We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful campground with all the amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodgepole Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lodgepole Campground
Save
You added Lodgepole Campground to your Saves list
One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful campground with all the amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I plus 4 friends stayed here for the weekend at site #102 and were very pleased with the location. We only had one neighbor and since our campsite sat lower than theirs, it felt like we had complete privacy. The river was across the road from us and, while some may prefer a site next to the water, we liked that we could see the river from our site without the louder sound of water rushing by. The bathrooms were also very close (without being TOO close) and parking was a short walk away. The tent pad fit one 6 person tent and the ground outside of the tent pad was flat enough to fit another 4 person tent. I'm not sure what the policy is on having tents outside of the designated tent pad, but a ranger came by to remind us to check-in and didn't say anything about the extra tent. The picnic bench, bear box, and fire pit are standard with each site. We also bought charcoal from the campground market (very convenient!) and after a long day of hiking to Pear Lake were happy to make use of the public showers (10 min for $3). There is also safe drinking water available within the campground, so we were able to refill the jugs we brought from home. A plus for any animal-lover is there is a lot of wildlife within the campground. We saw a mother bear with 2 cubs and my husband saw a couple of fawns. Apparently bears are very active here so we were very cautious with our food and toiletries. Anything scented was kept in the bear box.

We will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Book months in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    30
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
OC, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This campground is in a great location and has most of what you need for beginning campers. It's close to the Giant Forest (where you can find the General Sherman tree) and the Crystal Cave. They also have a marketplace on site in case you forget anything and large bear boxes. It's also home to a very nice and easy trail (Tokopah Falls) for families with little ones. Unfortunately, we didn't make it to the very end because a Momma bear and her little cubs stopped us short by deciding to take a trip along the trail too. There is so much beauty to take in nearby. A fork of the Kaweah river flows right through the campground. So you’ll hear the nice rush of the river. Keep in mind, there are bears around. So you have to be very cautious of how you store your food or any other scented items. They are very serious about this. You’ll have to also be careful in how you wash your dishes and dispose of food.

The campground site itself was okay (we stayed at 204 but wish we could have had spot 100). There wasn't a lot of shade in our site but they have planted new trees for visitors in the future to enjoy. The sites in most of the loops are quite a tight fit. You're awfully close to your neighbors (which can be fun if you have nice ones but not so fun when they're not courteous). The fire pits are nice and offer enough space to cook a meal on the grill and to have a nice campfire for s'mores later on. The bathrooms were especially close. This campground had two stops for the park's shuttles. They offer campfire stories in the evening on Thurs-Saturday at the Lodgepole Amphitheater. These are really neat. They do have showers near the marketplace if you need them.

The big drawback right now is the construction going on near the south entrance. There is a section where this is only one lane. So they have to stop traffic in either direction during certain times of the day. So you may get stuck on the side of the road for some time. So plan ahead.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Very big and developed campground. Lots of water sources. Camp site we picked (#211) is nice, not too close to the woods and far away from the entrance. Highly recommended. Lots of people in the summer so have to book in early Spring.
Otherwise, an alternative will be book whatever available and move during the trip which our neighbor did. The site is a little bit small for a big tent but we had a small tent so it worked out fine. Some other sites are bigger.

Lots of trees and very cool during the day. No mosquito problem. Saw a deer walking around both days. Food had to be stored in the storage box (no bear seen but heard one guy saw a bear walking across the road).

At the visitor center, they have hot snack place, a deli and coin laundry and shower (long line after 5 so go there early, $3 for 10 mins, quarter machine outside so no need to bring that many quarters). The store has lots of stuff but very expensive.

Overall, a very pleasant stay, $20 a night, well worth and highly recommended. Bring enough jackets and blanket. Can get cold at night and early morning even in summer.

Room Tip: Book early (4+ months advance) if you are staying more than 1 night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were lucky to get space 88 on short notice. Really nice location. This one had more sun then most spots. Backed up against the mountain with lots of climbing rocks for the kids to explore. We had visitors every evening and morning. Deer, The river that separates the campground was really flowing this year. But we were still able to find nice spots along the banks to soak our feet. The village store was not to far away walking distance or you can take a short shuttle ride. It has all the conveniences you may need. Prices are high though. A bag of ice or a bundle of firewood going for $9.00. The showers were nice and hot, $3.00 for 10 minutes.
Lodgepole is centered quit nicely between all of the attractions. The big trees are only about 20 minutes down the road. The cave is about 30 minutes down the road offering a nice little hike to an amazing glimpse of the underworld and a short reprieve from the heat. Although it only topped out in the upper 70's in the day. If your still longing for adventure give the Moro Rock a try too. It has some pretty spectacular views.
If you have couple of days, Hume Lake is a nice place to spend the day. Excellent fishing, (they're biting on chartreuse garlic flavor power bait ) Also a nice beach for the kids to play in the water. If you don't mind spending a little more time on the road Kings Canyon is not to far either. It's about 15 to 20 degrees hotter down there.
The kids and I had a blast here. This was our second trip to this spot.
The only down falls on this particular trip was the road construction on highway 198 out of Visalia 45 minutes past the ranger check in. Be pre-pared to sit up to an hour. The road would be open at the top of the hour to up going traffic and then open at the bottom part of the hour for the down going traffic. AND the bathrooms on our loop was closed. Only port-a-potties available.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Sequoia is such a magical place. My family and I went there last year for our very first time and we instantly fell in LOVE! Such amazing scenery and a fabulous campground with great amenities. We stayed in spots #80 and #83 for three nights and they were perfect for us. Close to the river, shady and nice big tent pads. We reserved the same spots for the same weekend this year! We saw so much wild life during our stay. On the hike to Topeka Falls a bear ran across the trail about 300 ft in front of us! Then while visiting crescent meadow, we saw another young bear. Amazing! Deer and other small mammals abounded, as well. We loved touring the Crystal Caves and had fun hiking the trail to visit 'General Sherman." . This year we are excited to check out nearby Hume Lake and explore more of the trails in the area. A great experience all around!

Room Tip: Book early! Spots fill up six monthes in advance!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We go to the Sequoias every year for three years now, it is amazing! The best campground is lodgepole and everything there is above campground standards! The best area is the upper loop if you're in a tent, or near the water. You have to be very aware if bears though, just because you don't see them alot in the tent area doesn't mean they're not there! We see about ten every time we go! Just be aware! June or July are the warmest months!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

This is a good place to stay in Sequoia Ntl. Park, you can get to the campground by bus and it is beside all the services (showers, laundry, restaurant, grocery store and visitor center). We haven't seen any bear when we were there. The tent sites are not to near from the others, but some are very small, so you're obliged to put your tent beside the bear locker. I would try to stay there again if I was going back in this area of Sequoia Ntl. Park!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lodgepole Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodgepole Campground

Address: One-half mile east of Lodgepole Visitor Center, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodgepole Campground has 214 sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lodgepole Campground Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Lodgepole Campground Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodgepole Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.