We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lodge right in the park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice lodge right in the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The lodge is in a great location directly in the park. The rooms are quite far from the main lodge building and the parking so be prepared to use one of the luggage carts in the parking lot. The dining room had very good food but they require reservations. We found the hallways a bit noisy. The room was very nice and modern.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    509
    257
    98
    34
See reviews for
400
535
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Planet Earth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

When one goes to a national park with family, sometimes you have a need to stay at a lodge/hotel instead of roughing it (car-camping.) Most national parks do not have much choices in lodging and Sequoia/Kings Canyon National Park is no exception. There is one lodge within Sequoia Nat'l Park boundary, i.e. Wuksachi. (There is Stony Creek Lodge but that's within Sequoia National Forest.) It's fairly modern (less than 15 years??) and clean. It is probably the nicest lodging inside Sequoia/Kings Canyon boundary. It has a decent restaurant that you need to walk to from the lodge. That's about it. It's all nature from there, surrounded by sequoia trees and birds and nature. Lodgepole Village (not really a village but just one market/cafeteria/campground/trails to a fall) is within 10-20 minute driving distance and Moro Rock/Giant Forest is close as well.

If you can camp instead of staying at a motel/lodge, that's awesome. If you are not a camper or want to sleep on the bed for a change, this is it in Sequoia National Park. It is over-priced, Yes, but what isn't inside National Park? That is the price one pays for the comfort and warmth in the middle of nature.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

After a weeks camping in the Sierras we stayed in this lodge for one night for a bit of comfort and a shower before the big flight back to Australia. It was OK, but we much preferred the campground in the valley below!

The lodge has a really strange layout with three accommodation buildings all a bit of a walk from the central facilities and also from the carparks, we did not have much luggage and were very thankful for the fact. The footpaths from the accomodation to reception and the restaurant are
appallingly badly lit at night. So much so that you are taking a real risk using them without a flashlight. Given the disjointed layout of this place it would be a pretty miserable place to stay if it was raining.

The rooms themselves are large and comfortable, but the carpets are very old and dated, the furnishings are drab and the bathrooms very small. On the upside there is included  wifi throughout the lodge complex.

The Restaurant was surprisingly good, but make sure you book or you could be eating very late indeed

Room Tip: Don't worry about views as there really aren't any given the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear BeachSwaggie, thank you for sharing your visit with us. We regret that you found the layout and lighting to be less than satisfactory. Natural lighting is the desired affect, though the front desk will offer a flashlight on poorly lit evenings. We have notified our staff of your response and are looking into better ways of assisting the guests. Thank you for taking the time to communicate with us, we do hope should you travel here again, that you will enjoy staying Wuksachi once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Beautiful lodge with a great location. We stopped by to get a good quick meal. Both, as it turned out, were too much to ask for. The service was slow.. Slow to get us seated, slow to take our order and slow to get our food. We ordered a veggie burger and vegan chilli. The wait definitely did not justify the food which was too bland and tasteless.

The place is actually lovely and has the air of a nice sit down place. However, the food and the service were below the mark. Even when we told the waitress that the food was really bland, she hardly seemed surprised. The folks on the table next to us also complained about their smelly fish so it wasn't just us.

Overall will not recommend eating here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Rumblingstrips, we appreciate you coming to visit Wuksachi lodge. We regret that your experience was not the DNC standard of service, we strive to uphold a very high level of service to our guests through our Guestpath Programs and training. We have shared your visit with our staff and will investigate this further. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We hope that you will not let this experience keep you from enjoying Sequoia National Park and visit us again when you come through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I grew up in California, but I do not recall ever going to Sequoia National Park or Kings Canyon National Park. I know I never stayed at Wuksachi Lodge. We were there just this past week, and we were amazed at the accommodations. The Lodge was wonderful--so comfortable for a wilderness hotel. Our room was exceedingly quiet and private. The meals at the lodge were really very good. We'd go again in a minute!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Jan M, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Wuksachi Lodge. DNC is now the concessionaire at both Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks, hopefully your next visit you will be able to enjoy the beauty and wonder of these phenomenal parks that are so close together. Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here the first night they re-opened after the shutdown so it was very quiet. We were also upgraded to a suite so were delighted with the room relative to what we paid. I loved Sequoia and we found it very tranquil. We found the restaurant really good and the staff lovely and informative.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were in the Stewart building room 109.The room was very nice and we were told we had a 'mountain view'. well, it was if you looked up and through the trees. they had a bonfire for Friday and Saturday night which was nice. we had a fridge and coffee maker which they supplied coffee too. no microwave. the bed was excellent and the sheets, towels, carpeting and shower were very clean. We got into our room around 5:30 PM and tried to make a dinner reservation at the only place to eat only to find out they were packed and could not get us in until 8:45PM. we ended up getting our food take out and eating in our room. We went to Grant Grove Village for breakfast and that is THE place to stay(Similar to Yosemite Lodge for location and convenience). it was a long drive to see the rest of the park or to get something to eat. Lots of hiking but it too was a ways to drive. Be careful when you go, the day we left it started snowing and required snow chains....we luckily got down the slippery slope that morning.

Room Tip: get an upper floor but pack light - no elevators and a bit of a hike from the parking lot and front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.