We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grant Grove Cabins
Save
You added Grant Grove Cabins to your Saves list
General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in December of 2014. The cabin we stayed in (#2) was plain but the location was great...the huge trees were right down the road. I would have loved a fireplace or wood stove...and a better seating area (beds are the only place to sit, with one desk chair) with lighting to read. But considering the location, it was hard to beat.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    26
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
29
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the Grant Grove Cabins (#2) just before Christmas. The rooms are very typical of our stays in other National Parks. The cabins are very plainly decorated, and have a well used feeling to them. Our cabin had a definite slope to it also. But, it was exactly as we had expected. We don't go to National Parks to stay in the cabin but to explore and spend as much time outside as possible.

Thanks to a couple storms just before our stay, we were able to go sledding. We went to Columbine picnic area for a little while, then moved on to Wolverton. The latter is by far the better sledding because there is an open slope without many trees in the way. Just be sure that there is a good amount of snow on the ground. Rocks poking up can be dangerous.

And, definitely talk to the rangers about activities around the Park. We started asking questions of the hotel and restaurant staff and received completely opposite answers. Lastly, if you have young children, up to the age of 12, ask the Park Rangers for a Junior Ranger Program booklet. The kids complete the booklet and receive a badge. Almost every National Park has them.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

The air in Sequoia smells like sticking your face in a Christmas wreath. Just jaw droppingly, stunningly, amazingly, beautiful. We went in December, smack dab between two snow storms. There were two feet of snow on the ground when we got there, but the roads were plowed dry. Our kids enjoyed sledding, making snow men, and pelting each other with snow balls! Cabins were inexpensive and modest. Food at the restaurant was extremely pricey, but tasted good. For a family of four, our lunch ran us $75 (two kids, two adults). We brought and cooked the rest of our food on a propane stove on the front porch of our cabin. (No cooking allowed inside cabins... kind of a bummer as cold as it was... but those are the rules.) Gift shop, like most gift shops, overpriced. Staff VERY friendly! Wonderful trip.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Death Valley National Park, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

This is almost glamping. Loved the little cabin, not too far from the restroom/shower building. Little porch with stove and table outside. No coffee pot, no microwave, no fridge, no running water in the cabin, but very cozy and comfortable. We loved the porch, sat outside looking at the stars, and having cocktails. What a wonderful end to the day. Giant Sequoias within walking distance. I MUST go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect! Some rooms have private bath, but the short walk to the shower house/bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Oh that feeling waking up in the nature, in a warm beautifully built cabin with comfortable beds. Make sute you book cabin 512 which is closest to the toilets! Haha

The staff is also wonderful. Very helpful receptionists and other staff members (I had a car accident and they done the calls).

Food in the restaurant was very tasty, both dinner and swedish style breakfast. Lot of choices.

The common area house has very good atmosphere, with fireplace, high ceilings and the wood everywhere makes you feel very relaxed.

Because this was an emergency, I had to pay the 70$ for the cabin myself - but if there are two couples (there are 2 double beds in a cabin), its unbeliavably cheap!! You get much more than you pay for.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee R, General Manager at Grant Grove Cabins, responded to this review, November 28, 2014
Hello from Grant Grove -
Hope everything turned out ok regarding getting another rental car etc....never fun to have something like that happen on vacation.
Glad to hear you like our Cabins here - they are my favorites too. We just remodeled them last summer and the big comfy comforters and new beds are great!
Please come and see us again under better circumstances.
Warmest regards -
From all of the Staff at Grant Grove Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Cozy cabins! Perfect for a quick getaway. The price was right for what we got! Location was great due to proximity or local attractions! I recommend bringing your own lunch stuff so you dont have to buy from store. It is a bit pricey. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

These rustic cabins are perfect for campers who want to enjoy the comfort of shelter and a bed while they explore the forests and trails. There are plenty of deer, raccoons, and birds that are in the area. The cabins have heaters as well as an outdoor wood burning stove to keep you toasty as the night time temperatures drop into the 40's. The bedding is clean, fresh, and warm though we brought our sleeping bags since we were unsure. As a camping experience enjoy your camp stove on the porch which have nice picnic type tables but remember to keep your food indoors! The raccoons are hooligans and will pilfer anything left on the tables while you take even the shortest walk and there are bears in the area, too! Checking in is done at the "Cabin Reservation" desk on the north side of the entrance across from the visitors center and they are open all night and welcome late arrivals. The shared restrooms are clean, heated and there are shower facilities (bring quarters!- 4 quarters=3 minutes). We were there in the off season, the place was nearly empty, but there are huge campgrounds adjacent which will draw tent campers into the shared restrooms and showers. Some cabins are near the restrooms, which is convenient for families but people do walk by at all hours, and some cabins are more private such as #502 and #503.

Room Tip: The restaurant is good. The market is open only seasonally. The gift shop is sparse with minimal gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grant Grove Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Grove Cabins

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Grant Grove Village, these cabins are for guests who want a more rustic experience, while enjoying a convenient location from which to explore all the sights and activities found in both Sequoia and Kings Canyon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grant Grove Cabins Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Grant Grove Cabins Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.