We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grant Grove Cabins
Save Saved
You added Grant Grove Cabins to your Saves list
General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Highly recommend these cabins. Beautiful setting and clean facilities. Don't miss out on hot showers and restaurant. The programs in the park are fun and educational. This is a great place to come with kids.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came here after an awfully crowded weekend in Yosemite. The Grant grove offers space, personal table next to a cabin and a feeling of being in nature, not in crowd of other tired people. Sufficient parking, dears having their dinner next door and a big wooden cabin. Negative: there is only one restaurant to eat, which may become full in the evening.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wonderful experience. Loved the rustic cabin. We had only electricity and had to shared bathroom/shower, which were clean and private. We were surprised how large the cabin was abd the number of beds. It was just the right mix of camping experience and having modern conveniences. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in cabin with husband and 11 year old daughter. Was pleasantly surprised by how attractive the inside of the cabin was. Size and furnishings were adequate. Beds and linen were very comfortable. Sufficient towels were supplied. Lights and electricity etc. were an added bonus. Price and location are excellent for exploring this beautiful national park.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean and convenient, friendly staff, nice view. The cabin can sleep 4 people and provided with comforter, tower and cups, and extra blanket, a great deal for family stay in this location. Please confirm time of the activity with staff(s), as we saw a 10PM grant tree walk but no one showed, later was told it should be 10AM.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee R, General Manager at Grant Grove Cabins, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good day -

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We just remodeled all of the Meadow Camps and think they turned out so nice - glad you think so too!

Sorry to hear that one of my front desk agents told you the wrong time for the tree walk. We have all the events that are going on in the park posted at the front desk. All of our front desk associates are supposed to read up on what is happening so that we can make suggestions for our guests of the "must do" activities while they are here.

Hope to have you as or guest again in the future.

Warmest regards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This review is just for the tent-cabin we stayed in at Grant's Grove. Now I'm having a tough time thinking of how to review this place since it is essentially a camping trip not a hotel experience. When you're spending $60 a night on a tent-cabin in a national park you should expect to rough it some but this was a little rougher than expected. I wish we would have had the room in our luggage to bring a tent because that would have been better for the following reasons:

*When we arrived at 5 PM our tent-cabin had not been cleaned or fixed up at all since the previous guests. There was trash inside and litter around the outside (which I picked up myself). One of the beds was soaking wet and needed changed because it rained earlier and somehow the roof has holes. At this point I wish I had brought my own tent. The guy at the lodging area at first told the maintenance guy he'd have to clean up which wasn't his job. They eventually got a girl from the Muir Lodge to come down and do it which wasn't her job either but she did well.

*All night we could here mice or some kind of critters running around the cabin trying to get into our food bags which we thought we had stowed away safely. Again, having our own tent would've prevented this.

*You cannot grill or build a fire anywhere near these tent-cabins although there seem to be fire-pits and grills all over the other campgrounds. We had to schlep our stuff a half a mile or so to the Azalea Campground to do this (again, had we just brought a tent..)

I will say that once made the beds were cleaner and more comfortable than expected but bring extra blankets or sleeping bag because it gets cold at night and their sheets aren't enough. The showers and washrooms are also very close and nice relative to other communal setups.

Overall, if you're staying around here I would recommend either bringing your own tent or shelling out a little more money to get nicer cabin or lodge.

Room Tip: If I could do it again I'd bring my own tent or get one of the cabins with a non-tent roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in the basic Grant Grove cabin for two nights while day hiking in the park. Was pleasantly surprised at check-in to be upgraded to a cabin with electricity (originally booked a tent cabin).

These are just what is advertised - a basic cabin which is primarily used as a place for sleeping after a long day in the park. Very basic, but the towels, sheets and bath/shower house were clean. Close to the restaurant, gift shop, and camp store. Enjoyed story telling one night by park staff at the amphitheater. Naturally no AC, but you are high enough it can get quite cool in the evenings.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only cabin adventure was my wife waking me at 1am because there was a field mouse in the cabin's live trap - remember this is a cabin in the woods. Made for a running joke for the rest of our road trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee R, General Manager at Grant Grove Cabins, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings from KCNP -

Yeah - so glad that you had a good visit to Grant Grove Village. It truly is a lovely place - minus all of the crowds at other National Parks. The Meadow Camp cabins are very popular and we have many return guests that specifically request these cabins.

Please come by and introduce yourself next time you find yourself here.

Best regards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grant Grove Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Grove Cabins

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Grant Grove Village, these cabins are for guests who want a more rustic experience, while enjoying a convenient location from which to explore all the sights and activities found in both Sequoia and Kings Canyon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grant Grove Cabins Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Grant Grove Cabins Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.