We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Grove Cabins

Grant Grove Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grant Grove Cabins
General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Outdoor Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed in the tent cabins. For $60 they provided a nice cabin building with a secure tent roof. Two double beds, very spacious. The bath house was a small walk away but not bad. No electricity in the tent cabins.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harker Heights, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Going up the mountain was an awesome experience in its self. Wow! The curvy roads were in great condition and the views were incredible! At the end, we were over 6,000 feet above the ocean! The stay at the cabins was wonderful, exactly as its was describe in their site. The park is an incredible experience for all ages.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin close to the common bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pros
-excellent location at Grant grove, equal distance to Cedar grove and Sequoia Giant forest
-pretty location and layout
-very friendly and helpful staff

Cons
-Despite the cost of the cabins, you still have to pay for the shower
-Not sufficient number of showers (3) and toilets (1 working one) for the cabin area
-No fridge in the cabin
-It was pretty cold at night at the end of June and we did not dare to ignite the ancient looking gas heater
-wifi in the lobby was OK, but only one couch was not inviting or sufficient for guest
-no cell coverage (for most) and the public phone don't work
-general store poorly stocked

Room Tip: If you can afford it choose one of the lodges/hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Grant Grove cabins are great. Charming and clean in a beautiful setting. The housekeeping staff was terrific. Cheerful and friendly. They really cared about taking care of the guests. The reservation office staff seemed distracted and confused. We rented three cabins for three nights several months in advance with repeated follow up requests to be placed next to each other. The explanations as to why they didn't accommodate the request varied depending on who we talked to. One of cars was running dangerously low on gas and the reception person didn't seem to know that emergency gas was available at the lodge. We ended up sending a second car all the way to Hume Lake to purchase a gas can for $18.00 plus $10.00 for 2 gallons of gas. The dining room was clearly understaffed and the quality of the food mediocre at best.

Room Tip: The lodge area just across the meadow from the cabins is noisy with beverage machine, air conditione...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo MI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented tent cabin, much cheaper option vs cabin.
The location was right next to the parking lot, a big plus.
We were given a lantern at front desk, another plus
the cabin has 2 double beds, and you can fit a cot between for 5th person.
You also get a shelf drawer...no need for it for us.
We stayed 3 nights, plenty of good sleep.
There are few Sequioas on property and bunch of big rocks for kids to climb.
The visitor center, restaurant, local market are short walk away.
We were very satisfied with our stay.
Bathrooms need TLC, but we are tough campers,it did not bother us.

Room Tip: cabin 303 was close to the parking, you might want to ask about the cabin you are getting, some cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

my family & i love staying in the 3 bed camp cabin, its very spacious & clean. great price, friendly staff, clean restrooms and showers. we've been there every summer for the last 7 years. there is so much to do at kings canyon, WE LOVE IT!

Room Tip: rustic cabins are warmer but camp cabins seem bigger so we prefer to stay in those
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We rented a tent cabin. It was clean, plenty of warm blankets, chairs, table, closet, towels soap ect..loved the view. Now as for their quiet time at night...it was non existent. Cars speeding down service road near camp, loud music and people talking all through out the night.couldn't sleep. My only real complaint other than the nighttime noise, is their restaurant.Do not go there and waste your money. Horrible customer service, wait times, and food was disgusting. I had read reviews stating this before our trip but thought wed try it out ourselves. Should have listened, because our food was gross, cold, and eggs were raw!! Don't eat at restaurant, but cabins are nice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Grant Grove Cabins, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing the valuable feedback about your recent visit. Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment in the restaurant. We realize there have been service gaps and timing issues and we are working through solutions to address those items. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your tent cabin, but apologize that others disrupted your stay. If you have a few moments, I would like to follow up on your experience. Please contact me at 559-565-4070. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grant Grove Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Grove Cabins

Address: General's Hwy, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93633
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty lodging in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Grant Grove Village, these cabins are for guests who want a more rustic experience, while enjoying a convenient location from which to explore all the sights and activities found in both Sequoia and Kings Canyon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grant Grove Cabins Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Grant Grove Cabins Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Grove Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grant Grove Cabins to your Saves list