We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodge in Sequoia Nat'l Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Eagan, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Lodge in Sequoia Nat'l Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Lovely lodge in beautiful Sequoia Park. My husband and I loved the location, room and staff at Wuksachi. We arrived at the lodge in the middle of the night because a portion of the road leading to the lodge was blocked for road construction from 11:30pm to 5:00am but thankfully, there was a person at the front desk to check us in. He was very helpful and suggested some hiking areas. The food at the restaurant was very good and the wait staff very nice. We had an amazing Teriyaki Salmon filet baked on a cedar plank....simply fantastic. We will definitely go back again.
The only warning is the road construction and the road being closed down from 11:30pm to 5:00am Monday through Friday. We did not know about it and got stuck for 3.5 hours. We parked down from the road block and tried to sleep but it was not fun. Check on this in advance!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    478
    250
    95
    33
See reviews for
385
493
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

This was one of the more expensive places we stayed on our tour of California and I expected the price to be due to the location. However, we had a fabulous huge well-appointed room and was worth the money. The restaurant too was really high quality. Beware the quesillados starters - they are superb but filling even when shared, so you have to make sure you leave room for your main course!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Wuksachi lodge is not cheap (it was the most expensive accommodation we had throughout our three week trip) but that said it is located within Sequoia National Park, in a fantastic setting with good accommodation which tastefully suits the surroundings.

Our accommodation was located within one of three separate blocks away from the main lodge. (About five minutes walk from the main lodge through woodland. Each block was tastefully decorated in cedar and reflected the woodland surroundings. Our room was spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. Again the room was tastefully furnished with all the facilities you would expect. Whilst internet access was not available from the room, free wi-fi was accessible from the main lodge.
We also particularly enjoyed watching a programme of Sequoia National Park which was available on the TV
The view and setting was spectacular and we saw a variety of birds and wildlife

The main lodge is tastefully designed and provides comfortable seating as well as restaurant and breakfast. We expected the restaurant and breakfast prices to be expensive - given there is nothing close by. However the prices were similar to what we paid elsewhere on our trip. The food and service was good and everyone was casually dressed. We enjoyed the night walk back to our lodge (starry sky) the path is lit.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and whilst on a tight budget - I would recommend others to splash out - we had a wonderful time

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This hotel is worth the money just for the location. It's located in Sequoia National Park and is an easy drive to the Sherman Tree, Moro Rock, the museum and more. As others have said, it can be a pain to lug everything in your car up to the room. They do have luggage carts, but there's no getting around the stairs inside once you get to the building if you're not on the first floor. If you come at night, bring a flashlight. At the elevation, you can get easily winded making a couple of trips to and from the car.

We reserved a superior king room and the view was lovely. One thing to be aware of is that the superior rooms are on the corner of the building, which means you'll hear people going loudly up and down the stairs. There's a mini fridge but no microwave. We packed a cooler with stuff to make sandwiches and salads and it worked out great. We had dinner at the lodge one night and found it to be well worth the money. All in all, it was a great stay and we'd definitely make the same decision again. Parts of the building seem to be run down, but when compared to driving in and out of the park each day, there's no question the location makes it worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

The only reason I've given this hotel 4 stars is its location. Really if you're visiting Sequoia NP this is a great place to be located in the middle of the park. The rooms are ok and reasonably comfortable with a small fridge which is handy. Our big complaint though was that we were put in a room right next to a pump room. At 12:50am when we were sound asleep an incredible noise started in the room next door. It was like a semitrailer starting up for 10minutes. I phoned reception who couldn't have cared less and said it would stop soon. It did stop only to start up again every 10-15mins throughout the night. We hardly slept at all and woke on our first day in the park sleep deprived and with horrendous headaches. The reception staff in the morning were more helpful and offered to move us to a new room during the day and reduce our cost for the night by half price. This was all well and good but didn't replace our lack of sleep and also meant we had to spent a good while repacking so we could be moved!
The restaurant breakfast is really very nice with lots of fresh fruit, cereals and nice hot food. Unfortunately the dinners are a bit hit and miss. The first two nights the food was quite nice but not brilliant, but on the third night it was worse and only barely passable with overcooked fish the worst. Very overpriced dinner!
If you make sure not to get put in a room near the pump and can handle hit and miss dinner, then still a good place to be located to see Sequoia NP. Beautiful location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Maybe I was out of my mind, but I had high expectations and was very excited about a our stay at the Wuksachi Lodge. I reserved a deluxe king room with a view. The first let down is that we didn't stay in a "lodge". We checked in and then had to drive to the living area. There are 3 buildings with a parking lot seperate from the lodge. You have to take everything out of your car so the bears do not break into your car. After climbing stairs dragging our luggage, we discovered there is no elevator. Good thing I have working legs! The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The walls are thin and it reminded me of my dormitory living days with the sounds of flushing toilets and people walking around. There is no wireless in the rooms, which I thought we had access to it. It was dark when we checked in, so I was excited to see the view in the morning from our "room with a view" window. Um, it was the side of the hill with a few trees. I have a better view from my bedroom window at home. This place is darn expensive for what you get, but unless you want to stay an hour away, there is no other choice. I figured I would have a nice breakfast to start off my day. $20!!!! The selection was poor and it wasn't that good. Ugh, I hate being ripped off. Expect a $70 hotel for your $200. That said, Sequoia National Park is GORGEOUS and I could have slept in my car and still had a wonderful time exploring the park.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This hotel iset set in the middle of the national park. The main building is a two minute walk from the accommodation. The rooms are spacious, as are the bathrooms. Everywhere was very clean. All the staff were helpful. The bar staff found out it was our honeymoon and word soon spread. One night we were given free desserts with dinner, the other we were given a little bottle of champagne. It was a really friendly place and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.