We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dorset
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“What a location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed one night in this Lodge. The rooms were spacious, clean and the staff were all very attentive. We had a wonderful evening meal in the restaurant (book early!!) and a decent buffet style breakfast. Unfortunately we both found the bed was too hard and kept waking up all night as we were uncomfortable, and there was no hot water by 8am for a wash or shower. However, it is set in beautiful grounds and ideal for spending time in the Park.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    500
    256
    97
    33
See reviews for
396
525
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calif
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Avoid the crowds travel in the spring weather was great dusting of snow followed by 75degree days Lodge is worth the extra expense. Peaceful wth wildlife animals that is they roll up the sidewalks at 9:00 food was exceptional

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a very nice lodge with a fantastic location. All of the staff are very friendly. But do be prepared. Other than the lodge restaurant and a nearby market, there are no other dining options. The rooms do have a small refrigerator so you can stock up on beverages and snacks. A coffee maker is provided, but no microwave ovens in the room. The lodge restaurant is nice. The only issue is the restaurant service. The food is good and all of the servers are very friendly, but they do not quite have it together. On both dining experiences we had to ask for water, bread, and forgotten drink orders. And be sure to make reservations for dinner. With limited dining options, the restaurant fills up.
I would suggest upgrading to a superior room. They are spacious, comfortable and offer nice views. There are no elevators so if stairs are an issue be sure to ask for a ground floor.
Overall, I would recommend this lodge. The location and friendly staff make for an enjoyable visit to the park. We plan to return!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room. If stairs are an issue, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

2 night stay in late April, still some snow. This hotel is high up in the mountains and has a really beautiful setup. There's nothing else around and only a fridge, no microwave, so unless you are prepared you will have to eat at the restaurant or drive back down the hill to get food.

Pros
- Great location high up in the mountains
- Lodge fits the feel of the area
- Friendly CheckIn team
- Restaurant food was really nice
- Rooms were quiet and while basic, they were comfortable.

Cons
- Access to wifi is almost nonexistent and slow

- Room was not ready for our friends and when it was, had wrong bedding configuration. Staff eventually fixed this, but it involved us having to walk back and forth to get it sorted out, even though we were told to wait in the other room. Seemed unorganized.

- Terrain made it a little difficult getting luggage into our rooms from the car. Even with the trolleys.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The is the closest lodge to the giant forest and the General Sherman tree. It has a nice lodge with a small bar and a nice restaurant, a complete menu of nicely appointed choices. The house "Wuksachi" salad was large had at least a cup of walnuts and cranberries in it. Breakfast is a full buffet for $13 that was average. A continental option is available. The staff were friendly and attentive. Many of the tables face the forest. My wife and I are both a little limited in our mobility and the the effort required to push the bags up the hill from the parking lot to the Sequoia building was a bit more than I wanted. Next time I think I'll ask for delivery. A few golf carts might be a bit helpful to the elderly.

The difference between the standard and the deluxe is not much. They all come with refrigerators, and flat screens.

Room Tip: There are three buildings Stewart is close to parking, Silliman next and Sequoia farthest. Some room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira, Spain
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Wow what a location we kept driving higher and higher the lodge itself is picture perfect
The accomadation is more like a hostel really corridors of rooms pretty basic but the setting makes up for if,. The snow was amazing and we couldn't believe how high we were until we saw the road down sequoia is fantastic

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We always enjoy our stay here. The motel-style rooms are the best available in Sequoia National Park, and our tent camping days are behind us. It was cold during our visit and the room's heater worked great. If stairs are a problem for you, note that there are no elevators, although assistance with luggage can be requested. Also, it is a short uphill walk from the parking areas to the rooms. The free wifi works only in the Lodge's lobby, a separate building.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.