We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reedsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Everyone we encountered was very nice and we had a great experience. The lobby area had obviously been updated, and was very pretty. Our room was in one of the buildings away from the lodge, but that worked out just fine for us. The room itself was nice, but not overdone. They do not have air conditioning, but had an overhead fan and window fan - we were just fine with that. Location was great for us traveling in Kings Canyon and Sequoia National Parks. Loved our visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your great comments! We are pleased to read you loved your visit. The common areas were recently refurbished as you commented. Glad you liked them! Thank you for choosing the Wuksachi Lodge and Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks as your travel destination. Please join us again soon. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    499
    256
    97
    33
See reviews for
396
525
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The favorite part of our trip was the tour in Giant Forest, and our guide was Paul. He was the best! We plan to come back next year for his tour to Kings Canyon. We liked the continental breakfast, and had a nice lunch at the Peaks, burgers and fried. Also went to the Wolverton
BBQ for the ribs and corn on the cob.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so beware the climbing to the third floor with your luggage.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. Sequoia is a special place and I am always happy to read when others connect the park as much as you have. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food at The Peaks and Wolverton BBQ and will joining us again next year. We look forward to your next visit. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spent two nights here in June, and it couldn't have been lovelier! The lodge is very convenient to Sequoia. The setting is appropriately rough-hewn, and the lobby sitting area boasts some rustic furniture and a beautiful hearth. The dining room has a grand view of the trees through 30-foot windows. Rooms were basic but spacious, clean and comfortable. We had breakfast and dinner in the dining room, and were quite impressed by the fresh, inventive menu (try the honey lavender ice cream!) and solidly good food. Service was a bit uneven when things got busy, but the servers were apologetic and tried to stay positive under pressure, which was appreciated. Of note: pathway lighting is subtle--I was very glad to have my pocket flashlight at night. A good stay--I would return!

Room Tip: Our second-floor room was easily accessed from the entrance, and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for the great review! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the location, lodging and the food. Chef Graham and the culinary team will be pleased with your comment regarding the food and how impressed you were by the fresh, inventive menu. We look forward to your next visit! All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a terrible experience at the front desk, the front desk agents were helpful and as professional as possible considering they were constantly being barked at by, who they later informed me was their manager, Kim Day, She was rude and condescending and refused to answer their questions. It was very busy at the time and we had requested an early check-in (noon) however we were not allowed in our room until well after 6:30 (standard check-in was at 4.) When we asked to speak to a manager, Steven (who was very professional and nice) went into the back office and got Kim, she came out, sighed deeply, visibly annoyed, did not even look up as we explained our frustration and did very little to help us. She blamed the laundry company, did not apologize, yelled at the bellman from across the lobby telling him he "worked too slowly," and then went back into her office. Luckily Steven gave us a breakfast voucher but Kim ruined the experience and excitement of check in for us. I can't believe someone like this is allowed to work in the hospitality industry. The rooms were nice if basic and not properly cleaned or inspected, the restaurant servers were polite and efficient, considering they were poorly trained and understaffed, the park was totally gorgeous. The property has such amazing potential but it is very clear that the managment has no idea how to hire and train professional staff and maintain an organized professional buisness.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your visit. We are very disappointed to see that your visit was anything less than perfect. I would like to apologize for your experience at the desk, lodging rooms and restaurant. This is not typical of the operation and we look into the matter. I would like to review your stay if you have a moment, please contact me directly 559-565-4070. Kind Regards, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Tips: do not bring your luggage to the front desk... the rooms are in separate buildings. There's no A/C (only heaters). We opened the windows in our room. Please make sure to make restaurant reservations way ahead of time. There's no other closer restaurants. The convenient store and sandwich place is not open at night. The convenient store had practically everything we needed (even Desitin). In addition, there's showers for the campers and a post office too.

The food was great! The variety of the menu was also a nice surprise if you have any diet restrictions. The lavender ice cream and the red velvet cake was delicious. My favorites were the venison and the ribs. The staff was very pleasant. Be realistic at diner time, it gets very busy. The staff cannot accommodate everyone at the same time. There's a $10 fee if you bring your own bottle of wine (it's actually cheaper to pay the fee).

The room was clean and nice. Remember that this is NOT the Ritz. Some people were expecting a luxurious room... come on! This is in the middle of the park. Another good thing was the location. The main park attractions are nearby. Beware, but enjoy watching the wildlife at the back of the lodge. Bring your binoculars and watch the stars too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and all the helpful tips. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the Lodgepole Market, Wuksachi Lodge and the Peaks Restaurant. Chef Graham and his team will be pleased to read that you were happy with the menu variety, quality of food and that your food was great. I am a fan of the lavender ice cream as well! We hope you will join us again in the near future. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assitant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel we were advised that dinner reservations were required and that we should check on availability immediately. Since we were willing to be seated right away, we filled a cancelled reservation. The dining room was lovely-with close up views of the mountains and woods. Two of us shared 1) a 3 course meal of steak, Caesar salad, and cobbler; and 2) lamb shank, risotto and broccoli rabe. Everything was delicious except for the "roasted potatoes" that seemed to be baked potatoes sliced in four parts. The lamb shank and risotto were especially wonderful. Dinner for two with one glass of wine, one tea and tip was $87, which didn't seem too bad for a national park meal.

Because we ate before going to our room, it was dark when we moved in. Despite the warnings and waivers about bear activity, there was very poor lighting in the parking lot and on walkways. We had some difficulty determining where to enter the middle building and were surprised to find that the entry was on the second floor, although our room was on the first floor. This wasn't a problem for us, but I think that it could be for some folks since there was no elevator. When we arrived in the room, we were dismayed by the condition/cleanliness, but felt that we had no option at 9:30 since we had been told that the lodge was full. The next morning I spoke to a manager who reduced the price by 75%.

The buildings were in a lovely location, and I would stay there again, despite the problems we encountered.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing the valuable feedback about your recent visit. Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment in your room, but I am glad to see that the manager assisted immediate when it was brought to their attention. I am pleased to read that you thought the food was delicious and you enjoyed the location. We look forward to your next visit, and thank you for giving us a second chance to provide you the experience you deserve. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yosemite
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband I recently spent a night at Wuksachi Lodge in Sequoia. It is in a beautiful setting with lovely landscaping and views. The staff is friendly and helpful. The reception area has a rustic atmosphere, with comfortable chairs, painted beams, and stonework. Although a fireplace in the public area would have added to the charm, there is a wood stove with a nice stonework wall. We had a "deluxe" room with a king bed. The room was spacious and clean, although the decor was very ordinary and could easily be improved with a nicer bedspread, better quality blanket and more attractive art work. The food in the restaurant was very good and the views beautiful. I highly recommend a window table. The sequoia trees in the park are beautiful. I highly recommend a drive to and a walk around Crescent Meadow.

Room Tip: We had a room on the bottom floor which does not have an elevator. If you are carrying suitcases, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am happy to read that the rooms were spacious and clean. It is always a pleasure to read that the staff was friendly and helpful and that our guest has enjoyed their stay. Thank you for staying with us and please join us again. We hope to have some upgrades in the near future. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.