We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, great setting, fairly basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
West Kirby
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Ok, great setting, fairly basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Food average but dining room passable. As you would expect for the location, fairly basic rooms though the bathroom was very good. Be very careful to ensure no foodstuffs in your room as we had a rodent visitor in the night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing the feedback about your visit and the location. In regards to your comment about food storage, we take rodent reports very seriously and are sorry that your stay at Wuksachi included an experience with one. All such reports lead to “exclusion” work to remove any animals or signs of animals in areas our guests or employees may have contact. In warmer months, there is a rodent population increase in the parks. Although we are unable to use poison and bait stations due to national park regulations, we maintain ongoing vigilance to ensure pests are controlled effectively to safeguard our guests. Please contact me directly to discuss your visit further 559-565-4070. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    462
    241
    91
    32
See reviews for
374
464
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent 2 nights in a Superior room on the 3rd floor of the Sequoia Building of Wuksachi Lodge in late July, 2014.

Pros: (1) Beautiful surrounding scenery with mountains, huge sugar pine trees, mule deer and black bears. (2) Main lodge building is pretty nice with a very nice dining room on back side with full view windows.(3) Breakfast and supper at the main lodge Peaks restaurant were both very good.

Cons: (1) First and foremost, do not be deceived, this lodge is not surrounded by Giant Sequoia trees. In fact, there are no Sequoia trees within walking distance (hiking distance yes, but walking no). The hike to the sequoia trees from the lodge took me almost an hour and I was moving pretty quickly. To see the sequoia trees with your young family you will need to drive to one of the few parking areas and hike a little bit to reach the first trees. So why no lodges closer to the trees? Because of the risks of damage to the ancient tree groves, you will learn that most buildings, roads, parking lots that were potential issues have been removed - this makes 100% sense to me, I have no argument at all with it! (2) We paid over $300 per night and at that rate I would expect a very clean room - our bathroom was dirty, and the windows were so filthy we could barely see outside. The common areas of our building also desperately needed vacuuming. (3) The superior room has air conditioning - BUT, it is a single, tiny window unit that will freeze up after more than a few hours of run time. In late July the weather up there at Wuksachi lodge at 7000' elevation is very pleasant around 72F, but on the 3rd floor you will absolutely need AC since your room will be >80 F. (4) We signed up for the Wolverton BBQ and storyteller... the food was just fine out on the deck at Wolverton but the storyteller never showed up!

Room Tip: Superior rooms have AC but it would still be wise to request a lower level room to beat the heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. I am so sorry to hear that your recent visit was disappointing when it came to the cleanliness. I assure that is not typical of the operation and will review your feedback with the housekeeping department and follow up with the associate that cleaned your room. The lodge is centrally located within the park and it is a five mile drive to Giant Forest area. In the late nineties all services were removed from the Giant Forest area to protect the Giant Sequoias and their shallow root system. The National Park service identified the Wuksachi Lodge area I am pleased to read that did enjoy the location, views and your wildlife interactions as well all your dining experiences. Please contact me directly to follow up on your billing adjustment. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tielt, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This place in the heart of sequoia national park is ideal to explore the whole park, you do not need to drive up the mountain in the morning and driving back dead tired at night. Hotel service is good, there is no A/C in the hotel but the temperatures did not go that high that it felt really uncomfortable.The food in the restaurant is good but price (considering the location I understand). Also because of the location wifi is at a minimum.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your excellent review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location , the room and your dining experience. The remoteness of the location combined with the minor road construction taking place is impacting our connectivity at the lodge and we apologize for the inconvenience. Please come visit us again. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We arrived from Los Angeles and were well received by friendly staff in the nicely decorated Lodge.Lounge,bar and restaurant looked how should be,contemporary modern with a nice ethic details.
The location is perfect and wildlife is running around freely.Read the bear instructions carefully.
When we entered the room it is rather basic and as we were travelling with our twin daughters of 10 they had a crappy sofa bed which covered the whole room more or less.
All in all a bit outdated ,rusty and in need of renovation.
The central building is as mentioned before nice,we had dinner in the restaurant which was below average and a nice bar time afterwards with a dedicated professional barman making great cocktails.
Will we come back;yes the location wins over the state of the rooms and there is nothing else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the staff and that you were well received by the team and the appearance of the main lodge. It looks like you enjoyed your bar experience, but there may have been some room for improvement in your dining room. I apologize for any gaps in service or product that you have experienced, please feel free to contact me if are willing to clarify. I do agree that the lodging rooms are in need of some upgrades and we looking forward to working on our first stage of enhancements in the coming year. We hope that you will be able to experience some of those upgrades on your next visit and we are happy to read you will be staying with us again in the near future. Thank you for sharing your feedback. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I am surprised others haven't rated this better. We stayed here last November and enjoyed it. Yes, the prices were high. We did enjoy off season prices (maybe this helped? not sure about regular prices). It is all about location! That is what you are paying for. There aren't options if you want to stay close the the attractions and make the most of your time. Not having to drive in/out every day allows you a LOT of extra time to enjoy the forest. Getting up there not only takes a while, but those twisty mountain switchbacks full of wildlife are not fun in the dark so common sense says you leave to get down by dusk. That really shortens your day. We only had two days, so spending the night was worth the higher cost than what we might have found outside the park.

The rooms are older but clean and comfortable enough. Looks like you'd expect in a National Park... I like that. We visited this area to see a beautiful forest. The bathroom was clean and we got a good nights sleep for an early start the next day. We even had a good meal for dinner at the lodge (which is a very neat looking building). If you're careful about what you order, it is reasonably priced. Large portions. (We both ate apetizers for our meal- huge quesadilla!).

November ended up being a great time for us. We enjoyed cool weather, low crowds and woke up to a pretty snow dusting! Absolutely beautiful forest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and helpful hints. The lodge is centrally located in the park and it does allow you to experience the park at all times of day and limits your driving time, so that a traveler can relax. One of the best experiences is taking in the beauty of the night sky where there is limited lights. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the place was clean. Please come back and join us again. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawndale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We've stayed at Wuksachi twice so far and each time we've had a wonderful stay, minor issues aside. We whole-heartedly recommend Wuksachi Lodge to any visitor who prefer experience nature in comfort. Friendly and helpful staff. Location can't be beat. Wildlife around the lodge grounds is always a treat.

Room Tip: The corner premium rooms are worth thew extra room and additional views of the surrounding forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for the great recommendation and being one of our returned guests. I am happy to read that the staff was friendly and helpful. The location and wildlife are pretty spectacular. We are open year round and the winter provides a breathtaking experience as well. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to your next visit. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This lodge is in a beautiful location with in close proximity of the main tourist spots in the Sequoia National Park. The lodge itself is stunning with the dining room over-looking the forest. We had dinner and breakfast here and both were excellent in terms of quality and value for money. The rooms in the lodge were basic but nice and clean. The air conditioning/fan was not great but luckily the evening was not too warm so still had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for great review. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the entire experience from the food to lodging. Chef Graham and team will be pleased to read your feedback as I am. We do apologize that there is no Air conditioning at the lodge. Wuksachi does not experience many days of heat at 7000 ft but do and hope that down the line we will be able to accommodate the request. Please come visit us again, and as a reminder we are open year-round. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.