We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Campground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodgepole Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgepole Campground
Save
You added Lodgepole Campground to your Saves list
One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a great time camping at Lodgepole. The campsites are in great condition. Some are waterfront (river). We had site 105 and we were walking distance from some trails. Even reindeers came to visit. The only cons I found was the showers and the restrooms. Showers are far away, in the Market center, next to the Visitor Center. There are restrooms, but with no electricity. Reservations can be made in advance, we didn't think it was going to be necessary but made reservations anyway and I'm so glad we did because by the time we arrived they were full. This campsite has an excellent location, that's why is so popular. Closed to the General Sherman and other great sightings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    30
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went for our 22nd anniversary for 5 nights after Labor day. We picked site 202 since we have a trailer and it was great. We have a small 15ft vintage trailer so it fit but not for bigger trailers. The site backs up to the mountain so was beautiful. Showers are $3 for 10 minutes, store is good for supplies. Lots to explore, lots of wildlife.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Beautiful camp site!

We stayed for 3 nights in a 32ft RV. Surrounded by beautiful trees & mountains at an elevation of 6,800ft. You can take a few different hikes directly from the campsite & on our first one we saw 3 bears which was a wonderful sight. Chipmonks everywhere & deer wandering in & out of camp too. The waterfalls were not at their best as it was August & there had been a heatwave too, but still fantastic to look at.

Use the free shuttle buses that come into camp to get you around to the many local attractions. General Sherman tree & the Giant Forest are a must, as well as Morro Rock which is worth the climb. Take the short hike back from Morro Rock to the museum where you can see & touch many of the giant redwoods as you walk. We were luck to see another bear here too. As long as you make noise ie. talk as you walk, you will have no problems with the bears.

Toilets are clean & ok in the campsite & the showers are in the main visitor centre along side the laundry, shop & cafe selling hot & cold drink/food. The shop is well stocked & quite well priced considering where it is.

The creek running through the camp was wonderful to cool off in on a hot day & added to the peace & tranquility this site gave us. Use the bear boxes for all food & smellies but if you are in an RV you don't have to. You are able to leave it all in the RV as long as you draw the curtains.

The roads in Sequoia are ok for RV's, just take your time.

A beautifull location & one where I would return to again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were fortunate to have chosen a great site which afforded a high degree of privacy for where we were at. First of all this is a massive and very busy campground so do not expect solitude or a wilderness experience. There are people everywhere. But they are people having a great time and that is part of the park experience. If you do not like a crowd then strap on a back pack. Our site was great (we actually had two) with a well developed tent pad. Pay close attention to the pad size as there will not be any other flat ground at most sites. We got real lucky and found flat spaces up the hill a bit and actually used the tent pad as our eating area which opened up the campfire space. Most sites will also only have parking for one vehicle. Do not trust the reservation site map. Get the map from the park service in choosing your site lest you find yourself right on top of your neighbors.

The campground as whole is magnificent though with the Marble Fork of the Kaweah River running right through. Even with the low water this year there were plenty of swimming holes and the fishing was excellent. It is the best location in the park as you are close to all the major groves, the one store, and eating locations. We will return. Only complaint is the bathrooms and showers need better upkeep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights at Sequoia on a US Road Trip in a rented RV. Booked well in advance online from the UK. Be aware that booking opens at set times a few months in advance. I would recommend being online at the right time to book for the summer months. The campground is fantastic located in the forest, close to the river and is served by a good supermarket, showers and free shuttle bus service to the popular parts of the National Park. Sitting under the stars around the camp fire with a nice steak from the BBQ and a glass of red wine is a memory I will always treasure.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Ok traveling with no reservation in August in the Sequoia National Park it's probably not the best idea ever...but my boyfriend and I decided to change our summer plan such last minute that we thought: "we have a tend, we have a car, we will find a spot". In theory this is what camping should be, in the reality not so true. We entered the park on a light shower day that happen to be a Saturday and the main billboard told us all the campsite near by were full. The two available were 41 miles in. Not a great news. We drove with the hope to find a spot anyway and guess??? We entered the Lodgepole campground even if the sign was full. We asked and there was a spot available just for the night. We took it. It ended up to be a very nice one. We heard the creek running under us. We stayed just for a day but enough time to appreciate the trails, the woods (which is also collectible for camp fire), the shower - 3 dollar for a hot shower - the washer (1.25 for a small load) and the market near by.
It's definately a big campsite and it was packed but we had a blast. If you are planning to go make a reservation and check it out:)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Based on reviews we chose lodgepole as our end of Summer trip. Coming from SF it is a long 4-5 hour drive. We arrived late in the evening but found our site very easily- sites are clearly marked. In the morning we were rewarded by a beautiful wooded view and the sound of the creek (marble fork of kaweah river).

We stayed in sites 107 and 106. They are located on a hill across from the creek and are quite secluded.

The creek is great for cooling off and exploring by kids.

While there are over 200 campsites at lodgepole most of the campsites are on top of each other!(very disappointing). Be very careful of your site selection: otherwise your 5 hour drive may be to a crowded tailgate party.

The best sites are the ones that are fairly private/secluded where you won't see, hear, or smell your neighbors.
102, 104, 105, 106, 107, 108, 109, 144, 143

There are also some private ones right near the water: 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101

I think the best site is 101- private, near the water and a beautiful sunset.

The other sites located in clusters around a circular road are like communal camping- not worth it. (actually the ones located on the outer edge may be okay- but still way toooo many people, cars)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodgepole Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgepole Campground

Address: One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodgepole Campground has 214 sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lodgepole Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Lodgepole Campground Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodgepole Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.