We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful scenery and comfortable accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful scenery and comfortable accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Lodge is continently located within the park. The accommodations are comfortable and staffed with friendly, helpful employees. We stayed in a superior queen room that was larger than there average and great for a family. The food in the Lodge was wonderful. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    509
    257
    98
    34
See reviews for
400
535
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was impress for the value of this lodge in the middle of the forest. The room was clean and nice. The heater works ok. Comfortable enough for our family. You need to make reservation for dinner at the restaurant. 3 stars for this lodge. Very nice staff...but..little slow on the check in time

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Waksachee Hotel - Very good accommodations in Sequoia. Large and comfortable king bed and sofa in room. They only downside is the separation of the lodge from the rooms. They give you a flashlight in your room and you need it after dark. I realize that there are reasons for keeping the lighting low … There is an incredible sky at night and viewing the Milky Way is a rare opportunity. However, accessibility was a problem as the parking for the rooms was even a distance from the actual room. They do offer assistance with luggage and they drive up to the room on roads that are apparently off limits. We were traveling with an older parent who is mobile but still wouldn’t be comfortable walking in these conditions, so we just used the ‘restricted’ roadways to pickup and drop off. Another accessibility issue I notice was the tile in the bathroom. It was probably a slate … and very slippery when wet. Using the towel provided as a bath at was also a hazard.
Finally, it did seem noisy in the room. I could hear people walking about and closing doors. I also heard someone knocking on another door quite clearly.
None of these things detract from my rating of the hotel. It is in a beautiful setting and the room was large and clean. It is perfectly located to all of the main attractions within the park. I am not an architect or a designer, I just think that given the age of the building (1997?) there would be greater attention paid to accessibility and certainly should be made aware for anyone traveling with these issues.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay in the park! Not many options, and we decided to stay here. The staff was very nice. The room was OK, being in the middle of a forest. The bed was very bad. The mattress was so old, so uncomfortable. The sheets were also old and on the rough side. I will just say I ended up using my sweater as a pillow, since the pillow was just not usable. I can understand that it is not easy to bring new bedding into a forest for a hotel/lodge, but these items (mattress, sheets, blanket & pillow) were antiques.....

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Andre S, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay in our lodge. We hope that the issues you encountered did not take away from enjoying your trip to Sequoia National Park and the many wonderful things to learn and explore here. There will be renovations and improvements over the next year at Wuksachi Lodge and we hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great location, special atmosphere, beautiful victorian architecture. But the rooms are vers basic, with small beds, hardly any comfort. In the restaurant it was starving cold ( november), guests wearing bodywarmers and wintercoats. The shared bathroom and restrooms are okay, but they are outside and in our case not nearby the room. Evening diner was not that bad, but breakfast was terrible. First we had to wait for half an hour for à table, then it rook more then an hour to get s louzy breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Steven S, we are happy to hear that you appreciate our facility and the location. We regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the your bed and restaurant experience. We have shared your review with our staff and will take corrective measures to ensure this does not reoccur in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us and we hope you will consider staying with us again to enjoy the many beautiful seasons of Sequoia National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Quite unlike its more spectacular neighbor to the north, Sequoia does not have a crowded feel. The Wuksachi Lodge, although a bit expensive, is a very nice place to stay. The accomodations are simple but quite adequate and relatively new. The restaurant in the main lodge is very attactive, and, again although a bit pricey, is a very nice place to dine. The buffet breakfast is particulary appealing before hitting the trails. If going to Sequoia, I would definitely recommend staying at the Wuksachi.

Room Tip: Nicest rooms would be on the second floor, facing toward the front of the buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our family recently stayed at the Wuksachi Lodge for three nights (November 8th through November 11th). We stayed in the Silliman Building on the second floor. We had a wonderful time and are very appreciative of the services and care received. The front desk staff really made the trip memorable due to their kindness and assistance. Our room attendant was especially responsive to our requests for the room maintenance over our stay and did a great job. We enjoyed our meals in the Peaks Restaurant as well. The continental breakfast was perfect for our needs and gave us a great head-start for the day. Very lovely and peaceful grounds. Spent one morning walking the grounds and saw a family of deer as well as many birds.
We booked the Night Sky Package for our stay and luckily, the skies were clear for two nights so that our family could see and identify many of the constellations (using the Star Wheel) and the Milky Way in the Lodge parking lot. We also saw three shooting stars. What a thrill! We had a couple of days of beautiful weather, great hiking, ranger talks and a visit to Crystal Cave. A very memorable vacation for our family.
We will return to Wuksachi Lodge to further enjoy the true beauty and wonder of Sequoia National Park.

Room Tip: Second floor of Silliman building was very quiet and comfortable. Room had a well-working refrigerat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.