get info and tickets. The market had almost everything you need. A bit pricey but that is to be expected. Behind the market there are showers and a laundry mat.
We left on Sunday because it started to get very busy. On our way out my son counted 144 cars waiting to get into the main entrance. We definitely will be back but not on a long weekend.
Loved this place!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

My parents brought my sister and I here back in the 1960's to camp for two weeks almost every year. We camped in the now closed paradise,sunset rock,and ferndale campgounds.My favorite was paradise.My wife and I are in our 60's now and love camping in lodgepole with our boys and grand kids.We camp almost every year here and see bears,dear,and a couple of years ago saw a pine martin. Not to forget the blue jays,squirrels robins and almost forgot to mention the cubs,fawns, and the river that runs through it,BEAUTIFUL PLACE TO FAMILY CAMP !
We hike every day on lots of trails while we are here and that is why we see deer and bears a lot ! WE LOVE IT HERE !

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My son and I stayed at Lodgepole for a couple of nights in Sept this year. The campsite was fine, with decent toilets, nearby watertaps and fire pits for each site. Our site had reasonable space for our 2 tents and wasn't hemmed in by other sites unlike some campsites in France where they try and cram in as many tents as possible. All in all a pleasant stay and it proved a good base for exploring the park

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodgepole Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgepole Campground

Address: One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodgepole Campground has 214 sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lodgepole Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Lodgepole Campground Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodgepole Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.