We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2005

Wuksachi Lodge is in a gorgeous location and perfectly serviceable, but nothing more. The room was spacious enough, and the ceiling fan helped with the airflow, but we experienced the same cleanliness issues as other reviewers. They really need to pay more attention to maintenance and cleaning. There is no other hotel option in the park, though, and if you plan to hike and have very active days outdoors like we did, staying an hour's drive away isn't going to work. You have to accept that trade off, I guess. That said, we loved everything about the park - it's a fantastic place! And we enjoyed the lodge's proximity to both the popular areas of the park and the trails we wanted to hike, it was very convenient to be a short drive from the trailheads. Meals were fine, but nothing special, and kind of pricey for what they were. The staff was very kind and helpful, the main building is lovely (you can even borrow board games from the front desk to entertain yourself after dinner), and you can't beat the setting. When else do you see 6 deer on your way to breakfast? Just wish they took better care of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    570
    277
    104
    39
See reviews for
459
605
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2005

This is a handsome hotel set amongst beautiful scenery. The front desk personnel is very polite and efficient. We stayed July 2005 but surely this hotels peak season is winter / skiing time. It is beautiful.
Our room was on the first floor and there was quite a walk from the parking lot to the room itself. This was because there were no golf carts or bellman available at the time-8pm. We lugged a tired child, bags and luggage up a zig zag ramp and then down a zig zag staircase to the first ground floor. The entrance doors were located on the second floor with no use of an elevator. Not a problem. However, we encountered hyphated mold on the white underside of the spread when we turned down the bed to put the baby to sleep. Problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2005

My husband and I travelled with our 2 young children (ages 8 and 2). We stayed in one of their "superior" rooms, which is basically a suite with a separate living room area that divided the bedroom with a sliding door. The room had plenty of room for all of us and was nicely decorated and clean.

It was very hot during the day, and the room has no AC (only a ceiling fan). So it was necessary to keep the windows open at night, which meant that we could hear everybody outside in the evening and in the morning.

The first day, we called and asked housekeeping for some items that were missing in our room (kleenex, toilet paper, soap for the shower). We were only given 1 roll of toilet paper and told that eveything else was low in inventory.

We had dinner at the lodge one evening. The food was average. Not a lot of variety. The dining room staff was effecient and courteous, but not very friendly. Our server basically rushed our food out and pretty much dropped it on our table. There isn't a lot of variety or choice of elsewhere to go to either. The next night we ate at the restaurant in Grant's Grove. That restaurant wasn't as "nice", and the food average as well, but we were much more impressed with the friendly services (and catering to families).

The Wuksachi is nicely located in the park, so you can drive to other areas easily.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

A good example of monoply lodging. Great location--no competion inside the Park, and it's an hour drive on 10 mile an hour curved roads to the nearest competion unless you want to camp. We visited for two nights in August 2005, and with no A/C the rooms were miserably hot and stuffy, with no way to get cool night air circulating. The mountain view is great, but in the summer, opt for ground floor, forest view--it's cooler. We had to keep the blinds drawn in the daytime to keep the room from going over 90 degrees all nignt, so the mountain view was not of much value.
The restaurant was overpriced at dinner for the quality of food. The chef had just left, and we got his apprentice. In a month or two, things might be better. Their is no restaurant alternative either--the Park Service needs to let some competition in!
Good wildlife viewing around--deer in the parking lot. Room size and quality was fine, just hot!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2005

When we visit Sequoia Nat'l Park, we camp at the Lodgepole campground, about 2 miles away from the Wuksachi Lodge. But we get tired of cooking, so we usually treat ourselves by going to the Lodge for dinner the last night. RESERVATIONS ARE A MUST!

The menu doesn't seem to change, which is kind of strange. I mean, it's the same menu we encountered 3 years ago, not just last year.

Anyway, this visit, we had the sweet potato soup appetizer, which was wonderful. Very slightly spicy, with chiptole peppers, if I remember correctly.

Then, we both had the small spinach salad, which was quite disappointing. Only came with a few tasteless pistachios, and tiny stripts of tomato, with a bland dressing. (The spinach salad in a plastic box at the Lodgepole Market deli was a lot better than this one.)

Finally, we split the baked eggplant, which was frankly inedible. We should have sent it back, it was so bad, but we were still hungry and ate what we could. The pasta the eggplant topped was OK, not great, but the eggplant was simply not cooked completely, and came with the bitter skin still on. AVOID the eggplant unless you like it uncooked.

I was also upset that we were charged a $3.50 "split" fee for the $18.95 eggplant dish, even though we had both ordered separate appetizers and salads. I should have contested it, but by that point just wanted to leave such a disappointing, expensive meal.

IF I eat there again, because there are no other restaurants miles around, I will be more vigilant and send back poor dishes!

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2005

We stopped here on 16th June 05 for 1 night. The rooms are contained in very large wooden cabins 7000 feet up! We had a standard room which was large and clean but very basic with coffee maker, fridge and simple furnishings. It had a good view and was right in the middle of the park so making an excellent base. Essentially it's the location you pay for here.

Breakfast was good quality and mid priced for a buffet, $10 plus drinks. Staff were helpful and knowledgable, there were Ranger talks and fact sheets around. Nice reception and dining area. Parking is free. There is a park entrance fee to pay.

Top tip : Don't arrive too late as we did as it was very very dark and there's no one around other than bears and deer. The deer casually step out of bushes pretending to be bears. Reception is open 24hours.

To put our review into context, this was part of our June tour of California and New York that included the following hotels, also reviewed on tripadvisor.

Sofitel - Los Angeles, Best Western O'cairns - Lompoc, Travel Lodge Monterey Bay, Serrano - San Francisco, Wuksachi Lodge - Sequoia Nat park, Yosemite View Lodge - Yosemite Nat park, Furnace Creek Ranch - Deach Valley, Aladdin - Las Vegas, UN Millennium Plaza - New York

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2005

The location for this lodge was beyond belief. Right in the center of the park. In the morning there were Mule Deer in the parking lot. Obviously they were accustomed to having their photos taken because they didn't even look up from grazing on the shrubbery as we photographed them.

The room had no A/C, but a fan was provided. After opening the window to let in the cool night air and positioning the fan to blow it over us, the temperature was quite pleasant.

The bathroom needed a bit of attention. The shower curtain was moldy and there was a line of mold at the entrance to the shower. After informing the desk clerk in the morning, the cleaning crew took care of it, but I would have expected it to have been done as a matter of course, not after a guest mentions it.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.