We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little formal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a little formal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We came here from John Muir Lodge which was great...felt like family. When we checked in here it seemed very stuffy and formal. I had a difficult time with the front desk woman's accent and she really didn't introduce herself. Later, there was a man at the desk and it was very formal and almost hushed tones. WHAT?
The room was very nice but there was no table for eating breakfast or snacks. Also, there was no communal outside spot to hang. The lodge was okay but a bit dark.
I think the biggest complaint was that the rooms are so far away from the parking lot! In the snow, the steps weren't cleared. It seemed a little trecherous.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    439
    216
    87
    32
See reviews for
329
436
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were here in March and the rooms were clean and walking distance from the restaurant.Nothing fancy which was perfect. The staff and service were very nice.
This a lodge and cabins, so it is rustic,but worked just fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

If you are staying in the park (Sequoia NP) than it is a nice place. From here you can head to
Kings Canyon or the southern end of Sequoia for the day. the restaurant will pack you a box lunch for the day, but order the day before. It is a nice size - you will not be hungry. Breakfast is nothing special, it is like any other buffet. Dinner at the lodges restaurant is a hit or miss.The first night was fantastic, the next disappointing flavors, and the third was ok. But service is SLOW, make sure you have good company to talk to. We stayed in a superior room and that was very nice, if you can afford it-go for it. The views are great because you get a corner room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

First visit to Sequoia park. We stayed just one night in spring. Snow on the ground and spring in the air. The whole place had a rustic charm, the wife loved the fireplaces. It was so romantic and beautiful. I would highly recommend the lodge. The food in the restaurant was also excellent and the staff attentive and courteous.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We rely on our guests to share the experience they had while visiting the National Park and staying at our property. While we are always interesting in responding to guests who we failed to satisfy in one way or another, we are equally pleased to respond to our guests who enjoyed their stay and took the time to share that with TripAdvisor. Thank you for taking that time - we truly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights visiting the park. The location is right next to the major points of interest and beautiful as such. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped. The restaurant is below standard. Our burgers were definitely the worst we ever had on our tour, dry , not cooked to order. And what we saw on the tables next to us was not encouraging either. Serving breakfast only till 9.30 is not great. So it's definitely the place to stay but worth bringing your own food.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Maybe we were just lucky, but our room seemed recently updated (we were in the sequoia building top level), beds were comfortable and room was clean (we are very particular about cleanliness and our room met our standards) - We were a party of 5 (3 kids - 7/11/14) and had the 2 queen room with sitting area that included a pullout couch bed - all were comfortable - on arrival ~5pm called for sheets for the sleeper and they were delivered quickly - same for an extra towel we called for around 9pm .- was delivered quickly - We requested a reservation for dinner while checking in and were able to dine at 5:45 pm. Gave us time to go put our stuff in the room and walk back for dining. - We thought the food was excellent - good choices and reasonable cost considering the location $$- and had good service - We only stayed one night as we planned on seeing several sites in Sequoia (Moro Rock, Giant Forest Museum, General Sherman tree) before continuing on the Generals Highway to Kings Canyon and then on to Yosemite - I pre-ordered lunches from the hotel to take with us and the lunches were good - If you are going to go toward Kings Canyon though, I would recommend you just by your lunch their as they have a nice fully stocked camp store with sandwiches and a restaurant near the General Grant tree area. Also, I didn't leave my card on the door, I walked to the lodge the night prior to give it to the front desk as I wanted to make sure someone got it. Based on our experience, I'd definitely recommend this hotel as not only is the location the best option for visiting the park- the accomodations and service were also good. - also, one last reminder - no elevator so you do have to get your luggage up stairs to your room - they have carts to get you to the building from the parking lot, but once at the building you will have to carry luggage to your room - wasn't an issue for us, but if you have mobility issues, I can see it would be difficult.

Room Tip: Our room in Sequoia building seemed recently refurbished (see photos attached) Not sure about the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Having stayed in multiple National Parks, we have a good feel for expectations - with few exceptions, luxury is not an option and families are and should be a target traveler with many people from around the world. Our National Parks never disappoint - however this property left me feeling embarrassed that world travelers experience this lack of quality when visiting such a beautiful park. That said, based on our visiting other options in this park, all left a lot to be desired. The first room we had was just dirty - carpet, bedspread with holes in it, dirty blanket. The manager was very nice in moving us - this room was nicer, however the bedspread had holes in the underneath as the other room did - clearly they are way past needing replacement. The restaurant is the best option in the park, but the food is mediocre and you should plan on waiting 1+ hours for your food. I ordered a 'boxed lunch' for taking on a picnic - leaving my order on my door well before the 9:00 time stated, and no one picked up my order so no picnic. When checking out, my bill was all screwed up with incorrect room rates. The best part of this 'lodge' is that it is inside the park.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Greetings 1wanaka, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you are such an avid fan of National Parks and you took the time to visit ours as well stating that this park is beautiful which indeed it is. However we are sorry that you arrived to such dirty rooms. This is in no way how we want to represent ourselves or the park. Your feedback has been sent to the proper department heads to ensure this does not happen again. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that we can have you once again as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.