We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine print” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fine print”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

When you stay here, you are totally isolated and dependent upon the hotelier for food, too. We checked in around 5, and the only dining option was an 8:15 dinner seating. Perhaps this could be made clear when making reservations. The dining room was understaffed, so food arrived around 9. To get to the dining room, you have to walk in the dark from the hotel room buildings to the main lodge. No lights. Not to mention that you have already carried everything in your car up the stairs to these buildings because there are no elevators and "bear rules" about leaving anything in your car. The room itself was nice and modern.

Room Tip: If you're not ready to carry your luggage up a hill, then up four flights of stairs, try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    627
    299
    112
    43
See reviews for
522
667
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The lodge (reception and restaurant) is seperate from the buildings with the rooms.
A great place to stay in, in the mountains at 2km height.
The rooms are big and clean with a nice bathroom.
The drawback is that you need to carry everything you have up some stairs from the parking lot and some more stairs if you are on the 2nd floor.
The room we had didn't have AC but a fan which can blow in cold air from the outside. But i don't think AC is really necessary. It can be cold at night.
There are no elevators. If you need assistance however that is not a problem.
You cannot leave any food related things in your car since there are bears in the area.
We have seen one near the lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

we spent 2 nights in Sept 2013. As others have said, I felt held hostage because it's the only place to stay and see the park without spending an inordinate amount of time in transit. First night dinner for our party of 3 was horrible. All 3 steaks were sent back because they were underdone. We ordered a Well, Medium and Medium Rare and the Well was almost passable for Medium Rare. Took quite a bit of time to get them back and they were better but still not to our specifications. Desert was the next challange-we had all ordered the 3 course fixed price menu so the desert was the same for each of us. First only 2 came out, one was stone cold and the other was boiling hot. Not sure how that can happen. Never saw a manager. When we left we immediately went to the front desk and asked to see the dining room manager. Our dinner check was over $130 for the three of us. Was told they didn't have one, but that the manager on duty would be right up to see us. About 5 minutes later he appeared. Said he wished he would have known about the problem during dinner. Not sure how we were suppose to do that!. He eventually comped the entire meal which did help. In all fairness the breakfasts were very good and the 2nd night dinner was much better. Funny I replied to the standard emailed questionaire from the hotel a week ago and have never gotten a reply. Maybe they don't feel they have to reply as they are the only game in town.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room-they seemed to be the only ones with a/c in the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for only one night. The location is very pretty and not far from some of the main Sequoia Park attractions (General Shermann sequioa, for example). Our room was large, with two queen beds and a small annex TV room. No luxury and simple, but functional. Beware the floor you get, for there are no elevators in the lodges. Ours was the third and we had some heavy luggage! Good food in the restaurant with a friendly staff.

Room Tip: No elevators in the lodges, so look out for higher floors if you have any health issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge before and after a High Sierra hike we were doing. The room was large and comfortable with a great mountain view. After hiking for a few days it was a convenient location and the restaurant at the lodge was very good. Try and get an upstairs room facing the mountains. It is a rather expensive place if you are there in the high season, prices are much lower other times.

Room Tip: Room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

OK the National Park Service get mixed reviews on the level of service they provide and lets be honest you go to the parks for the scenery, not 5 star hotels. Wuksachi Lodge is great, the rooms are big and clean, there are 3 blocks which are a 5 minute walk from the reception building which houses the restaurant, bar and gift shop. Make reservations for the restaurant every night, do the next night the day before because everyone wants to dine early, like 6-7pm and the place closes at about 10pm, it is the only place to eat, there is no where else so unless you are eating in your room, no reservation means no food! Breakfast was great and the place is central to the best places in the park, you are 10 minutes drive from the Sherman Tree and Mono Rock, loved this place and whoa, the night time view of the stars had to be seen to be believed

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

$250 each night for room only is daylight robbery but if you want to see the big trees Morro Rock etc. without doing the hour or so drive up from three rivers which is much cheaper, then repeating it back down you have little choice and it is only for a short time. We are glad we stayed here as you are in a great location and right amongst the places to see and being up here means you have an extra 2-3 hours to see what you came to see and do.

Ignore the other reports about ignorant staff. Yes they are mostly foreign but they are helpful and polite. The restaurant is expensive but if you choose the set price 3 course meal it is not so bad. I would advise you to reserve a table in the restaurant for dinner before you arrive then each morning ahead. Otherwise you will be lucky to eat before 10 pm.I would say unless you want to hike a lot of the longer hikes you can comfortably see the sights and do 2-3 hikes in 2 days including the cave trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
9.0 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
14.8 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
12.9 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#6 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
16.5 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
15.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.