We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place, Comfortable Quarters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Crescent City, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place, Comfortable Quarters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I grew up in California, but I do not recall ever going to Sequoia National Park or Kings Canyon National Park. I know I never stayed at Wuksachi Lodge. We were there just this past week, and we were amazed at the accommodations. The Lodge was wonderful--so comfortable for a wilderness hotel. Our room was exceedingly quiet and private. The meals at the lodge were really very good. We'd go again in a minute!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSocialMediaManager, Public Relations Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Jan M, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Wuksachi Lodge. DNC is now the concessionaire at both Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks, hopefully your next visit you will be able to enjoy the beauty and wonder of these phenomenal parks that are so close together. Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    440
    222
    88
    32
See reviews for
350
445
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here the first night they re-opened after the shutdown so it was very quiet. We were also upgraded to a suite so were delighted with the room relative to what we paid. I loved Sequoia and we found it very tranquil. We found the restaurant really good and the staff lovely and informative.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were in the Stewart building room 109.The room was very nice and we were told we had a 'mountain view'. well, it was if you looked up and through the trees. they had a bonfire for Friday and Saturday night which was nice. we had a fridge and coffee maker which they supplied coffee too. no microwave. the bed was excellent and the sheets, towels, carpeting and shower were very clean. We got into our room around 5:30 PM and tried to make a dinner reservation at the only place to eat only to find out they were packed and could not get us in until 8:45PM. we ended up getting our food take out and eating in our room. We went to Grant Grove Village for breakfast and that is THE place to stay(Similar to Yosemite Lodge for location and convenience). it was a long drive to see the rest of the park or to get something to eat. Lots of hiking but it too was a ways to drive. Be careful when you go, the day we left it started snowing and required snow chains....we luckily got down the slippery slope that morning.

Room Tip: get an upper floor but pack light - no elevators and a bit of a hike from the parking lot and front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lodging in the National Parks is usually overpriced. This hotel is no exception however, I found the lodge a little cleaner, bigger rooms and very good food at the Peaks in the main lodge. The breakfast buffet carried us through our hikes. You are paying for the area and the privilege to stay in the park. It was worth the extra money to save time of traveling from outside the park.
I would stay here again. Check in and check out took forever, so go with patience. The chiefs special every night was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was looking forward to touring the big Sequoias on my California trip, and booked a night here for October 28, 2013. But a snow storm came up the day before, while I was still in Yosemite. where it was snowing, and I had to find out if I would be able to climb the mountains to this lodge in Sequoia. I called the hotel the morning of my reservation; the lady at the desk said, oh it's only raining, you will have no problem if you come up on 198 from Visalia. So five hours later, the National Park rangers at the park entrance, 28 miles from the hotel, said I couldn't go to the hotel without chains on my car. Having had experience being stranded with a rental company forbaddding use of chains on their vehicle, I didn't want to make the same mistake again. But I found out from some utility workers later that evening, they were turned back from going to the Wuksachi in a utility truck with chains. They said the road had been chains only since 10 am. So, thanks to the staff at this hotel, who gave out inaccurate information, I lost the $162 I paid for the room and needed to find another room in late afternoon in a rural area. Beware booking this hotel mid-fall or mid-spring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park hotels

San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Spent one night here and it did not disappoint.

Yes it is expensive. But that's the price to pay for living inside the park. There are some cabins and other odd homey lodging options but I'm not that type to be that adventurous. The Village is off the main road in the park. There is a main building for the lobby/restaurant, conference areas, gift shop. Well maintained. Impressed.

Check in wasn't the fastest but again what's the hurry. There aren't a lot of places to go after dark anyways.

From the main building, the rooms are just a block up the street in 3 main buildings. All have very quick access from the parking lot. Stayed in Stewart which is the furthest out of the 3. Probably a little quieter. The suite we had on the first floor was very large, corner unit with 2 queen beds and a little side room with a tv, fridge, small table, 2 chairs and couch. Basically a separate living room. Modern, Clean, towels, soaps, amenities were nice, water pressure was decent. 2 luggage racks and hangers, lots of closet space. The single room had a queen bed and was a decent size. Beds and linens not too bad. Pillows weren't the best. One was firm and one was a down pillow (very flat). Great heating in the room so don't worry about being cold. I noticed there are ski racks in the room for winter time. Nice touch.

Restaurant.

There is a bar/restaurant behind the check in desk. Some strong opinions about the restaurant. Not super cheap about $30 per entree average. Not huge portions but the food was well prepared. There seems to be a lack of resources this time of year. The dining room was more than 1/2 empty but they would be turning people away for 2 hours. Make reservations I guess. Also, if you order a salad or cold dish, you get your food fast. Order entree, we waited nearly 40mins for our food. Again, we weren't in a hurry but that's a long wait. Service was just ok but that was our server. I would say 3/5 maybe 4/5 if the service was better.

I took some video of the room if anyone wants to see send me a message.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed at the Wuksachi Lodge for five days in late Sept just before the gov’t closed Sequoia Natl Park. First a little about the layout. This lodge consists of multiple buildings on terraces carved into the side of a mountain at 7,000 feet. On the highest level are the three bldgs that contain the rooms. The next level down are the parking lots and at the lowest level is the lodge itself. So when going between the rooms and the lodge, there’s a steep elevation change that has stairs and/or switchback ramps that have minimal lighting so bring high quality bright flashlights for after dark. It is also quite problematic trying to move suitcases from the parking lot to the rooms. Each of the terraces is about 30 feet higher so moving heavy items is difficult. They provide a dolly but it’s better to ask for help at the front desk. One of the staff will come with a van and bring your luggage to the room….it’s a free service. Each of the room lodges has multiple stories with no elevator so a room on the entry level is desirable.

As for rooms, they are accommodating, but the best is to reserve one of the superior double queen rooms that have an extra alcove room that contains a sofa bed and easy chair and makes for a more comfortable stay. The TV (which only has a few channels) was also located in this room along with the fridge and the coffee maker. The two rooms can be separated with a pair of sliding glass doors. The extra charge for the room is well worth it. There are not many of these rooms so reserve one well in advance. This would be a perfect option for a family with children.

Now for meals, the lodge has a B&B package that includes the breakfast buffet, or you can just be a walk-in. The buffet has a continental offering ($7.95) including such items as cereal, oatmeal, sweet rolls, toast, yogurt, etc. or a full breakfast offering ($12.95) that includes such hot items as eggs, pancakes, sausages, bacon, etc. plus the continental items. The B&B package includes all items and you receive little “chits” when you check in that cover the breakfast each day.

If you plan on hiking, lunch can be problematic as there are not many options in the area. There’s a market near the Lodgepole Visitors Center that will provide sandwiches to go, but they are only open sometimes. The day we went, the sandwich place was closed and there’s very little else in the market. Turns out, however, the lodge itself will provide a box lunch (~$12.00) that contains a sandwich, fruit, granola bar, drink and a bag of chips which you can order off a form in the room or at the lodge itself. This turned out to be the best option for us as we could pick up the box lunches at breakfast and be on our way early. The lodge does offer lunch in the dining area. We never explored this option.

Dinners at the lodge were great. Be sure to make a reservation and you will be seated promptly, without a reservation the waits on the weekends could extend to 45 mins or more. We made our reservations a couple of weeks in advance and experienced no difficulties. The dinners are upscale including many choices of appetizers, salads, entrees ($20-$30) and desserts. There was a fixed menu that included seafood, meat and poultry. In addition, each evening they had two special entrees such as scallops or duck or even prime rib. The food was prepared very well and we enjoyed the five nights we ate there. The salads are huge so we ordered one and shared it. The wine selection wasn’t extensive but more than adequate given that you’re out in the middle of the high sierras with a long trek (probably 30-40 mins) to the nearest restaurant or full service grocery store.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wuksachi and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose the superior double queen room with the extra alcove area. Choose a room on the entry level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.