We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in the Park with a good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best food in the Park with a good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The is the closest lodge to the giant forest and the General Sherman tree. It has a nice lodge with a small bar and a nice restaurant, a complete menu of nicely appointed choices. The house "Wuksachi" salad was large had at least a cup of walnuts and cranberries in it. Breakfast is a full buffet for $13 that was average. A continental option is available. The staff were friendly and attentive. Many of the tables face the forest. My wife and I are both a little limited in our mobility and the the effort required to push the bags up the hill from the parking lot to the Sequoia building was a bit more than I wanted. Next time I think I'll ask for delivery. A few golf carts might be a bit helpful to the elderly.

The difference between the standard and the deluxe is not much. They all come with refrigerators, and flat screens.

Room Tip: There are three buildings Stewart is close to parking, Silliman next and Sequoia farthest. Some room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    550
    268
    101
    37
See reviews for
434
578
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moraira, Spain
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Wow what a location we kept driving higher and higher the lodge itself is picture perfect
The accomadation is more like a hostel really corridors of rooms pretty basic but the setting makes up for if,. The snow was amazing and we couldn't believe how high we were until we saw the road down sequoia is fantastic

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We always enjoy our stay here. The motel-style rooms are the best available in Sequoia National Park, and our tent camping days are behind us. It was cold during our visit and the room's heater worked great. If stairs are a problem for you, note that there are no elevators, although assistance with luggage can be requested. Also, it is a short uphill walk from the parking areas to the rooms. The free wifi works only in the Lodge's lobby, a separate building.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The lodge is an average motel complex but in a good location from many of the parks attractions. The rooms were just your average motel room with a view of the parking lot. The service was good and the dinning room food was above average. Hey we didn't get charged for wine corkage! Did have to make dinner reservation as there are not any other places to eat close by.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Our room was quite nice. I think it was a "superior" room. It had a bedroom and a separate sitting area with a sofa, chair, TV and refrigerator. The location is convenient to both Sequoia and Kings Canyon. As a previous review mentioned it is quite a hike from the parking area to the rooms.

Our room was not ready until almost 5pm and the person at the front desk was quite rude. Not only was there no apology for the inconvenience and delay he actually looked at me like I was asking for some special favor by expecting our room to be ready at the promised 4pm. I don't think he was front desk staff--he was dressed in a different shirt from the other two people working the desk. I think he may have been a manager trying to help since it was a little busy. He should stay away from the front desk since his guest service skills are not something to be proud of. Before he came, Steve--who is front desk staff--had been very helpful, friendly and rightfully concerned over the room hold up.

It is still early in the season and they seem unable to keep up with the reservations. It will be even more chaotic when it's busier. That's a shame because the Lodge really is lovely. If the person assisting at the front desk is an example of their management it will be difficult to keep good staff.

Room Tip: The superior rooms really are quite nice--plenty of room for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Recently stayed here, family of 5, children aged 12, 10 and 8. We had an extended family suite with two doubles and a fold out sofa. This hotel is the best place/only place in the park to stay as you really don't want to do the extremely winding road up and down the mountain any more than you have to. Your brakes will thank you. This was a lovely quiet place to stay amongst the trees but when there's no competition, service takes a nose dive. This place has the only restaurant and if staff tell you there's no need to book, insist on a booking. We were told only 4 bookings are made and the rest were walk ins. No other information was provided as in "you will have to fit in with us if you don't book". We insisted on a booking but took them at their word the second night. We arrived at 5.50pm and were told next booking was 7.45. We explained what had happened the night before and the host said to come back at 7. We did this, still had to wait 15 mins to be seated then we were left alone until 7.45 when someone took our order so the restaurant still managed to get us into their time slot. There wasn't enough wait staff either so make sure you have a couple of hours for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We selected the Wuksachi Lodge for the location in Sequioa National Park. We were traveling with parents (75 yr old). There was no mention on any website of the fiasco required to get to the rooms. There is quite a walk on incline to get to the rooms and ramp to get to the building. Yes it is wheelchair friendly but all at a fairly steep incline.
Very disappointed. Not informed a bell cap could be sent to unload luggage. Bears in area so you could not leave any food products in vehicles.
Rooms were spacious but basic. Beds & pillows were not comfortable. TV reception was static at best.
Dining in restaurant, view was beautiful, menu had a nice selection and pricing was reasonable for the area. The server was sweet but not very good. Drinks were bone dry while waiting for food and we had to ask multiple times for everything. Maybe it is early in the season and they will get stronger in the service area...maybe.
I understand most people visiting the parks are hikers and in good shape. This is a step up from camping but with a big price tag. If you are traveling with older folks, you might want to call hotels and ask a lot of questions.
The manager of the hotel was responsive to our complaints. He offered to move us to the Grants Grove cabins in efforts to assist but it was late and we were already in our room. Grants grove was quite a distance to drive. He reduced our rate and provided vouchers for the breakfast buffet (which was good and reasonably priced at $12.95). Although we are grateful for the Managers attempts to remedy, we would not recommend the lodge. The only thing it really has going for it is the LOCATION. Sorry to say, the parks department has a lot of room for improvement in the accommodation business. They should stick to taking care of the trees and let the private industry handle visitors. TOO BAD we were thinking this would be the highlight of the trip...they could take some lessons from Oakhurst Best Western Gateway (on our visit to Yosemite).

Room Tip: ask for main level (no elevator). The rooms are 200's (1st floor is like basement).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience, Lori. The comfort and convenience of our guests is always our primary concern. We are sorry you encountered some challenges but are please to read that our guest services team worked hard to accommodate your group and make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.