We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grant Grove Cabins
General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed two nights here. The one good thing is the sheets were clean. Cabin looked as if it had not been swept in a long time. Very dusty especially under the bed. I know that seems trivial to some but too much dust stops up my sinuses. Mice came out in the cabin both nights. I was under the impression before arriving we would be putting all of our food in bear boxes. When we checked in we were told the bear boxes were only for the tent camping. We were told to keep our food in our cabin. No wonder there were mice. Also our cabin was within 10 feet of the road leading up to the staff's quarters. The staff members were driving up and down this road until after midnight. Makes it very hard to get a descent night sleep. Won't stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We've stayed at Grant Grove cabins for years and keep coming back. The cabins are rustic yet clean and comfortable, with the convenience of having a restaurant, grocery store and visitor center, not to mention showers, all within walking distance. It's a great way to go 'camping' while still enjoying some of the comforts of 'home'. The setting is tranquil and beautiful, with hiking trails and daily/nightly informative discussions in the nearby amphitheater. Also another plus: not congested like Yosemite Valley.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you plan to visit both Sequoia and King's Canyon, these cabins are centrally located. Hume Lake is nearby and has good fishing. The cabins are cozy with bathrooms and showers nearby. A small picnic table outside is perfect for meals-- just be sure to bring a table cloth.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Rustic Cabins were very clean, just a couple of cobwebs in the upper corner of the cabin. Beds were comfortable and there was one electrical outlet for whatever you want to use. Cabins were fairly spaced out so you weren't right next to anyone. Communal showers/bathrooms were very clean and not crowded. Restaurants and market are close by with wifi. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our cabin was clean, pretty and roomy. We were placed next to a cabin where a group gathered for poker every night until 2:00-3:00am to sleep. People, please remember others come to the parks for quietness. 10:00pm is the ALL QUIET rule. Bathrooms weren't stocked as well as they should have been. The restaraunt wasn't as clean as it could be and always packed. Every employee we met were friendly and willing to help if needed. Our stay was nice but was tainted by poor nieghbors.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 2 nights in one of the cabins that had a proper roof (not the tent tops) and loved the cabin itself. The bed was extremely comfortable and the picnic table to the side was a really nice place to spend the evening having a few beers next to a fire in the stove should you so wish. For people that struggle away from wifi, there isn't any in the cabins, but there's free wifi at the restaurant (just don't eat there...more in another review).

I'd give the actual cabin 5 stars, but the number of showers in the communal block was inadequate for the number of guests; the gents was fine, I never had to queue, but my wife found herself in at least a 20 minute line both evenings (there were only 3 showers).

Also the staff... Hmmmmm. Not what you'd call enthusiastic about their work. But if you can ignore them and accept a queue for a shower, then for £50 a night it's a bargain! And Kings Canyon and Sequoia are spectacular!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stay in Grant's Grove whenever we visit the Sequoia-Kings's Canyon parks. We usually try to stay in Cabin Number 9 because it has a shower, but we couldn't book it this year so we stayed in one of the Rustic Cabins. Travelers need to remember that they are staying in a cabin and not the John Muir Lodge. You may have to deal with insects as well as raccoons in the night. Bring bug spray and don't leave any food or garbage out overnight! The bathrooms were fine; the showers are a little uncomfortable but you'll get used to them. We stay in Grant's Grove because it is close to the trails we visit on the north side of King's Canyon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grant Grove Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Grove Cabins

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Grant Grove Village, these cabins are for guests who want a more rustic experience, while enjoying a convenient location from which to explore all the sights and activities found in both Sequoia and Kings Canyon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grant Grove Cabins Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Grant Grove Cabins Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grant Grove Cabins to your Saves list