We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sequoia and Wuksachi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sequoia and Wuksachi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a wonderful surprise this place turned out to be! Did not expect much, but got a lot. The dining room was fabulous, the rooms were clean, the beds comfy, and the staff very helpful. I would highly recommend this to everyone. Travelled as a single mom with a 16 & 19 year old. They both loved it there. Conveniently located as well.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    509
    257
    98
    34
See reviews for
400
535
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at Wuksachi many times. It's the place to stay if you want to be near the Giant forest. Yes the steps and no elevator are a nightmare for guests, but the birds, bears, marmots and other wildlife in the area make up for it. The corner suites are great.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Ok, I'll get get the unpleasant bit out of the way. Like many places this hotel places a 'holding fee' on your credit card. Every other place we stayed in that did this refunded this amount immediately on checkout with no problem at all. That did not happen here. We discovered that $251.99 had been taken from our account by Wuksachi. This was an odd amount as it did not match the cost of one nights stay as it should have done. We connected the lodge who replied saying that it was a holding fee & that it was our credit card company that was slow in processing the refund. The truth was that the money had simply not been refunded by the lodge. After a few days we contacted them again but received no reply. We then contacted the parent company Delaware North but received no reply. After contacting a third section of the company to no avail we were seriously considering reporting this to the US authorities as the lack of response and the odd amount taken made us think some kind of fraud had taken place. Three weeks after checkout the money appeared back on our account (we checked it daily). There was no notification or apology from anyone.

Now for the nicer bit. The location is wonderful. You can easily get to most of the great sights from here and some trails can be accessed from the lodge. The rooms are just like the typical room you get in most US hotels. There is no AC but we didn't not need it.

We liked the restaurant and a number of really nice meals there. The only slight issue is that the main building has a lot of large windows which has a greenhouse effect making it very warm/hot inside. We always tried to get a table near a fan.

I would go back here again, but I'd keep a very close eye on the account!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

When you stay here, you are totally isolated and dependent upon the hotelier for food, too. We checked in around 5, and the only dining option was an 8:15 dinner seating. Perhaps this could be made clear when making reservations. The dining room was understaffed, so food arrived around 9. To get to the dining room, you have to walk in the dark from the hotel room buildings to the main lodge. No lights. Not to mention that you have already carried everything in your car up the stairs to these buildings because there are no elevators and "bear rules" about leaving anything in your car. The room itself was nice and modern.

Room Tip: If you're not ready to carry your luggage up a hill, then up four flights of stairs, try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The lodge (reception and restaurant) is seperate from the buildings with the rooms.
A great place to stay in, in the mountains at 2km height.
The rooms are big and clean with a nice bathroom.
The drawback is that you need to carry everything you have up some stairs from the parking lot and some more stairs if you are on the 2nd floor.
The room we had didn't have AC but a fan which can blow in cold air from the outside. But i don't think AC is really necessary. It can be cold at night.
There are no elevators. If you need assistance however that is not a problem.
You cannot leave any food related things in your car since there are bears in the area.
We have seen one near the lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

we spent 2 nights in Sept 2013. As others have said, I felt held hostage because it's the only place to stay and see the park without spending an inordinate amount of time in transit. First night dinner for our party of 3 was horrible. All 3 steaks were sent back because they were underdone. We ordered a Well, Medium and Medium Rare and the Well was almost passable for Medium Rare. Took quite a bit of time to get them back and they were better but still not to our specifications. Desert was the next challange-we had all ordered the 3 course fixed price menu so the desert was the same for each of us. First only 2 came out, one was stone cold and the other was boiling hot. Not sure how that can happen. Never saw a manager. When we left we immediately went to the front desk and asked to see the dining room manager. Our dinner check was over $130 for the three of us. Was told they didn't have one, but that the manager on duty would be right up to see us. About 5 minutes later he appeared. Said he wished he would have known about the problem during dinner. Not sure how we were suppose to do that!. He eventually comped the entire meal which did help. In all fairness the breakfasts were very good and the 2nd night dinner was much better. Funny I replied to the standard emailed questionaire from the hotel a week ago and have never gotten a reply. Maybe they don't feel they have to reply as they are the only game in town.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room-they seemed to be the only ones with a/c in the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for only one night. The location is very pretty and not far from some of the main Sequoia Park attractions (General Shermann sequioa, for example). Our room was large, with two queen beds and a small annex TV room. No luxury and simple, but functional. Beware the floor you get, for there are no elevators in the lodges. Ours was the third and we had some heavy luggage! Good food in the restaurant with a friendly staff.

Room Tip: No elevators in the lodges, so look out for higher floors if you have any health issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.