We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAVORITE FAMILY CAMPGROUND” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodgepole Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgepole Campground
Save
You added Lodgepole Campground to your Saves list
One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Perris
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“FAVORITE FAMILY CAMPGROUND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

My parents brought my sister and I here back in the 1960's to camp for two weeks almost every year. We camped in the now closed paradise,sunset rock,and ferndale campgounds.My favorite was paradise.My wife and I are in our 60's now and love camping in lodgepole with our boys and grand kids.We camp almost every year here and see bears,dear,and a couple of years ago saw a pine martin. Not to forget the blue jays,squirrels robins and almost forgot to mention the cubs,fawns, and the river that runs through it,BEAUTIFUL PLACE TO FAMILY CAMP !
We hike every day on lots of trails while we are here and that is why we see deer and bears a lot ! WE LOVE IT HERE !

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    30
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My son and I stayed at Lodgepole for a couple of nights in Sept this year. The campsite was fine, with decent toilets, nearby watertaps and fire pits for each site. Our site had reasonable space for our 2 tents and wasn't hemmed in by other sites unlike some campsites in France where they try and cram in as many tents as possible. All in all a pleasant stay and it proved a good base for exploring the park

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a camp site near the river so we were quite private. The sites near the river are better if you are travelling as a couple and are in an rv. Saw a deer come right up to the camp site which was an added bonus. Very friendly staff and the use of a shuttle to the sequoia trees is very convenient.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple try to get a camp site near the river as these sites are more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at campsite 199, it was a good campsite as here were no people behind us, just rocks. We say some other campsites that looked even more secluded and beside the river. I think they were sites 132 or 134. I would stay there next time. More private, lots of trees and right beside the river. The entrance to tokopah falls trail is right beside the bridge and I highly recommend doing that hike! We went early in the morning (around 7am and saw bears and deer everywhere!)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had sites 130-141 because our group was so large. We booked on the first day we could, right at 8 am to get these sites. They are gorgeous, right on the creek/river, which is currently dry, but the watering home is walking distance and provided so much entertainment for all the kids in our group ages 3-15. We saw deer and blue jays and more. Very beautiful and clean with pay showers a like away. Literally no bugs and cool breezes and shade at all times! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

No doubt, Lodgepole campground is by far the better campground for families, with great facilities, convenience and amenities. It's just like at home except that you are camping in the higher altitude forest which is cooler and has tall trees and river. Try to set camp away from the camp sites that are grouped together if you have a choice, e.g. sites 129 - 142. These sites are so close together that you can hear breathing from your neighbors. We camped near there for two nights (in early August) but for me I couldn't get to sleep till after 1 AM because there were at least 4-5 families that camped together with kids running around, music blasting, and the jovial laughing, singing and talking till 1. Don't think rangers care much about enforcing quiet time. But, what the hack, still enjoyed the park tremendously.

Room Tip: Make reservation at Recreation.gov 6 months before summer to select the best camping sites.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have been to Lodgpole several times in the past and went again during the last week of August 2013. Obviously, traveling there late in the season, coupled with a lighter than normal snowfall, assured us that the Tokopow (sp) Falls would be down to a trickle, which they were.
Due to the presence of bear lockers for the past few years, it seems as though the black bears have moved elsewhere to seek food, as we neither saw nor heard of any bear activity within the campground. I do have one complaint. In the campsites restroom where we stayed (Site # 187) there was very little space for one to stand and brush their teeth. Most went outside to brush. Also,there was only one sink. Also, there was no shelf to place a shaving kit which, not that I wanted to shave, but I needed space to place my tooth paste, meds, etc. Most other campsites have a small shelf to place these items. At the least, I would recommend a small shelf on the wall adjacent to the sink. The food was plentiful in the store and had just about anything one would need for a pleasant trip. The staff were friendly. The Rangers were visible every day and night which provided a sense of security for my wife. Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodgepole Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgepole Campground

Address: One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodgepole Campground has 214 sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lodgepole Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Lodgepole Campground Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodgepole Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.