We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were only here for one night, but we will be back!!! Nestled in among the forest, the lodge is beautiful. Only a few minutes away from General Sherman and breath taking views of the giant sequoias! Reasonably priced and an amazing breakfast buffet for $12.99. The lodge also prepares great boxed lunches (chips, apple, soda, granola bar, and sandwich for $12).

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    651
    313
    115
    44
See reviews for
555
686
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is our second time at Wucksachi Lodge so we knew what to expect this time. The location is great it's perfect for a good days explore and activity then a short ride back to the hotel rather than having to drive back down out of the park. Our room was clean and comfortable for our two night stay, but don't expect luxury. There is a coffee maker and fridge in the room. The staff were very polite and helpful. The restaurant is much improved since we were last here, when we previously visited we really felt as the choice for evening meal venues was very limited, Wucksachi's restaurant exploited that, but thankfully not this time, we had two lovely evening meals. It's worth booking if you want to eat at a specific time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The location of this place is superb. Less crowded than the other National Parks in the area and well worth a visit. We didnt see any bears despite looking hard and hanging around at 6am in the meadows, but that didnt ruin an excellent location. The scenary and scents were breathtaking and would strongly recommend.

The rooms themselves were OK, clean simple but not more than OK. All aspects of the service were excellent. The best surprise was the dining. A real suprise - the evening dinner was exceptional and breakfasts generous.

Guide to travellers, the Zip/sat nav code is not quite correct. In fact about 15 miles of mountain road out- and at 10 to 15 miles an hour at points - almost and hour from the lower car park.

I would return here 100%

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a wonderful surprise this place turned out to be! Did not expect much, but got a lot. The dining room was fabulous, the rooms were clean, the beds comfy, and the staff very helpful. I would highly recommend this to everyone. Travelled as a single mom with a 16 & 19 year old. They both loved it there. Conveniently located as well.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at Wuksachi many times. It's the place to stay if you want to be near the Giant forest. Yes the steps and no elevator are a nightmare for guests, but the birds, bears, marmots and other wildlife in the area make up for it. The corner suites are great.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Ok, I'll get get the unpleasant bit out of the way. Like many places this hotel places a 'holding fee' on your credit card. Every other place we stayed in that did this refunded this amount immediately on checkout with no problem at all. That did not happen here. We discovered that $251.99 had been taken from our account by Wuksachi. This was an odd amount as it did not match the cost of one nights stay as it should have done. We connected the lodge who replied saying that it was a holding fee & that it was our credit card company that was slow in processing the refund. The truth was that the money had simply not been refunded by the lodge. After a few days we contacted them again but received no reply. We then contacted the parent company Delaware North but received no reply. After contacting a third section of the company to no avail we were seriously considering reporting this to the US authorities as the lack of response and the odd amount taken made us think some kind of fraud had taken place. Three weeks after checkout the money appeared back on our account (we checked it daily). There was no notification or apology from anyone.

Now for the nicer bit. The location is wonderful. You can easily get to most of the great sights from here and some trails can be accessed from the lodge. The rooms are just like the typical room you get in most US hotels. There is no AC but we didn't not need it.

We liked the restaurant and a number of really nice meals there. The only slight issue is that the main building has a lot of large windows which has a greenhouse effect making it very warm/hot inside. We always tried to get a table near a fan.

I would go back here again, but I'd keep a very close eye on the account!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

When you stay here, you are totally isolated and dependent upon the hotelier for food, too. We checked in around 5, and the only dining option was an 8:15 dinner seating. Perhaps this could be made clear when making reservations. The dining room was understaffed, so food arrived around 9. To get to the dining room, you have to walk in the dark from the hotel room buildings to the main lodge. No lights. Not to mention that you have already carried everything in your car up the stairs to these buildings because there are no elevators and "bear rules" about leaving anything in your car. The room itself was nice and modern.

Room Tip: If you're not ready to carry your luggage up a hill, then up four flights of stairs, try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
9.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
14.8 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#6 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
16.5 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.