We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and tasteful Lodge, best location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
from the Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Charming and tasteful Lodge, best location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Charming and tasteful Lodge in Sequoia National Park. We had a beautiful room. The restaurant is good with excellent service. Only issue we experienced : poor WiFi . Close to all main attractions in the park. A must stay for all looking for comfort in this beautiful National Park

Room Tip: We had room 312, and we loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for kind review! We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. It is always great to read that the service was excellent and the food was good. I am glad you felt the lodge was charming and tasteful. Please come visit us again soon! All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    507
    257
    98
    34
See reviews for
398
535
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was the only place we found to stay to we could see great trees and drive the General's Highway. I loved the lodge feel and after all the warnings about bears, we actually saw one on our way into the lodge!!

The room was big, the bed was comfy. Easy access to drive the scenic route one day, and we did the big trees the next day. We loved our dinner - we went early, got a window view. The service was superb, our waitress, Jen, was fun. We had cocktails, I had a "Whiskey Clover" which was refreshing. Great wine selection. My husband had the trout, which he liked and I had the bolognese, which was fine. We saved room for mexican and Irish coffees and the chocolate mousse torte. We had been hiking and we just had to walk to our rooms - it was a fun night.

You really have to eat here - there's no place else. The brunch is, well, brunch. Nothing spectacular, but ok. The dinner was a fun tasty experience - one of the best on our trip!

We had reservations and were seated promptly - even though it was a busy night, we weren't rushed and the waiters were keeping up with the flow.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for Great Review! I am glad to read that you enjoyed your dining experience with Jen and that you loved dinner! Chef Jeff and team have been doing a great job with the new menu they recently rolled out and they will be so happy to read your comments. Please join us again. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Have just moved on after a couple of nights at Wuksachi with our 17 and 15 year old children. We thought Wuksachi was an excellent base to explore from. The rooms are large and whilst not luxurious are very comfortable and the setting for the lodge is beautiful. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner there and all were very good and fairly priced (breakfast particularly good value) but I was glad I followed previous reviewers advice to book dinner ahead of time as otherwise we would not have got to eat at a sensible time. Staff all very nice. The lodge is not cheap but we thought it was worth the money for the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for the great recommendation. Wuksachi is located centrally within the park and only 5 miles from most iconic destinations. The lodge make a great home base for experiencing the parks. We are pleased to read that you that you enjoyed the food and your overall experience. I hope you will join us again in the near future. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was very dissapointed from the check in to the room. This is an expensive place and not worth the money. Just spend the day there and stay somewhere else. I got there about 4:45 to check in and was told right away that the room was not available. So I asked when check in was and they replied 4:00 and after. So basically whenever they get your room ready. I noticed several people waiting. I had reseverd and already paid for a double bed room because there was three of us. About 25 minutes later they came and said my room was ready. So drove up to the lodge and noticed right away that there was fans in the windows to the rooms. I am a hot natured person and this was not good for me. Got to the room and it was a king with a pull out bed. I called the front desk and they advised me they had overbooked and this was what I was getting even though I reserved it two months in advance and paid for it that same time. The room was nice and clean but my daughter had to sleep on a very uncomfortable fold out couch that creeked every time she moved. Also there was a small window unit in the adjoining room where the fold out was but didn't cool the room off. I would have never paid that much money for that type of service. Very dissappointed. The wifi never worked either.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We are sincerely sorry that your trip was not up to expectations and that the room you originally booked was not what you received. Regarding the check in time we were having challenges with our linen company impacting the timing of ready rooms, however we have resolved the issue by switching linen companies of recent date. These are not typical issues of the property and I am sorry it impacted your stay. Thank you for feedback. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Wonderful spot nestled in the forest. Friendly staff, good food & awesome views.
The rooms are comfortable and quiet. No A/C needed. The stars are amazing. This is a place to get away. No cell service & only slow wifi. The Park Rangers are awesome!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for the nice review; we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your trip . We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you for staying with us! All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Huge rooms, comfortable beds and great amenities. The perfect way to travel with all our children & grandchildren. The dining room staff was very attentive for our family evening meals. It was an unexpected pleasure to find plenty of carts in the parking area to assist in getting luggage to the room, which was different than most National Park Lodges we've stayed at around the country. Our young grandchildren were excited to see all the wildlife up close on the walks between our rooms and the main lodge - a daily treasure! The only thing we questioned was the use of vanilla & honey scented bath products provided in our room (they were wonderful). Is that really the best idea around wildlife?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing this great review with other travelers! We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay, had a great experience and that our staff was accommodating. We will reevaluate the soap option and determine our best fit. Thank again! All the best, Brandy Frederich Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

You stay here because there's no other lodging to choose. We arrived well after dark and, not knowing the property, we dragged our bags into the main building. We found out quickly that hotel guests stay in outbuildings to which we were given a map. That would have been great except that there's not one flipping light in the parking lot. Turns out that we dragged our bags through the garden. We finally arrived at our building and we're glad to know that we were only one level down from the entrance because there are NO ELEVATORS. So there we were kerflunking our way down the stairs feeling sorry for people staying near the stairs. We were looking forward to a lovely room. What we got was a room that looked a lot like my parents' clubroom from the 1960s. The ceiling in the bathroom was moldy and the toilet flushing mechanism had the same force and made the same noise as a 747 during liftoff. Fine. It was just for one night--one very overpriced night. Finally, there was breakfast. Poorly structured buffet, worse service, and very expensive for what was on offer. We were glad to load our bags and go. I would have rather driven further to have gotten a better hotel or even a comparable one at a lesser price.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We apologize that you had so much difficulty navigating the property with all your luggage. I see you stayed with us back in may, and wanted to communicate that since there is a bellman dedicated to assist guest to their rooms from 7am-10Pm. Additionally we have made improvements to the buffet for ease of use and some additional food items. Thank you for sharing your feedback. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.