We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Sequoia.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Sequoia.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here once before. I like the location, away from the congestion of Grant's Grove and convenient to the Sequoia's and Moro, Beetle and Sunset Rock, and the meadows. Plus, it is cooler where it is. My primary complaint here is loading and unloading. the bldgs. (3 of them) are located separately from the main "lodge", which houses the restaurant, front desk and a small gift shop. It is about a 300 yd walk thru shrubs and trees to the sleeping qtrs. The bldgs. are 3 stories and you come in on the "2nd" floor and the "1st" floor is upstairs and the "3rd" floor is down. There are no elevators, so plan accordingly. We were on a 2 week adventure including a conference, so we had lots of stuff. There is a service road that runs right beside the bldgs. where you go in, but it is not supposed to be for guests...although a few did do this. The parking area is separated into three sections, two (I think, may have been three) upper lots with the walk up between the bldgs., and a lower overflow lot. The problem here is if you are not in the lot in front of a particularly bldg., you have to haul stuff down to the walkway, to go back up to the one you are staying in. They do have luggage carts that end up sitting in the parking lot, or up in one of the bldgs. The trick here is that you have to leave someone with your cart and luggage as you shuttle it up or down if you are not on the "2nd" floor. I preferred to be on the top floor so you did not have to worry about leaving window open at nite or when you go out for the day since it is not at ground level. And lastly, you have to take everything food wise in to your room so bears do not get try to get in your car. And they are there. we saw 5 adjacent to lodge while eating dinner.
Although this may sound like I am complaining, I am really not...just be prepared for the setup. I really like the place and hope to return. It is very peaceful and relaxing, away from things.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased to read that really like the place and your experience was peaceful and relaxing! I am sorry to read that you hauled all your belongs to your room on your own, as we offer luggage assistance at the desk to make it easier to remove all items from your vehicle in bear county. The property is spread across the grounds to minimize the visual impact of the facilities amongst the natural settings. Thank you again, and we hope you will visit us again soon. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    439
    216
    86
    32
See reviews for
325
435
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for just 1 night as part of our 19 night road trip and we were really pleased with the whole experience. It wasn't the cheapest place to stay but we felt that we got value for our money. It was very clean and very comfortable. There was quite a walk from the car to the actual room and being as you are in Bear country you really do need to bring in all your luggage so that was an effort! We were on the top floor of the Sequoia Building in room 334.
We ate in the hotel restaurant and it was a lovely experience. The food and wine was really very good, the service was excellent. We had breakfast included and that too was very good, The location is brilliant, and you feel very secluded and away from the real world.
We would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your great review! I am pleased to review that you had a lovely experience in The Peaks restaurant and enjoyed your room. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your next experience. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed overnight at Wuksachi Lodge with our adult sons, and my mother. We were very comfortable, and were able to get a roll away bed for our extra person.
The restaurant is very good,and although prices seem high, it is well worth it to maximize your time in this spectacular gem by not having to drive to and fro, as we have in the past.
Don't miss it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful recommendation! We are pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay and the food in the restaurant. I am pleased to read that you joined us on more than one occasion. Please come visit us again soon! All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The main benefit of this hotel is the location in the middle of Sequoia National Park. It is in a beautiful setting, surrounded by mountains and trees. Unfortunately, as it is the only hotel for quite some distance, the management seem to have got a bit complacent, as the service was not impressive. Check-in was slow but efficient once we'd waited for over 20 minutes. The room was comfortable but not anything special. The rooms are all located in lodge buildings separate from the main building, and are quite a walk away (uphill) from reception and the restaurant etc. We had poor service in the bar and restaurant - the staff all seemed quite new and inexperienced and really quite clueless. At breakfast there was no fruit available at all, and the waitress did not seem to know what to do to rectify this. There were lots of things missing e.g. bowls, cutlery, jam, butter.... we had to ask for so many things, and it was hit and miss whether they were eventually provided or not. The dinner menu was limited and the service patchy. The Wi-Fi was almost non-existent. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, which was part of a Californian road trip, as the setting was great and we could easily get around the main sights of the Giant Forest etc, It was a reasonable hotel but it was the worst one we stayed in during our 2 week holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your visit. We are very disappointed to see that your visit was anything less than perfect. We would like to apologize for the gaps in service you experienced during your stay and agree that the staff is a little green and more direction is needed. I have shared your comments with the Hotel and Food and Beverage departments so that we may look more closely into these matters. We hope that will give us a second chance to provide you the service that all of our guest deserve. If you would like to speak with me directly please call the lodge at 559-565-4070. All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an unobtrusive, beautiful place to stay. The setting is stunning and the entire staff are very efficient. The rooms are quiet and the views pleasing. The surrounding paths and walkways are beautiful places to stroll and sit. The many paths are wheelchair accessible. The lodge menu is well planned and the food is tasty, served by warm and very efficient waiters.

Room Tip: Get outside!!! All the rooms are great, but hit the outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are delighted to see that you had a fabulous stay! It is always great to read that the staff, location and tasty food were the right combination to ones vacation. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Please join us again for your next adventure! All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of my honeymoon. The room was expensive and unimpressive. Not worth the money compared to other hotels in the area and the service was terrible. Despite advertising hot water and good wifi, we had neither for most of our two night stay. Room service we rude to us when we called them to try and get it all fixed. We went to check out the hotel restaurant on our first night and waited an hour to get bread and water, and then another half hour for our starter. The waiter wasn't helpful or pleasant, spending most of the night ignoring us, and the food was ok but nothing special. Also, I have terrible allergies and requested no goose down/natural bedding. And of course the room was full of goose down bedding when we got there. Overall, I was very disappointed and would recommend avoiding this hotel if possible.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback about your recent visit. I want to apologize for the presentation of your room and not providing you with an exceptional product. We strive to provide all our guest the experience and service they deserve and unfortunately we did not deliver in several areas during your stay. If you have a few moments, please contact me at 559-565-4070. Kind Regards, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Palmdale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our 2-night stay was wonderful. The lodging was great for a couple with a well-appointed bath. The refrigerator was useful for snacks and beverages. The restaurant has fantastic food and the morning buffet was a great way to start the day. It was nice to be able to walk from the lodging to the restaurant on a lighted and paved path. The location in the park was outstanding, with great views from the restaurant. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful recommendation of Wuksachi Lodge and The Peaks restaurant. I am please to read your enjoyed the stroll between the facilities. I hope you were able to experience the amazing night sky and wildlife as you walked the grounds. We look forward to your next visit! All the best, Brandy Frederich, Assistant General Manager, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.