We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant rustic cabin in wooded setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grant Grove Cabins
Save
You added Grant Grove Cabins to your Saves list
General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Long Valley, New Jersey
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Pleasant rustic cabin in wooded setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Grant Grove cabins are located in Kings Canyon at Grant Grove Village. We opted for Cabins with bathrooms. Bathroom cabins share one wall and are small but very comfortable. The front door leads to a small deck w 2 chairs/cabin. Our cabin had 2 full size beds and a small desk. The bathroom was of good size - had shower and bath tub as well as a nice size sink. The place ha good quality toiletries, clean bed sheets and towels . The cabins are part of a larger complex which includes a general store (it was closed) , a post office, a large gift shop, John Muir lodge, non-bath cabins, a restaurant and a newly renovated visitor's center. We had our breakfast and dinner at the restaurant and were happy with the foo quality and quantity. We had a coconut pie for desert which was one of the best I ever had. Breakfast had 2 options: continental or full. Free wifi is available at the registration office and restaurant area. The property is surrounded by several trees including several nice Ponderosa and sugar pines trees. The cabins are only 1 mile from General Grant Tree - claimed to be the second largest Sequoia in the world. Cabins are located by Highway 180 - very convenient to and from Sequoia Park and/or Fresno. We thought this was a convenient option for our family as we concluded our visit to the Sequoia/King Canyon parks.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
37
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A wonderful experience. The view is magnificent. The area is a great place to see. If you love nature this is a must see destination. The Sequoia national park is really worth the drive and as an added bonus your only a few hours from Yosemite national parks; but that is another review...

Room Tip: Cabins are by far the better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Great rustic option to stay at the forest. Good cabins and quite comfortable. Only issue is there is no light in the cabin I've stayed but I was aware of that. Also no bathroom wich I was also aware. Outside bathrooms were very clean and good shower as well.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

These historic cabins are beautifully appointed and have a rustic charm to them. The settings is between tall redwood trees. Most of the cabins share a wall and they come with private bathroom with a bathing tub, shower head, toilet seat and a single vanity with a mirror on top with storage. The bathroom has its own heater. The room is spacious and has plenty of windows to let natural light inside. There are 2 queen beds close the window and have to comment that these beds are very comfortable. There are table with lamp between the beds, another big table by the wall near the heater and one more piece of furniture near the window. The room comes with a big comfortable leather chair and has a closet. Also there is a big mirror on the wall in the room. The setting are very basic but that is the beauty of these cabins.

You will get your own deck space which is off course shared with the other cabin and has 2 chairs. Open the windows and you can smell the pines and fresh air. Trails are pretty much everywhere as the location is right in the middle of mother nature. Panoramic Viewpoint is very close and General Sherman tree is about 5mins away. Make sure that ya take the 1hour drive on Generals Hwy to check out the Giant Forest and other spots.

I recommend that travelers have flashlight on them as at night it is very dark. Keep water handy at all times and make sure that you have good and comfortable shoes. Make sure to check road conditions before making your trip. Cell phone service is spotty but then there is a tip. John Muir lodge which is about 5mins walk offers free WiFi in their lobby and also Grant Grove restaurant offers Free Wifi.

In a nutshell, if you enjoy living in the lap of nature this is is spot.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

These are great cabins. Clean, fresh, rustic but has everything you really need. The surrounding area is beautiful and cleaned up--no trash on the ground. Staff is friendly and helpful. There is plenty of hiking. My boyfriend and I went on a six hour hike and didn't see another single person! Spending time amongst the majestic trees is good for the soul.

Room Tip: Single cabins will obviously be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

The cabins were perfect for an overnight camping trip without having to drag along a lot of extra stuff. The rooms were great with two double beds and one single. Beds were made nicely and towels and wash clothes provided. It would've been good to know ahead of time that there was a per car fee to enter the park ($20) and also that the showers were coin operated ($1/three minutes.) That lack of communication is the only negative thing I have to say. We live in SoCal and will be visiting again. (Also, for $10 more we upgraded our 7 day park entrance to a 12 month pass, since we want to return again.)

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Loved the cabins! Great deal for the price. Definitely go to Pinehurst Lodge for dinner. Catherine at Grant Grove is the best, she really made our stay so much more special. Drive up and hike Morro Rock if you get a chance and check out Hopsital Rock as well!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grant Grove Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Grove Cabins

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Grant Grove Village, these cabins are for guests who want a more rustic experience, while enjoying a convenient location from which to explore all the sights and activities found in both Sequoia and Kings Canyon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grant Grove Cabins Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Grant Grove Cabins Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.