We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could not have been better -- simply superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
737 helpful votes 737 helpful votes
“could not have been better -- simply superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

check-in was quick and pleasant. We booked the cheapest standard room (the rate was $110), but were upgraded to one of the best rooms (we skipped over a grade and ended up in a corner suite in the Seqoia building). The room (#310) was large and well decorated. It had two queen beds, pleasant wall art, a large leather chair, and a standing lamp. There was also a separate seating area with a table and chairs, a couch, a fridge, coffee maker, and a TV. The bathroom was good size. The building is new and well maintained. One of the mornings we saw a whole group of deer (more than 9) munching right outside our window. The other morning they were having breakfast right near the lodge.
We had a wonderful experience, and were very happy with the room and service. We cannot wait to return (we saw two bears! not to mention the magnificent sequoias). This lodge is very convenient to most Sequoia NP sights.

  • Liked — location, large clean room, comfortable beds
  • Disliked — no high speed internet in room (though this could be viewed as a positive :))
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    570
    275
    103
    38
See reviews for
459
599
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suresnes, France
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
675 helpful votes 675 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

Our party of 5 adults stayed here for one night.
As for all accomodations in National Parks, I thought the value for money would be bad, with Xanterra trying to make the most of the tourists and vacationners trapped here. This is not the case. First of all, Xanterra is not in charge any more of Wuksachi, and the overall value for money is somewhat better that in comparable places, especially in the perspective that this is the only hotel in the Park.
So cheap, it is not. But the value is at least decent.
Our DL room was really large, with plenty of space for sitting around. the decoration is a little bit gloomy, with those carpets that you only find in America, which leave you questioning the cleanliness. Well, it is clean.
Other reviewers are right about the lack of A/C. An issue only during the day, when you are out. It just feels hot when you step in the room.
Food is OK, both for dinner and breakfast, but I might have got tired of it after 2 nights here !
The major drawback is having to drag your luggage uphill. That is not convenient.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

We arrived at this hotel during a snowstorm. There was 8-10 feet of snow on the ground and the hotel staff had dug walkways through the snow from the parking lot to the hotel lobby. February was a great month to go to Sequoia Forest because when the sky is clear and blue every tree is outlined in white and it is a sight you will never forget.

For a cheap price the hotel will supply snowshoes, skies, and whatever else you need.

The staff live at the hotel area in what they call "Wuksachi Village". This is because it takes over an hour of driving 7000 feet up the mountain to get to this lodge and another hour to get back to the nearest town. It is truly the only hotel in Sequoia Forest National Park. With a monopoly like this you would think it would take liberties with it's customer service, but this is simply not true, in fact it is an amazing experience to stay here in the winter. There is a giant fire place in the giant dining room, with giant windows overlooking a giant forest. In the lobby there is a wood stove that the hotel front desk staff must keep going. The staff are unbelievably friendly. The food is delightful, all though it may take a while to reach your table, it is worth the wait. The rooms are clean, quiet, hospitable and provide beautiful views of the forest, no matter what floor you are on.

Take a moment at night to look at the stars. They are unbelievable.

Reasonably priced, staffed cheerfully, all amenities. Worth the trouble to drive up a mountain.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food took some time to come once order was in.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We stayed 2 days and if you aren't into camping, this is the only other option you will have. The road in from Fresno is about 1.5 hour drive without traffic with a good 50 min. of it being pretty curvy, so there is no way you will want to go back and forth from outside the park. Hotel is clean and basic, overpriced, but you are paying for the convenience of the location, not the facility itself. Older staff were very accommodating, younger staff were a not so helpful. Food at dinner was pricey but good if it were more moderately priced. Breakfast was a buffet that had few changes daily and was okay, but tired of it by the 2nd morning. Pastries not great and steam table foods like pancakes and french toast were cold by the time you got them to the table. Really there is no where else to eat, unless you go to Lodgepole to the deli for pre-wrapped sandwiches or greasy spoon burgers and dogs.

There is no a/c anywhere, and they have fans in the windows. The air does cool down considerably at night time, but from dusk to midnight expect a very muggy room. Overhead ceiling fans help, but I found it too cold with window fan on all night and too hot without something beyond the ceiling fan.

Although they describe breathtaking views, don't expect them from your room windows. Unless you need the larger room, you might as well take a basic and save money, the increase in price only gets you a few extra pieces of furniture in the room and until it cools off, you really don't want to sit in it too long. The trees block any views of mountains, you view the parking lot or the back of a hill with trees. Same view you would get with a camp site, just with better amenities. The mini-fridge in room was very handy and they don't gouge tourists for water or sodas at the gift shop. Same price as at Lodgepole.

That said, would I stay there again? Yes, only because my family and I are not campers and there isn't any other choice. Would I have preferred something that lived up to the cost and their billing? Yes, but c'est la vie.

You will find families of deer grazing in the parking lots and outside the buildings early in the morning and there is a lovely view of the mountains as you walk down to the main lodge for dining. The shuttle starts at Wuksachi and the Park Service runs a very efficient hybrid fleet that make driving on your own silly. The view from Moro Rock is amazing, and for those who don't want to train for mountain climbing the 400 steps are a breeze to get such a great view of the sierra nevada.

  • Liked — inside the park
  • Disliked — pricey and not what we had expected from the hotel site descriptions
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We had a nice 4 day stay at the lodge in August 2008. The rooms have TV so you are not cut off from civilization.

The restaurant is OK, not great. We actually preferred a cookout that happened nightly at Wolverton a few miles away.

beds were OK, smallish bathrooms but everything was there including hair dryers.

It takes a while to drive to most places from there. unless you are just going to see the trees.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — not a very visually appealing lodge, (more like a motel)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Burbs
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed one night at the Wuksachi Lodge while visiting Sequoia National Park. If you don't camp, this is the place, as in the only place. It's senseless to drive the hour plus up and down the mountain to get to an off-site motel. The Lodge is comfortable, clean, and modern (except for the no elevators thing). If you read the other posts, they did have an in-window fan and a ceiling fan for circulation and they were great. When we checked in we turned on the window fan and it being dark, thought it was an AC unit. The temps are that nice in August. We ate breakfast in the Lodge and went with the continental $7.50 version. Fruit, cereals, juice, pastries, breads, coffee and tea. Nice start to the day. We left the car in the Lodge parking lot for the day while we toured using the in park shuttle. A staffer was in the lobby explaining the shuttle to those new to the park. Go with the shuttle. Convenient, timely (!), and hits all the hot spots. We never waited more than a few minutes when we were ready to go to another stop. The Lodge parking lot is different than the parking lot for the rooms in three separate, not connected buildings. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. They readily addressed an issue we had and we were happy. We had dinner at the Woverton which was a barbeque followed by a ranger talk/walk (separate events, but convenient to take place at the same spot). Good food as if you went to the neighbors for a cookout with ribs, chicken, burgers, salads and pie! You get to eat outside among the forest and take it all in. We would do it all (stay at Lodge, use shuttle, dinner at Wolverton) again. One note: it gets dark after dark. Really dark. The parking lots are dimly lit and paths have subtle lighting which is all terrific for taking in the wilderness.

  • Liked — Location inside the park
  • Disliked — No elevators and no wi-fi
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

The Wuksachi Lodge & Village is certainly expensive but it is one of the few places to stay inside the park. After staying outside the park at two different hotels, the Wuksachi was worth every penny.

Rooms were clean and even though it was hot the lack of AC was not a problem. Wifi in the Lodge but not in the rooms. Dinning room the best in the Park (not hard)t has some excellent food. Breakfast was only average due to a limited selection and buffet offering only.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.