We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome tent sites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodgepole Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgepole Campground
One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Woodstock, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome tent sites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect from the campground closest to the main amenities in the middle of the park, but Lodgepole was excellent. First, it is right by the pay showers and the market and cafe. Second, it is very centrally located, important because we started the next day with Crystal Cave and finished in Kings Canyon (by the way, the Big Stump trail is well worth driving up to Kings Canton for, and the cave in Sequoia is very well preserved and definitely worth the ticket cost and the long side drive then steep hike from the parking lot). Those are the reasons we choose to stay at Lodgepole our second night instead of remaining at Potwisha, which was a less scenic campground but convenient to the 198 entrance for a late arrival. Lodgepole will be our go to for our next visit. Our tent site was right by the river, making it beautiful and cool. Some of the sites seemed close together, but we only had a site on one side of us and felt we had plenty of privacy. The ranger was very helpful and friendly in explaining to us how to pick and pay for a walk-up site. I'm not sure how it usually is, but we were able to get a great site for one night without a reservation on the first weekend in June. I'd recommend making a reservation to be safe though. Lodgepole is worth the forethought for convenience and scenery.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Zofingen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Quite a drive through the park before you get there, but its worth it. The places are large enough and clean. restrooms are in short reach, showers are located in the center. Trails start right of the campground and the shuttle stops here to take you everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Family trip. We had never been to Sequoia national park. We heard that lodgepole campgrounds was the best campground. They were right! We loved it! We went this memorial weekend. This was a last minute trip. All reserved sites had been taken. We were lucky that they have about 80 sites that are first come first serve. When we arrive Thursday night they only had 15sites left. Happy campers. Most sites have plenty of space between each other. We had sites 88 & 90; they weren't huge but worked for us (5adults 2kids). Both sites are on top of a hill with 2 parking slots below. Campgrounds are centrally located to most attractions. They even have a shuttle that will take you to the main locations.
Visitors center was nice (not huge but worth stopping by. The Rangers and other staff were helpful. My boys were given Jr. ranger packets to fill out. They completed the packets and received a jr ranger badge. They were very excited about that accomplishment. If you want to do the cave tour this is where you can get info and tickets. The market had almost everything you need. A bit pricey but that is to be expected. Behind the market there are showers and a laundry mat.
We left on Sunday because it started to get very busy. On our way out my son counted 144 cars waiting to get into the main entrance. We definitely will be back but not on a long weekend.
Loved this place!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

My parents brought my sister and I here back in the 1960's to camp for two weeks almost every year. We camped in the now closed paradise,sunset rock,and ferndale campgounds.My favorite was paradise.My wife and I are in our 60's now and love camping in lodgepole with our boys and grand kids.We camp almost every year here and see bears,dear,and a couple of years ago saw a pine martin. Not to forget the blue jays,squirrels robins and almost forgot to mention the cubs,fawns, and the river that runs through it,BEAUTIFUL PLACE TO FAMILY CAMP !
We hike every day on lots of trails while we are here and that is why we see deer and bears a lot ! WE LOVE IT HERE !

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My son and I stayed at Lodgepole for a couple of nights in Sept this year. The campsite was fine, with decent toilets, nearby watertaps and fire pits for each site. Our site had reasonable space for our 2 tents and wasn't hemmed in by other sites unlike some campsites in France where they try and cram in as many tents as possible. All in all a pleasant stay and it proved a good base for exploring the park

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a camp site near the river so we were quite private. The sites near the river are better if you are travelling as a couple and are in an rv. Saw a deer come right up to the camp site which was an added bonus. Very friendly staff and the use of a shuttle to the sequoia trees is very convenient.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple try to get a camp site near the river as these sites are more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at campsite 199, it was a good campsite as here were no people behind us, just rocks. We say some other campsites that looked even more secluded and beside the river. I think they were sites 132 or 134. I would stay there next time. More private, lots of trees and right beside the river. The entrance to tokopah falls trail is right beside the bridge and I highly recommend doing that hike! We went early in the morning (around 7am and saw bears and deer everywhere!)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodgepole Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgepole Campground

Address: One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodgepole Campground has 214 sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lodgepole Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Lodgepole Campground Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodgepole Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lodgepole Campground to your Saves list