We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“way too expensive-needs to improve menu and quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“way too expensive-needs to improve menu and quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

we spent 2 nights in Sept 2013. As others have said, I felt held hostage because it's the only place to stay and see the park without spending an inordinate amount of time in transit. First night dinner for our party of 3 was horrible. All 3 steaks were sent back because they were underdone. We ordered a Well, Medium and Medium Rare and the Well was almost passable for Medium Rare. Took quite a bit of time to get them back and they were better but still not to our specifications. Desert was the next challange-we had all ordered the 3 course fixed price menu so the desert was the same for each of us. First only 2 came out, one was stone cold and the other was boiling hot. Not sure how that can happen. Never saw a manager. When we left we immediately went to the front desk and asked to see the dining room manager. Our dinner check was over $130 for the three of us. Was told they didn't have one, but that the manager on duty would be right up to see us. About 5 minutes later he appeared. Said he wished he would have known about the problem during dinner. Not sure how we were suppose to do that!. He eventually comped the entire meal which did help. In all fairness the breakfasts were very good and the 2nd night dinner was much better. Funny I replied to the standard emailed questionaire from the hotel a week ago and have never gotten a reply. Maybe they don't feel they have to reply as they are the only game in town.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room-they seemed to be the only ones with a/c in the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    439
    215
    85
    32
See reviews for
325
434
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed for only one night. The location is very pretty and not far from some of the main Sequoia Park attractions (General Shermann sequioa, for example). Our room was large, with two queen beds and a small annex TV room. No luxury and simple, but functional. Beware the floor you get, for there are no elevators in the lodges. Ours was the third and we had some heavy luggage! Good food in the restaurant with a friendly staff.

Room Tip: No elevators in the lodges, so look out for higher floors if you have any health issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Lodge before and after a High Sierra hike we were doing. The room was large and comfortable with a great mountain view. After hiking for a few days it was a convenient location and the restaurant at the lodge was very good. Try and get an upstairs room facing the mountains. It is a rather expensive place if you are there in the high season, prices are much lower other times.

Room Tip: Room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

OK the National Park Service get mixed reviews on the level of service they provide and lets be honest you go to the parks for the scenery, not 5 star hotels. Wuksachi Lodge is great, the rooms are big and clean, there are 3 blocks which are a 5 minute walk from the reception building which houses the restaurant, bar and gift shop. Make reservations for the restaurant every night, do the next night the day before because everyone wants to dine early, like 6-7pm and the place closes at about 10pm, it is the only place to eat, there is no where else so unless you are eating in your room, no reservation means no food! Breakfast was great and the place is central to the best places in the park, you are 10 minutes drive from the Sherman Tree and Mono Rock, loved this place and whoa, the night time view of the stars had to be seen to be believed

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

$250 each night for room only is daylight robbery but if you want to see the big trees Morro Rock etc. without doing the hour or so drive up from three rivers which is much cheaper, then repeating it back down you have little choice and it is only for a short time. We are glad we stayed here as you are in a great location and right amongst the places to see and being up here means you have an extra 2-3 hours to see what you came to see and do.

Ignore the other reports about ignorant staff. Yes they are mostly foreign but they are helpful and polite. The restaurant is expensive but if you choose the set price 3 course meal it is not so bad. I would advise you to reserve a table in the restaurant for dinner before you arrive then each morning ahead. Otherwise you will be lucky to eat before 10 pm.I would say unless you want to hike a lot of the longer hikes you can comfortably see the sights and do 2-3 hikes in 2 days including the cave trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, IL
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

After hiking Alta Peak, we knew we wanted to stay in the Giant Forest area rather than have a long drive. While considerably out of our price range, we decided to stay here for it seemed to have gotten fairly good reviews.

When checking in just before 5:00 pm, there was a short wait. The attendant was adequate, but not overly friendly. As the deli and snack shop were closed for the season as Lodgepole, we quickly made reservations for 5:15 at the dining room. We were not excited about this as we were already over budget on the lodging.

We quickly unloaded our things and got ready for dinner. The room was nice, but there were some concerns about a dirty carpet. It is a trek to get from the parking lot to the room...pack lightly or use the luggage cart. We were in the Stillman building lower level.

We both ended up getting soup and salad for dinner - and were happy with it (although it was still over $30 for the two of us). They sat us next to the window which was nice, but there was no big sweeping view (just forest). We figured they would try to rush us out to get the window seat available for someone else, but indeed they didn't - so we just sat and enjoyed.

The lobby area did have functioning wifi; there were a few couches and seats outside. The wifi did not work in our room. There was a television.

The beds were okay; the bathroom nice (good water pressure, hot water, fan). All linens were clean. We were tired and had no problems falling asleep...therefore, it seemed quiet to us! It was chilly the night we were there, but it did seem that they had a window AC...also a ceiling fan an oscillating fan on the desk.

We did not go for breakfast, but they had a limited continental and full buffet option listed the night before. Moro Rock and General Sherman were just up the road in the morning! With an early start, we had Moro Rock all to ourselves. It is a high price to pay, but it is a nice location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at this lodge. Perfect location. Beautiful facility. Great drinks in bar. But the surprise was the food! I had halibut prepared perfectly. Quick service. All was what we needed after a wonderful day with trees and bears.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.