We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long wait/cold food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“long wait/cold food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

although the menu,wine list was extensive and the surroundings were pleasant our experience was less than idea as the servers were stretched very thin which made for a long wait for our meal (45 ") and when it did come I request it be sent back as it was lukewarm at best (sorry I like hot food) ..no doubt it has good potential..but Ill take I pass should I ever be that way again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    509
    257
    98
    34
See reviews for
400
535
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Umatilla, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights while exploring sequioa area. We saw other hotels/campgrounds and cabins and we feel this is by far the nicest place in the park area. You can't beat the location either. Yyou can see everything you came to see within a reasonable drive from here. The hotel grounds are very nice and the staff is friendly. The price wasn't bad either. I would definitely stay here again. Very happy with this choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simi valley, ca
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Average Rooms but a lovely lodge in a spectacular setting.
The large but cozy lodge serves great meals and welcomes families. Perfect place to end an evening and begin a day in the Sequoias.
The walk to the room could be a problem for some. We really didn't mind the walk especially in the evening with the pathways lit. The parking however is separate from the lodge and the rooms and there really aren't any close spots.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the second time we have come to this lodge. We really wanted to love it and like a previous reviewer we looked for things to stem our disappointment.

The architecture is lovely and location is beautiful.

There does not appear to be anyone in charge. There is very little hospitality. The food is bland. We went for Thanksgiving 2011 and again this weekend Sept 2013. The Thanksgiving meal was microwaved and pumpkin pie was served still frozen....? Kitchen staff did not care, waiting staff even less, and.... well there is no manager..... you're on your own. How hard is it to care and have pride in your job?

Recently (Sept 2013) we stopped for dinner on Saturday evening 5pm. It is not possible to make a reservation as there is no AT&T signal in the park. The person at the entrance to the restaurant informed us that he could only seat us at 9pm. The restaurant was 1/2 full and the restaurant also closed at 9. There were empty tables already set ... and unoccupied? We pointed the obvious out and we're told that we could order dinner to go. In the meantime a group of restaurant staff were standing at the entrance chatting to each other and arguing about something. Some older folks stepped up and asked for a table - they too were told the same story but fortunately for them they were seated 30 minutes. They had to wait in the 'bar area'. Windows were left open and we were all getting cold. We tried to close them but parts were missing. No fire was lit either. It's a lodge in the middle of a world renowned forest...... DISAPPOINTING!!

We, in the meantime ordered our dinner to go and sat in our car in the parking lot eating our mediocre $70 fare. Green beans we had were the frozen kind and under cooked, 'organic' chicken was so dry, and cubed potatoes undercooked.

The most disappointing aspect is that this lodge has the potential to be internationally recognized but the worker mentality is worse than a fast food chain serving slop. There is no manager and certainly no hospitality. Hard to know who runs this place.

The other food places up in the park are disappointing. We are not certain if food inspectors have been recently because sadly you may get really sick. The one had an open trash can in the middle of it with food trash from the afternoon dripping in it (Stony Creek) ..... Inside the eating area!

It would be excellent if the quality of the food and lodgings reflected the majestic setting they are contained in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WuksachiStaff, Manager at Wuksachi Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
First, you have my sincerest apology for the experience you recently had at Wuksachi Lodge. We certainly could have done better.

Let me also apologize for the poor experience you had two years ago on Thanksgiving in 2011

While we do take reservations, it is our policy to take walk in guests to every possible extent. During the busier times of the evening, this may involve waiting to a half-hour or so, as we try to "squeeze" in an extra party or two.

As you arrived at 5:00, you should have been seated immediately--in fact, our restaurant is typically nearly empty at that time. I am truly sorry that this didn't happen.

Rest assured, I have shared your account with our staff. Though it may have appeared otherwise to you, we do care and have pride in our jobs, and we will make every effort to improve our service in this regard.

Thank you for your candid comments, if you are ever planning to be in the area again, please feel free to call the Lodge and ask for any of the managers here (we do exist!) and let us insure that your future visit is a good one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyville, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Loved Wuksachi, the accommodation is a little set back from the main lodge but within walking distance, great access to different areas of Sequioa NP, staff were lovely and helpful. The onsite restaurant is good and food is reasonably priced. Rooms were comfortable but a little hot and the ceiling and window fans don't do much to help cool the room down. It is difficult to get your bags to the rooms though and no lift is available for guests on the ground floor so lifting heavy bags up and down stairs was not fun, but it was great to wake in the morning to the beautiful scenery of Sequoia, and the plentiful wildlife.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent a wonderful 2 nights at this upscale resort in the middle of a forest with a view of the mountains. Accommodations were beautifully decorated, well maintained and clean. They provided luggage carts so we could bring our things from the parking lot to the room building. Don't miss the paved walking trail on the grounds with bridges over creeks; we saw deer. Delicious dinners in dining room with big picture windows.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

When we pulled into the main building of the Wuksachi lodge, we were thrilled to see a comfortable lobby, and a modern, yet rustic design. The staff was very corteous and efficient, and the dining hall inviting. We had planned on dinner only, and to camp that night, but decided to splurge and stay in a room, because one was open. (thanks to someone's last minute cancellation)
The dinner was very good, I had trout, my companion had tenderloin, we enjoyed them.

The down side here is the hotel part. First of all, all the rooms are in one of 3 seperate buildings. None of the buildings have parking lots close to them, and the one we were in had an uphill climb from the parking lot. No elevator in the building, and this especially a pain when we had to haul all of our food and cooler up to the room, since that's part of the "don't feed the bear" policy in the park. The room itself was quite basic, and reminded me of your very average, run of the mill, low end motel room. The bedding and towels were thin, and even though they aren't very old, the buildings seemed worn down.

The design of the hotel buildings themselves were just plug ugly, with cheap materials and every corner cut in the building materials that one could dream of. The layout of the parking lots and the lack of elevators was just pure lunacy. It was a joke that they provided "luggage carts" to help move baggage. They should have provided large wheel barrows, they would have been easier to use pushing uphill and around hairpin switchbacks in the long trail to the hotel. Also, there is no air conditioning, and no built in ventilation. The rooms actually had window fans, wedged in the open windows, and many of these appeared broken and in poor repair. They look like an afterthought-gone wrong. Luckily, we weren't there on a very hot day. The beds were very poor, saggy, thin mattresses.

Overall, I'd say we were fooled by the glitzey appearance of the main lodge. The rooms were over priced for what they were.

Room Tip: get a ground floor room if you had coolers with you, or heavy luggage, or if you have any trouble cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.