We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful outdoors, but indoors....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoors, but indoors....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay in the park! Not many options, and we decided to stay here. The staff was very nice. The room was OK, being in the middle of a forest. The bed was very bad. The mattress was so old, so uncomfortable. The sheets were also old and on the rough side. I will just say I ended up using my sweater as a pillow, since the pillow was just not usable. I can understand that it is not easy to bring new bedding into a forest for a hotel/lodge, but these items (mattress, sheets, blanket & pillow) were antiques.....

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Andre S, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay in our lodge. We hope that the issues you encountered did not take away from enjoying your trip to Sequoia National Park and the many wonderful things to learn and explore here. There will be renovations and improvements over the next year at Wuksachi Lodge and we hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    381
    197
    79
    27
See reviews for
289
368
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great location, special atmosphere, beautiful victorian architecture. But the rooms are vers basic, with small beds, hardly any comfort. In the restaurant it was starving cold ( november), guests wearing bodywarmers and wintercoats. The shared bathroom and restrooms are okay, but they are outside and in our case not nearby the room. Evening diner was not that bad, but breakfast was terrible. First we had to wait for half an hour for à table, then it rook more then an hour to get s louzy breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Steven S, we are happy to hear that you appreciate our facility and the location. We regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the your bed and restaurant experience. We have shared your review with our staff and will take corrective measures to ensure this does not reoccur in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us and we hope you will consider staying with us again to enjoy the many beautiful seasons of Sequoia National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Quite unlike its more spectacular neighbor to the north, Sequoia does not have a crowded feel. The Wuksachi Lodge, although a bit expensive, is a very nice place to stay. The accomodations are simple but quite adequate and relatively new. The restaurant in the main lodge is very attactive, and, again although a bit pricey, is a very nice place to dine. The buffet breakfast is particulary appealing before hitting the trails. If going to Sequoia, I would definitely recommend staying at the Wuksachi.

Room Tip: Nicest rooms would be on the second floor, facing toward the front of the buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our family recently stayed at the Wuksachi Lodge for three nights (November 8th through November 11th). We stayed in the Silliman Building on the second floor. We had a wonderful time and are very appreciative of the services and care received. The front desk staff really made the trip memorable due to their kindness and assistance. Our room attendant was especially responsive to our requests for the room maintenance over our stay and did a great job. We enjoyed our meals in the Peaks Restaurant as well. The continental breakfast was perfect for our needs and gave us a great head-start for the day. Very lovely and peaceful grounds. Spent one morning walking the grounds and saw a family of deer as well as many birds.
We booked the Night Sky Package for our stay and luckily, the skies were clear for two nights so that our family could see and identify many of the constellations (using the Star Wheel) and the Milky Way in the Lodge parking lot. We also saw three shooting stars. What a thrill! We had a couple of days of beautiful weather, great hiking, ranger talks and a visit to Crystal Cave. A very memorable vacation for our family.
We will return to Wuksachi Lodge to further enjoy the true beauty and wonder of Sequoia National Park.

Room Tip: Second floor of Silliman building was very quiet and comfortable. Room had a well-working refrigerat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inkpen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The accommodation is set high above the reception area and also the car parking.As an elderly couple we found it difficult to move our luggage up the lengthy ramps from the car park and then down the stairs in the accommodation itself. We could have had a bellboy by request so it was our fault. Being November it got dark quite early and we had to buy a flash-light from the resort shop to walk safely from the accommodation to the restaurant.Most guests carried flash-lights. However we had an excellent room.Large and well equipped sitting area was appreciated.The meals were excellent and so was the service. Our stay co-incided with Veterans Day so the lodge was busy with families which made dining a little noisy.
Overall we feel this is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

It's true, none of us go to National Parks for the quality of the hotel or food. But come on, there's no reason that we can't pay for a clean and comfortable bed. Pay, we did, but the bedding was frankly reminiscent of an old flee bag motel. Unacceptable. The institutional smell in the hallway was also unnecessary and unappealing, but at least it hinted that someone was using cleaning fluids. The days before arriving, we spent at a Hampton, and the days after, at a Best Western. In both cases (not Wuksachi), the bedding was very clean and comfortable, and the pricing was similar to Wuksachi, and both were in very desirable, waterfront locations. If they can provide clean and comfortable beds, so should Wuksachi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Roadtripper111, we appreciate you taking the time to share your stay with us at Wukisachi Lodge. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the area and our staff. We do regret to hear that you did not find your bedding to be of the quality that you deserve. DNC as the concessionaire, upholds very high standards for each of its properties to maintain a cleanliness inspection for each room once it has been cleaned. We have shared your review with our staff and are investigating the reason as to why your room was in an unacceptable state and chemical smell in the hallway that you encountered. Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The lodge is in a great location directly in the park. The rooms are quite far from the main lodge building and the parking so be prepared to use one of the luggage carts in the parking lot. The dining room had very good food but they require reservations. We found the hallways a bit noisy. The room was very nice and modern.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi
Wuksachi Village And Lodge
Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.