We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than camping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than camping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything about this hotel was easy. It was easy to find in the park, easy to check in, easy to find our room, easy to eat in the lodge... It was like we could enjoy nature, without the hassle of camping. Which is why this lodge is great. However, the room smelled weird, like some strong, yet offensive cleaning solution. The beds were a little hard, and in general it had a motel feeling to it. But it was a quiet room in a great location, so I would definitely stay there again. At least until they build a Hyatt in Sequoia ;)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank for sharing your feedback. We are pleased to read that you found the experience and the location easy and that you would stay with us again. I do agree we are need of some updating and we are hoping to start some minor upgrades in the near future. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    456
    239
    91
    32
See reviews for
370
459
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pros - forest location with abundant wildlife, main lodge with good food, amazing breakfast
Cons - complete absence of room maintenance eg: damaged electrical fittings, no air con, terrible restaurant service (warm white wine & inexperienced waiter), vastly overpriced

This is accommodation aimed squarely at outdoorsy, walker-types. If you want anything more than a very basic roof-over-your-head accommodation, you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: I don't suspect that there is one.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing the feedback regarding your visit. We want to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements so that we will deliver exceptional service for our guests in the future. I would like to discuss your stay further with you. Please call me at 599-565-4070 ext 602. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 1 night mid week, which was the only availability 3 months in advance. I felt lucky to get this room on such short notice. So, if you want to stay here you need to consider booking way in advance. Since we only had 2 days available in the park, the lodge was the best choice to maximize our time in the park. We considered staying in Three Rivers, but this would have taken an hour to get to on a road that is not easy to navigate. The room was not plush, but was adquate as it is really only a place to sleep. We had breakfast at the lodge dining room. It was a buffet that offered several good chioces for breakfast; oatmeal, cereal, bacon and eggs, fruit. Service was efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing Wuksachi Lodge as your destination and sharing your recent review. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay, and that the was friendly and efficient. We are hoping for some minor upgrades in the near future to enhance the rooms and hope that you will enjoy us again in the near future. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a road trip through Yosemite,Sequia and Death Valley Parks then onto Las Vegas. Lodge was excellent especially the restaurant which served up above average food for such a large turnover eating establishment. Lodge is in an ideal situation and close to all you would require in the park.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay, the location and the food. Chef Graham will be delighted to share with the culinary team. Please come join us again in the near future. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for just one night in August. The location was amazing and it was a great base for exploring.

Food was good, although the service in the restaurant was disappointing. We were told to make a reservation, which we did - for 8pm. Presenting ourselves at the desk at 8 on the dot we were told we needed to wait until a table became available - this took over 25 minutes! What is the point of booking for a certain time if you still have to wait for ages? It wouldn't have been so annoying if we had been told this was the process instead of us hanging around in reception waiting for our table time and then having to wait past our reservation time. Our server was not very engaging and completely forgot about our drinks order.

The room was comfortable and there was plenty of parking. Lovely view of the woodland in the morning so could happily watch the chipmunks collecting breakfast :-).

Short drive to main points of interest.

Now we know what to expect, would still stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that your dinner reservation was running behind and that the server was not engaging. That is not typical of the operation and I will follow up with the Dining Room staff. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Wuksachi Lodge in Sequoia National Park. It's by far the nicest place to stay there, but the lodge is totally separate from the rooms, which are an uphill walk from the parking area. The lodge parking area and the room parking areas are in two different places. Because my husband had just had surgery, we were unprepared for all the walking and he was out of breath each time we got up to our room. We also drove to and from the lodge for our meals because it was hard for him to walk all that way. The Lodge meals were outstanding. We had 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners there. The Wuksachi salad is huge and a wonderful treat. The rest of my family was camping, so we drove to Lodgepole Campground the rest of the time to eat with them.

Room Tip: You must walk up from the parking lot to all the rooms. They do have carts so you can push/pull your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Going on a weekday in the off season means you practically have this winter wonderland to yourselves. The hotel rooms themselves are adequate, but the Lodge restaurant is truly wonderful and the sequoias are unsurpassed for their majesty and beauty. (I do not use those words lightly.) Going in winter meant taking our lives in our hands -- just my 88 year old mother and me on snow covered roads, with me learning how to put on snow chains for the first time -- but the silence and the beauty of this place in winter will truly lift your spirits once you get there. Plan to stay a few days to soak it all in. I'm going back with my husband for our anniversary. Can't wait to share this with him!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review and sharing with other travels that Wuksachi Lodge is open year round. . It is a winter wonderland up in the park and I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed it so much the first that you will be joining us again in the near future. Let us know when you’re coming back to join us for your anniversary. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.