We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodgepole Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgepole Campground
Save
You added Lodgepole Campground to your Saves list
One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Keswick, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at campsite 199, it was a good campsite as here were no people behind us, just rocks. We say some other campsites that looked even more secluded and beside the river. I think they were sites 132 or 134. I would stay there next time. More private, lots of trees and right beside the river. The entrance to tokopah falls trail is right beside the bridge and I highly recommend doing that hike! We went early in the morning (around 7am and saw bears and deer everywhere!)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    30
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had sites 130-141 because our group was so large. We booked on the first day we could, right at 8 am to get these sites. They are gorgeous, right on the creek/river, which is currently dry, but the watering home is walking distance and provided so much entertainment for all the kids in our group ages 3-15. We saw deer and blue jays and more. Very beautiful and clean with pay showers a like away. Literally no bugs and cool breezes and shade at all times! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

No doubt, Lodgepole campground is by far the better campground for families, with great facilities, convenience and amenities. It's just like at home except that you are camping in the higher altitude forest which is cooler and has tall trees and river. Try to set camp away from the camp sites that are grouped together if you have a choice, e.g. sites 129 - 142. These sites are so close together that you can hear breathing from your neighbors. We camped near there for two nights (in early August) but for me I couldn't get to sleep till after 1 AM because there were at least 4-5 families that camped together with kids running around, music blasting, and the jovial laughing, singing and talking till 1. Don't think rangers care much about enforcing quiet time. But, what the hack, still enjoyed the park tremendously.

Room Tip: Make reservation at Recreation.gov 6 months before summer to select the best camping sites.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have been to Lodgpole several times in the past and went again during the last week of August 2013. Obviously, traveling there late in the season, coupled with a lighter than normal snowfall, assured us that the Tokopow (sp) Falls would be down to a trickle, which they were.
Due to the presence of bear lockers for the past few years, it seems as though the black bears have moved elsewhere to seek food, as we neither saw nor heard of any bear activity within the campground. I do have one complaint. In the campsites restroom where we stayed (Site # 187) there was very little space for one to stand and brush their teeth. Most went outside to brush. Also,there was only one sink. Also, there was no shelf to place a shaving kit which, not that I wanted to shave, but I needed space to place my tooth paste, meds, etc. Most other campsites have a small shelf to place these items. At the least, I would recommend a small shelf on the wall adjacent to the sink. The food was plentiful in the store and had just about anything one would need for a pleasant trip. The staff were friendly. The Rangers were visible every day and night which provided a sense of security for my wife. Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Lodgepole for two days and tent camped. Running water, toilets and sinks are very accessible in the park. Campsites are fairly close together but sites towards the back of the campground have a bit more privacy. All sites have bear bins and these are essential as we saw one bear at the adjacent site while we were there. You can actually hike right from the campground to the Giant Sequoia area via the Lodgepole to Sherman trail and connecting trails... and then the awesome part is that you can take a free shuttle back to the campground if you're pooped out from exploring. There's another great trail right from the campground along the creek bed that heads up to a huge granite amphitheater with beautiful scenery. I'd definitely stay here if I come back to the park.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We just finished staying at this campground last week. Great location for everything we wanted to do. Clean facility. Our only complaint was with the actual campsite design. Site 144 is nice, great view, close to the river. However, site 143 fire ring is literally 2 feet from the tent pad of 144!!!! So unless you rent both sites, I don't recommend 144. We stayed 5 nights. 2 of our 3 different neighbors during our stay WERE respectful. However, it was still unnerving Laying down in the tent and hearing the fire cracking next to your head!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This campground is really cool. We stayed in spaces 46 and 47 with friends. Each morning deer came through the campground. Our campsites were right on the stream. It wasn't flowing strongly because of the dry season but it had several spots where the water pooled up into nice swimming pools. Most of the Sequoia highlights are very close to this campground including the Giant Forest trail, Morro Rock, and Crystal Cave. A great hike starting right in the campground is called Tokapah Falls. Their is a store that has everything right outside the campground with really good public showers if you are tent camping. We will definitely be back to this campground.

Room Tip: Some of the RV sites do not allow generators and there are no hook ups. If you want to run a generat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodgepole Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgepole Campground

Address: One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodgepole Campground has 214 sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lodgepole Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Lodgepole Campground Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodgepole Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.