We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful camping location in heart of Sequoia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodgepole Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgepole Campground
Save
You added Lodgepole Campground to your Saves list
One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful camping location in heart of Sequoia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Lodgepole for two days and tent camped. Running water, toilets and sinks are very accessible in the park. Campsites are fairly close together but sites towards the back of the campground have a bit more privacy. All sites have bear bins and these are essential as we saw one bear at the adjacent site while we were there. You can actually hike right from the campground to the Giant Sequoia area via the Lodgepole to Sherman trail and connecting trails... and then the awesome part is that you can take a free shuttle back to the campground if you're pooped out from exploring. There's another great trail right from the campground along the creek bed that heads up to a huge granite amphitheater with beautiful scenery. I'd definitely stay here if I come back to the park.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    30
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We just finished staying at this campground last week. Great location for everything we wanted to do. Clean facility. Our only complaint was with the actual campsite design. Site 144 is nice, great view, close to the river. However, site 143 fire ring is literally 2 feet from the tent pad of 144!!!! So unless you rent both sites, I don't recommend 144. We stayed 5 nights. 2 of our 3 different neighbors during our stay WERE respectful. However, it was still unnerving Laying down in the tent and hearing the fire cracking next to your head!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This campground is really cool. We stayed in spaces 46 and 47 with friends. Each morning deer came through the campground. Our campsites were right on the stream. It wasn't flowing strongly because of the dry season but it had several spots where the water pooled up into nice swimming pools. Most of the Sequoia highlights are very close to this campground including the Giant Forest trail, Morro Rock, and Crystal Cave. A great hike starting right in the campground is called Tokapah Falls. Their is a store that has everything right outside the campground with really good public showers if you are tent camping. We will definitely be back to this campground.

Room Tip: Some of the RV sites do not allow generators and there are no hook ups. If you want to run a generat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This campsite has very limited facilities for RV's. At $20 per night, it's expensive. If you're expecting hookups or wifi - forget it! Also we went looking for rv toilet chemicals in the camp shop - there were none and no one knew what we were looking for! However, the venue is right in the centre for the Sequoia's attractions like Crescent Meadow and Moro Rock. If you want Internet - there's free wifi at Wuksachi Lodge and a good meal too. Take the free shuttle bus from Lodgepole and try the Sherman beer, salmon burger with sweet potato fries and honey and lavender ice cream for desert!

Room Tip: We had an rv so not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Aneles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is the perfect "tweener" (not the age) camping experience! If you do not want to get dirty, see a bug or sleep in a tent-STAY AWAY! On the "flip" side, if having clean nearby restrooms and a comfortable general store with all the amenities is not really "camping"-STAY AWAY! For the middle audience, this is PERFECTION! We have been coming every year for 28 years with and without kids-great views, wonderful smells, local swimming holes, great food, sleeping to the soothing river flow! The daytime weather is a nearly perfect 73-77% (but be prepared for nights of 40-50 degrees). The Sequoia/Lodgepole trees, granite laced mountains and Kaweah River (though low this year) are wonders of nature. The hiking trail to Topokah Falls is a delightful and easy 3.4 miles "round-trip" trek from the campground. The nearby Lakes trails are moderate but "breathtaking"-3 pristine lake masterpieces (Heather, Emerald and Pear) on a 6.2 mile trip-take a lunch and spend the day. Also, there is Crystal Cave, Moro Rock, General Sherman Tree (largest in the world), and if you are lucky-BEARS! The only thing missing are the hideous Yosemite crowds and car exhaust! A continual GEM of a camping experience!

Room Tip: For next year reserve ahead of time right on the Kaweah River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This campground has it all. It's near ranger-led programs, the shuttle, the Tokopah Falls trail, has creek access to many of the campsites. Plus, you can make reservations in advance. Since it was at high elevation, during this summer's drought we were still able to have a campfire. We enjoyed staying here and plan to come back soon! For $10, you couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Pick a campsite near the creek. There are plenty that are close-just look at a map. We were in cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This place is 21 miles into the national park on a very windy road so not for the faint hearted to get to after dark which is what we ended up doing. But when we did wake up in the morning the sight was amazing, the trees surrounded the tents and the rivers could be heard. The bear boxes are great and the local grocery store and information centre are very friendly and well equipped. It says you can't get any gas in the park so be prepared but when you pass from the Park to the Forest there is a small place on the main highway where you can get some.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodgepole Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgepole Campground

Address: One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodgepole Campground has 214 sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lodgepole Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Lodgepole Campground Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodgepole Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.