We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lodge how a lodge should be!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A lodge how a lodge should be!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We arrived from Los Angeles and were well received by friendly staff in the nicely decorated Lodge.Lounge,bar and restaurant looked how should be,contemporary modern with a nice ethic details.
The location is perfect and wildlife is running around freely.Read the bear instructions carefully.
When we entered the room it is rather basic and as we were travelling with our twin daughters of 10 they had a crappy sofa bed which covered the whole room more or less.
All in all a bit outdated ,rusty and in need of renovation.
The central building is as mentioned before nice,we had dinner in the restaurant which was below average and a nice bar time afterwards with a dedicated professional barman making great cocktails.
Will we come back;yes the location wins over the state of the rooms and there is nothing else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the staff and that you were well received by the team and the appearance of the main lodge. It looks like you enjoyed your bar experience, but there may have been some room for improvement in your dining room. I apologize for any gaps in service or product that you have experienced, please feel free to contact me if are willing to clarify. I do agree that the lodging rooms are in need of some upgrades and we looking forward to working on our first stage of enhancements in the coming year. We hope that you will be able to experience some of those upgrades on your next visit and we are happy to read you will be staying with us again in the near future. Thank you for sharing your feedback. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    456
    239
    91
    32
See reviews for
370
458
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I am surprised others haven't rated this better. We stayed here last November and enjoyed it. Yes, the prices were high. We did enjoy off season prices (maybe this helped? not sure about regular prices). It is all about location! That is what you are paying for. There aren't options if you want to stay close the the attractions and make the most of your time. Not having to drive in/out every day allows you a LOT of extra time to enjoy the forest. Getting up there not only takes a while, but those twisty mountain switchbacks full of wildlife are not fun in the dark so common sense says you leave to get down by dusk. That really shortens your day. We only had two days, so spending the night was worth the higher cost than what we might have found outside the park.

The rooms are older but clean and comfortable enough. Looks like you'd expect in a National Park... I like that. We visited this area to see a beautiful forest. The bathroom was clean and we got a good nights sleep for an early start the next day. We even had a good meal for dinner at the lodge (which is a very neat looking building). If you're careful about what you order, it is reasonably priced. Large portions. (We both ate apetizers for our meal- huge quesadilla!).

November ended up being a great time for us. We enjoyed cool weather, low crowds and woke up to a pretty snow dusting! Absolutely beautiful forest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and helpful hints. The lodge is centrally located in the park and it does allow you to experience the park at all times of day and limits your driving time, so that a traveler can relax. One of the best experiences is taking in the beauty of the night sky where there is limited lights. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the place was clean. Please come back and join us again. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawndale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We've stayed at Wuksachi twice so far and each time we've had a wonderful stay, minor issues aside. We whole-heartedly recommend Wuksachi Lodge to any visitor who prefer experience nature in comfort. Friendly and helpful staff. Location can't be beat. Wildlife around the lodge grounds is always a treat.

Room Tip: The corner premium rooms are worth thew extra room and additional views of the surrounding forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for the great recommendation and being one of our returned guests. I am happy to read that the staff was friendly and helpful. The location and wildlife are pretty spectacular. We are open year round and the winter provides a breathtaking experience as well. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to your next visit. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This lodge is in a beautiful location with in close proximity of the main tourist spots in the Sequoia National Park. The lodge itself is stunning with the dining room over-looking the forest. We had dinner and breakfast here and both were excellent in terms of quality and value for money. The rooms in the lodge were basic but nice and clean. The air conditioning/fan was not great but luckily the evening was not too warm so still had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for great review. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the entire experience from the food to lodging. Chef Graham and team will be pleased to read your feedback as I am. We do apologize that there is no Air conditioning at the lodge. Wuksachi does not experience many days of heat at 7000 ft but do and hope that down the line we will be able to accommodate the request. Please come visit us again, and as a reminder we are open year-round. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Take advantage of the restaurant and the programs they offer such as Stargazing. You'll be close to some great hiking. Beware that bears could be on the lodge property at any time. There were fans in our room window, no A/C. The wifi was so slow that it was really unusable during our entire stay...took 10 minutes to load a google search page! The room was basic but very clean and the bathroom was clean.

Room Tip: Upper floors are warmer but quieter, and the rear rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank for sharing your experience. I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the wildlife and participate in some programs. I apologize that there were challenges with the WIFI. We have been experiencing some challenges as a result of the road construction in the park. While it is minor construction it has impact our connectivity. Thanks for the recommendation on the restaurant. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from the Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Charming and tasteful Lodge in Sequoia National Park. We had a beautiful room. The restaurant is good with excellent service. Only issue we experienced : poor WiFi . Close to all main attractions in the park. A must stay for all looking for comfort in this beautiful National Park

Room Tip: We had room 312, and we loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for kind review! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. It is always great to read that the service was excellent and the food was good. I am glad you felt the lodge was charming and tasteful. Please come visit us again soon! All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was the only place we found to stay to we could see great trees and drive the General's Highway. I loved the lodge feel and after all the warnings about bears, we actually saw one on our way into the lodge!!

The room was big, the bed was comfy. Easy access to drive the scenic route one day, and we did the big trees the next day. We loved our dinner - we went early, got a window view. The service was superb, our waitress, Jen, was fun. We had cocktails, I had a "Whiskey Clover" which was refreshing. Great wine selection. My husband had the trout, which he liked and I had the bolognese, which was fine. We saved room for mexican and Irish coffees and the chocolate mousse torte. We had been hiking and we just had to walk to our rooms - it was a fun night.

You really have to eat here - there's no place else. The brunch is, well, brunch. Nothing spectacular, but ok. The dinner was a fun tasty experience - one of the best on our trip!

We had reservations and were seated promptly - even though it was a busy night, we weren't rushed and the waiters were keeping up with the flow.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for Great Review! I am glad to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with Jen and that you loved dinner! Chef Jeff and team have been doing a great job with the new menu they recently rolled out and they will be so happy to read your comments. Please join us again. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.