We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Placerville, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The lodge is beautiful, WiFi in the lodge, data port on your phone in the room. Our room was just a standard, but it was VERY nice, clean, pretty, good TV reception, if you want to see TV before bed. Staff very friendly and helpful. The lodge food is great! We felt it was a good value as well. I would come here just as a get-away.

Room Tip: The rooms are away from the road so all are quiet. We liked upstairs so we could sleep with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for feedback, Deb5331. We are so glad to hear you had a great experience at Wuksachi. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    429
    214
    86
    32
See reviews for
331
436
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaarina, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed for two nights. The room was big and ok all around but some tear and wear. Would benefit a makeover. The whole place is a bit dirty and old fashioned. I guess because this is the only place in here, the extra effort is not necessary. Would benefit more staff. The restaurant as a whole is just ok. If there were another lodge around here, this place would need to step up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We appreciate your comments, CallMeCaspian. Wuksachi Lodge provides an authentic park experience, but it is important to us to ensure guest comfort. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nyc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is average on a forgiving day.

It's a fine property, and the staff is nice and cares, but this is just mediocre for the money, even after considering it is in the woods.

The place is understaffed. The all important gift shop/ canteen where you get water and food for you hikes and drives is not staffed. You have to wait in line at lodge check-in counter to buy your Gatorade, sandwich or trail mix as people check into the hotel. 25 minutes for Gatorade? Closest option is 25 miles away.

The meals were ok at best, but restaurant understaffed. Plan on long wait.

Rooms clean enough for the woods, but, the bed spread had not been clean in a while.

Okay enough if you want to stay in the park, but one night was enough. Again, I think the staff cared, but management cuts every corner they can.

Fodors was dead off on this one!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for your comments, Redsox1918. We are glad to hear you encountered consistently helpful staff, but sorry that you felt frustrated with some timing and dining situations. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Loved Wuksachi Lodge in Sequoia National Forest. We rented the 2 room suite which was perfect and very affordable for our family of four. The room was comfortable and clean. The lodge staff was helpful, attentive, and pleasant. Would recommend for families!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for your comments, Car0le_rSanDiego. We are so glad to hear that your family had a great Wuksachi experience! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

When I say it's the only place to stay I mean "It's the ONLY place to stay"!!!! It's right in the middle of Sequoia and Kings Canyon and during the winter it's the only lodge open. Everything else is closed. The lodge was nice nothing outstanding except for the views. I wish they had those fake fireplaces to warm up the room but the heat was centralized. The room was clean, had a couch and desk. The lodge is separate from the main lodge so don't unpack! Bring your own food if visiting during the winter cause the lodge is the only place open and the restaurant can be very expensive when eating there every night. There's no microwave in the room. Overall it's a nice place to stay, the staff was nice and the food was ok. I'm definitely staying there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We appreciate your comments, Mike. We are pleased that you had a nice time at Wuksachi and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our party of three stayed at Wuksachi Lodge in April 2014. Here is a category-by-category breakdown of our rating:

Service: 4/5

Service at the Lodge is top notch. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and attentive. The reason we give this a 4/5 instead of a 5/5 was that there is no dedicated concierge or obvious place to get information about the park. It would have been nice to sit down with someone that knows the park to see what activities they recommended or what was available. If there was a concierge or someone filling that role, it wasn't obvious.

Value: 5/5

We thought the lodge was a great value - much cheaper than Yosemite for comparable service, location, and better food.

Sleep Quality: 4/5

The Lodge was pretty quiet while we were there, but you can still hear hall noise clearly. Depending on which side of your housing unit you're on, morning light can be quite intense.

Cleanliness: 4/5

No complaints or comments about room cleanliness.

Location: 3/5

Wuksachi Lodge is literally in the middle of the park, about an hour drive from each park entrance. The south entrance is a very windy road that gets icy in the winter - you *will* need chains if there's any chance of snow. The road can get quite steep - you should not attempt to drive to the lodge in the snow if you do not have chains. This makes the lodge a bit isolated. It is close to the General Sherman, Lodgepole, and Wolverton.

Rooms: 3/5

We had a 1-br suite which was comfortable and appropriately utilitarian. The only reason we give this a 3/5 instead of a 4/5 is because the WiFi in the rooms is very slow and sometimes it goes down without warning.

Swimming Pool: No rating
Fitness Center: No rating

Closing thoughts: We would definitely stay at the Wuksachi Lodge again. It's comfortable, has great views, and the staff is friendly. Just make sure you're prepared in the wintertime with tire chains and take it slow on the roads.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for your comments, CorporateFatCat. We are glad you found your stay at Wukaschi comfortable and accommodating, but we are sorry you felt the Wi-Fi was on the slow side. Given our remote location, we set up our rooms to provide the best connection possible for guest convenience and comfort. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Beautiful setting. Separate buildings for rooms provide plenty of privacy from the main lodge foot traffic. The clientele includes lots of international travelers and families. Staff is friendly, if occasionally a bit harried. Restaurant service is only available for take out or seated dining, otherwise no negatives to mention. Room decor is simple and could be updated, but most importantly everything was very clean. The stunning views out of the windows more than make up for any lack decoration department. All in all, well worth the money to stay here inside the park and experience the Sequoias first hand!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PropertyExecutive, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Catherine. It’s great to hear you had a comfortable stay at Wuksachi and received warm service from our staff. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.