We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, a little overpriced!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reston, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice place, a little overpriced!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

This is by far the nicest place to stay in the area. The lobby is nice and new, and the rooms are lovely (I don't think that their website does them justice!)

We stayed in a Superior Suite with my husband and me, my in-laws and our 12 month old daughter. It was perfect for us (and when you split the almost $300/night rate between the two families very reasonable).

The staff was really helpful and very nice.

The only negative comment I will make is that they charged us $10 for the use of the crib (and didn't tell us when making the reservation, checking in, or delivering the crib to our room... we had actually come packing a crib and would have used our own had we known... I've never hear of such a thing!) The restaurant there could have used better service during breakfast as they are really the only game in town (and it's a buffet, so how bad could the service have been right? Don't ask!) The BBQ dinner at Wolverton is so worth it though!

All in all though, it was a pleasant stay in a beautiful location with a wonderful staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    554
    269
    102
    37
See reviews for
438
582
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Perfect location near the main sites e.g. General Sherman. The lodge & accommodation is set in beautiful grounds with lots of wild life roaming around (bears, deer, chipmunks etc). The Lodge has a lovely restaurant which looks out on the groups/forest/stream & is reasonable but you have to book but don’t worry we didn’t arrive till 6pm & still managed to book in for a meal at 7.15. Rooms are very noisy with old fashioned air con units & the fridge. Otherwise they are very clean & spacious.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Quick & friendly check in,the room was large,well equipped & spotlessly clean,we stayed 2 nights & dined both nights in the Lodge restaurant,excellent food & service,good variety &,we thought,not bad prices,bit of a shock the first night tho' trying to find our way back to the room in almost total darkness.
We also had breakfast in the lodge both mornings,a good variety & not too pricey IMO.
The location is superb,there a beautiful peaceful walks around the lodge area,we also took the half day tour around the park which seemed a bit expensive at $59 each but was very good.
All the staff we dealt with were first class,friendly & helpful,overall a wonderful relaxing couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohar, Oman
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Had just stayed at Yosemite Lodge, my Dad reckons with the cost of breakfast this was the same price, maybe not quite true but it wasn't that more expensive. This is more a comment on Yosemite.
Due to the rehabilitation of Giant Forest, this Lodge is not near to the main attractions but the shuttle bus was regular and the drivers friendly, explaining that the rangers were scaring off a bear from Lodgepole. Good job she told us as we thould a tyre had burst when there was a loud bang. Also how many backpackers can you get on a bus, about a dozen. First day drove to Lodgepole to do some laundry (why don't NP lodges have guest laundry? but used time at visitor centre) and got the bus from there.
The Lodge though is in a quiet place and the food was great, not too good for the waistline. We had deluxe rooms and they were roomy and comfortable. Had Air Con units in windows.
We stayed 3 nights and saw most of Sequoia and a little bit of Kings Canyon (curtailed due to daughters car sickness).
There is plenty of parking and we were able to park near our building.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Enjoyed the setting among the trees of the National Park. Good location, equi-distant from each of the park entrances, although the drive from Hwy 180 entrance has fewer switchbacks. The room was spacious and comfortable, we were not roughing it. No air-conditioning, but the window box fan brings in a lot of the cool mountain air as the temperature drops even in the middle of Summer. It's worth it to spend the night in the park, rather than driving in from the fringe towns each morning.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I can pretty much echo both the bad and good that have been said already. First of all, if you have a serious disability, don't stay here unless you have LOTS of help. The ramp (very long and way too steep) was enough to leave me feeling it was nap time (I use a cane). There are three lodging buildings plus a third that contains check-in, gift shop, and restaurant. They are close enough for physically fit people to traverse on foot in day time.

The Wuksachi has comfortable beds and a lovely view. There is no elevator, so again, if you can't do stairs, you must specify the first floor. We got the suite, which is a great idea if there is a teenager or night owl in your party who keeps different hours from the rest. The sliding door makes it possible for one or two people to stay awake without disturbing others.

The ceiling fans do not turn off during the summer, no matter what you do. No light switch, and the pull on the fan itself, will make it stop. There is a mirror that reflects the fan, so trying to read in bed gives you two dizzying fans in your periferal vision.

It is clear that the corporation that runs the lodging is making a serious effort to reduce the carbon footprint its annual visitors create. This is the only place I stayed during my entire trip that provided a recycle container. This was great! Unfortunately, in all of our suite, there was only one very tiny waste basket in the bathroom. This was overkill (or an effort to pay housekeepers less?). Have a used kleenex while someone else is using the bathroom? Better hang onto it, it isn't recyclable! Likewise, while the lack of air conditioning is justifiable given the reasonable temperatures at nightfall, even in July, this facility is so nature friendly that it is not entirely safe for humans. Remember that very lengthy, steep ramp? You'd want to see where your feet were going on that thing when it gets dark out, right? Sorry. Stair users, it's going to be touch and go for you too.

The bathroom was fine; the water pressure was good. The place had been well cleaned. A tiny flying insect or two flew in through the window fan, but we were not mosquito bitten or bothered by biting insects or arachnids.

There is no room service here, and no pool. Remember, it's a park lodging.

Because it is bear country, guests are expected to schlep every single piece of luggage, etc. from their cars in order not to tempt the bears. (They say a bear can smell a chapstick in a car from five miles away. My friend who works for the park service busted me for starting to leave scented kleenex in my vehicle!). Well, we'd been on the road for weeks, been shopping, been to visit relatives and received gifts, and our vehicle was crammed. All told, between suitcases, coolers, shopping bags, etc. we had some 18 parcels to be brought up. Now...I have the cane, right? That leaves my two kids, ages 21 and 13. They are really great, especially as adolescents go, but that's a lot of carrying for anyone! Enter Chester, the Wuksachi bellman.

I have never taken a picture of a bell man before. After watching Chester cooly transfer all 18 packages to the back of his Ford Escape, and then offer me, cane and all, a ride in his chariot via the secret, little-known path of the Wuksachi employee, I was ready to marry the man (oh, except I'm too old. And already married). He got all that stuff up the stairs, spared me the icky ramp, and then did the whole reverse when we left two days later. (I pried it out of him that he had never had to carry so much stuff for anyone before. Needless to say, he got a great tip both times!).

All told, I had a much better night at the Sheraton in Fresno once we left the park, but would I be willing to drive all that way to get back into Sequoia and Kings Canyon parks? Not so much. If you are planning to visit Sequoia, figure on at least one night in this lodging. It's great for the convenience....and then, there's Chester.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, Ca
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

In May of 2008, we were snowed out of our visit to Sequoia National Park. We departed early, having to forfeit one night's stay at the old Montecito Sequoia Lodge. We found that lodge to be disappointing, so when we returned to Sequoia this May (2009) to see the rest of the park, we were pleasantly surprised that we could get reservations at Wuksachi Lodge.

The accommodations were fairly nice for a National Park, where lodges can be pretty rustic. Our room had a refrigerator and was large enough to be comfortable. For the faint of heart, the altitude and the walk to the lodge rooms from the parking lot (they provide valet carts in designated areas of the parking lots) may be a bit of challenge for some with physical limitations or challenges.

We stayed two nights and had breakfast and dinner in the lodge each day. Recognizing that you are in a remote, mountain location, the food was good and reasonably priced. The wine list wasn't too bad for dinner although fairly pricey.

We would recommend the lodge and restaurant to visitors to Sequoia NP.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.