We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my Favorites! Camp Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodgepole Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgepole Campground
Save
You added Lodgepole Campground to your Saves list
One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“One of my Favorites! Camp Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have camped many, many places in my lifetime and this is one of my top three so far! My friend and I drove from the central coast of cali to Lodge Pole in one day and we only stayed here for one night. (The next day we started off on a backpacking trip.) But the time spent at Lodge Pole was so enjoyable that my friend brought her family and friends back to stay again!
The camp sites are not boxed up like a checkerboard but rather they are nestled in their own secluded spots. All sites have bear lockers and are highly enforced because we did see a bear the morning we woke up. There is a visitors center right outside the campgrounds and the hosts are well informed. The restrooms and facilities for the center have running water and flushing toilets, no porta-potties. Sleeping there was great (really depends on your sleeping equipment) but all major rowdy camp neighbors were asked to keep it down by the camp host at about 10pm. :)
The general vibe and terrain is by far amazing! I highly recommend this campsite to many if you are looking for a convenient but still outdoorsy experience. Oh, and you cannot beat the prices. However make sure to enter the park on a full tank of gas. We entered the park from the West (driving through Fresno) and filled up in Fresno so as to avoid the more expensive gas stops right before you enter the park. The winding road to Lodge Pole is a long one so please fill up. There are gas stations in the park, I believe, but it's overpriced due to location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    30
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We booked our spot two months in advance. Spaces were limited to six spots. We checked out cmpsitephotos.com because we had never been there and really wanted to have an idea of what we were in for. Originally we were stuck with a spot near the front entrance with no shade or privacy but we wanted to see Sequoia so bad we took what we could get. Then after checking back I saw #124 had opened up so I immediately called & made the switch. Soooo glad I did. This spot was right near the waterfall in the very back of the park. Full shade! We never ran out of things to do or see. Fortunately we didn't have any bears visit but we did wake up to a beautiful buck on our last morning just feet away from our tent. I would recommend this place to anyone. I plan on returning every year from here on out.
The only negative thing for us was a group of four families with eight toddlers had booked right next to us so it got a bit loud but hey...camping is for everyone young & old. It was just a bit too loud for my taste. All in all it was still an awesome stay and we'll worth the 5 hr trip

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a great time camping at Lodgepole. The campsites are in great condition. Some are waterfront (river). We had site 105 and we were walking distance from some trails. Even reindeers came to visit. The only cons I found was the showers and the restrooms. Showers are far away, in the Market center, next to the Visitor Center. There are restrooms, but with no electricity. Reservations can be made in advance, we didn't think it was going to be necessary but made reservations anyway and I'm so glad we did because by the time we arrived they were full. This campsite has an excellent location, that's why is so popular. Closed to the General Sherman and other great sightings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went for our 22nd anniversary for 5 nights after Labor day. We picked site 202 since we have a trailer and it was great. We have a small 15ft vintage trailer so it fit but not for bigger trailers. The site backs up to the mountain so was beautiful. Showers are $3 for 10 minutes, store is good for supplies. Lots to explore, lots of wildlife.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Beautiful camp site!

We stayed for 3 nights in a 32ft RV. Surrounded by beautiful trees & mountains at an elevation of 6,800ft. You can take a few different hikes directly from the campsite & on our first one we saw 3 bears which was a wonderful sight. Chipmonks everywhere & deer wandering in & out of camp too. The waterfalls were not at their best as it was August & there had been a heatwave too, but still fantastic to look at.

Use the free shuttle buses that come into camp to get you around to the many local attractions. General Sherman tree & the Giant Forest are a must, as well as Morro Rock which is worth the climb. Take the short hike back from Morro Rock to the museum where you can see & touch many of the giant redwoods as you walk. We were luck to see another bear here too. As long as you make noise ie. talk as you walk, you will have no problems with the bears.

Toilets are clean & ok in the campsite & the showers are in the main visitor centre along side the laundry, shop & cafe selling hot & cold drink/food. The shop is well stocked & quite well priced considering where it is.

The creek running through the camp was wonderful to cool off in on a hot day & added to the peace & tranquility this site gave us. Use the bear boxes for all food & smellies but if you are in an RV you don't have to. You are able to leave it all in the RV as long as you draw the curtains.

The roads in Sequoia are ok for RV's, just take your time.

A beautifull location & one where I would return to again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were fortunate to have chosen a great site which afforded a high degree of privacy for where we were at. First of all this is a massive and very busy campground so do not expect solitude or a wilderness experience. There are people everywhere. But they are people having a great time and that is part of the park experience. If you do not like a crowd then strap on a back pack. Our site was great (we actually had two) with a well developed tent pad. Pay close attention to the pad size as there will not be any other flat ground at most sites. We got real lucky and found flat spaces up the hill a bit and actually used the tent pad as our eating area which opened up the campfire space. Most sites will also only have parking for one vehicle. Do not trust the reservation site map. Get the map from the park service in choosing your site lest you find yourself right on top of your neighbors.

The campground as whole is magnificent though with the Marble Fork of the Kaweah River running right through. Even with the low water this year there were plenty of swimming holes and the fishing was excellent. It is the best location in the park as you are close to all the major groves, the one store, and eating locations. We will return. Only complaint is the bathrooms and showers need better upkeep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights at Sequoia on a US Road Trip in a rented RV. Booked well in advance online from the UK. Be aware that booking opens at set times a few months in advance. I would recommend being online at the right time to book for the summer months. The campground is fantastic located in the forest, close to the river and is served by a good supermarket, showers and free shuttle bus service to the popular parts of the National Park. Sitting under the stars around the camp fire with a nice steak from the BBQ and a glass of red wine is a memory I will always treasure.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodgepole Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgepole Campground

Address: One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodgepole Campground has 214 sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lodgepole Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Lodgepole Campground Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodgepole Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.