We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Cabin in the Woods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grant Grove Cabins
Save
You added Grant Grove Cabins to your Saves list
General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Rustic Cabin in the Woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

These historic cabins are beautifully appointed and have a rustic charm to them. The settings is between tall redwood trees. Most of the cabins share a wall and they come with private bathroom with a bathing tub, shower head, toilet seat and a single vanity with a mirror on top with storage. The bathroom has its own heater. The room is spacious and has plenty of windows to let natural light inside. There are 2 queen beds close the window and have to comment that these beds are very comfortable. There are table with lamp between the beds, another big table by the wall near the heater and one more piece of furniture near the window. The room comes with a big comfortable leather chair and has a closet. Also there is a big mirror on the wall in the room. The setting are very basic but that is the beauty of these cabins.

You will get your own deck space which is off course shared with the other cabin and has 2 chairs. Open the windows and you can smell the pines and fresh air. Trails are pretty much everywhere as the location is right in the middle of mother nature. Panoramic Viewpoint is very close and General Sherman tree is about 5mins away. Make sure that ya take the 1hour drive on Generals Hwy to check out the Giant Forest and other spots.

I recommend that travelers have flashlight on them as at night it is very dark. Keep water handy at all times and make sure that you have good and comfortable shoes. Make sure to check road conditions before making your trip. Cell phone service is spotty but then there is a tip. John Muir lodge which is about 5mins walk offers free WiFi in their lobby and also Grant Grove restaurant offers Free Wifi.

In a nutshell, if you enjoy living in the lap of nature this is is spot.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    26
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

These are great cabins. Clean, fresh, rustic but has everything you really need. The surrounding area is beautiful and cleaned up--no trash on the ground. Staff is friendly and helpful. There is plenty of hiking. My boyfriend and I went on a six hour hike and didn't see another single person! Spending time amongst the majestic trees is good for the soul.

Room Tip: Single cabins will obviously be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The cabins were perfect for an overnight camping trip without having to drag along a lot of extra stuff. The rooms were great with two double beds and one single. Beds were made nicely and towels and wash clothes provided. It would've been good to know ahead of time that there was a per car fee to enter the park ($20) and also that the showers were coin operated ($1/three minutes.) That lack of communication is the only negative thing I have to say. We live in SoCal and will be visiting again. (Also, for $10 more we upgraded our 7 day park entrance to a 12 month pass, since we want to return again.)

  • Stayed March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Loved the cabins! Great deal for the price. Definitely go to Pinehurst Lodge for dinner. Catherine at Grant Grove is the best, she really made our stay so much more special. Drive up and hike Morro Rock if you get a chance and check out Hopsital Rock as well!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We stayed here in December of 2014. The cabin we stayed in (#2) was plain but the location was great...the huge trees were right down the road. I would have loved a fireplace or wood stove...and a better seating area (beds are the only place to sit, with one desk chair) with lighting to read. But considering the location, it was hard to beat.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We stayed in the Grant Grove Cabins (#2) just before Christmas. The rooms are very typical of our stays in other National Parks. The cabins are very plainly decorated, and have a well used feeling to them. Our cabin had a definite slope to it also. But, it was exactly as we had expected. We don't go to National Parks to stay in the cabin but to explore and spend as much time outside as possible.

Thanks to a couple storms just before our stay, we were able to go sledding. We went to Columbine picnic area for a little while, then moved on to Wolverton. The latter is by far the better sledding because there is an open slope without many trees in the way. Just be sure that there is a good amount of snow on the ground. Rocks poking up can be dangerous.

And, definitely talk to the rangers about activities around the Park. We started asking questions of the hotel and restaurant staff and received completely opposite answers. Lastly, if you have young children, up to the age of 12, ask the Park Rangers for a Junior Ranger Program booklet. The kids complete the booklet and receive a badge. Almost every National Park has them.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

The air in Sequoia smells like sticking your face in a Christmas wreath. Just jaw droppingly, stunningly, amazingly, beautiful. We went in December, smack dab between two snow storms. There were two feet of snow on the ground when we got there, but the roads were plowed dry. Our kids enjoyed sledding, making snow men, and pelting each other with snow balls! Cabins were inexpensive and modest. Food at the restaurant was extremely pricey, but tasted good. For a family of four, our lunch ran us $75 (two kids, two adults). We brought and cooked the rest of our food on a propane stove on the front porch of our cabin. (No cooking allowed inside cabins... kind of a bummer as cold as it was... but those are the rules.) Gift shop, like most gift shops, overpriced. Staff VERY friendly! Wonderful trip.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grant Grove Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Grove Cabins

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Grant Grove Village, these cabins are for guests who want a more rustic experience, while enjoying a convenient location from which to explore all the sights and activities found in both Sequoia and Kings Canyon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grant Grove Cabins Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Grant Grove Cabins Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.