We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location,location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Save Saved
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location, location,location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is an average hotel which I would consider expensive. However, all is redeemed by its excellent location in the stunning Sequoia National Park. As mentioned in other reviews, the bedrooms are in separate buildings with no elevators. Breakfasts, dinners, rooms and service are all acceptable. Most visitors to this NP stay in tents or RV's. If you want a generally comfortable place to stay and use as a base for seeing the surroundings, then this is a very convenient choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    429
    214
    86
    32
See reviews for
331
436
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We enjoyed our room on the forest side of the Silliman Building. Basically this means looking into a hill right across the road. The room was nice, clean, and the beds were comfortable and the shower was instantly hot and the temperature constant. The lodge and restaurant are about a five minute walk from the rooms, all uphill coming back. No elevators service the buildings so I suggest using the porter service if you are on the second floor. It is worth every cent. There is no air conditioning but the window fans do a great job and that is really all you need. This lodge is right in the hub of the activities so the location cannot be beat. The front desk employees were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again, only the next time we would use the porter service.

Room Tip: Use the porter service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carrollton, Ky
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We checked in at the lovely lodge, but the rooms were actually in separate buildings. Since we had food & quite a bit of luggage, we had to take almost everything in so the bears in the neighborhood wouldn't vandalize our car. Luckily, a porter will meet you in the parking lot, put everything in his van & drive you to the back door of the building & help you in. Thank goodness. We did rearrange things, then moved stuff out to the car ourselves in the AM. We weren't quite prepared for bears!! We did not have reservations for dinner in the dining room but checked in early enough that we didn't have to wait. The meal was very enjoyable & the wait staff very efficient & friendly. Get a seat by the window if you can. This is a very lovely, peaceful park lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I spent 3 nights over labor day weekend with my wife and 20+ daughter. Flew into LAX, then drove 4.5 hours north to the entrance of Sequoia National Park to begin the long drive on the narrow, winding, yet scenic Generals Highway. To give Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks their due, you really need to spend 3 nights in the centrally located Wuksachi Lodge. The only other viable option that I could see would be camping. Wuksachi was conveniently located for one full day focused on hiking among the Sequoia trees in Sequoia National Park and exploring Crystal Cave, and one full day driving to and from, and hiking in, Kings Canyon National Park. The main lodge building had a nice restaurant (MAKE RESERVATIONS FOR DINNER IN ADVANCE...we saw people being turned away with few other dining options available), a very small bar/lounge, a nice gift shop, and an area out front for relaxing. The setting is beautiful, although not among the giant trees (intentionally for conservation purposes). We did the "bed and breakfast" package and the breakfast was very good...lots to eat including a variety of fresh fruit and all the usual American breakfast items. We also ate dinner two nights in the restaurant and were pleased with the quality and variety of the food, particularly in such a remote location. Rooms are located in three near-by buildings. The rooms are fairly basic; but our two queen beds were fine. Cable/flat screen TV with a dozen or so channels. "Natural" air conditioning (a fan that fits in the window easily and cooled the room at night with no discomfort). We did see people having internet withdrawal due to the limited cell phone/internet reception but not an issue for me. The lodge is close enough to the Lodgepole area to attend the evening campfire programs sponsored by the National Park Service in the summer. This property is not on par with the Old Faithful Inn or similar classic lodges but is the best option for these two must-see National Parks. I only wish I had seen one of the 600 bears in the park.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We arrived late (don't do this, you will miss wonderful landscapes !) and the staff was very good. They gave us a suit because they were fully booked. The night was very good and peaceful. The breakfast was huge and one of the best we had in California !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It did not start too well. At 6:30pm I was told by the restaurant that I could not get a table for 5 before 9:30 pm. So I decided to place an order to go instead...that was supposed to take 20 min. Fine, but in the meantime I went to check in. the whole process took 45mn as I was 3rd in line and the Italian couple in front of me had a hard time to understand the safety rules about bears. Moreover the clerk kept picking up the phone as well...very frustrating. My own registration took less than 5min as I expedited it and we finally head to our room. Only 3 floors so no elevator. Be ready to carry your luggages. No table either, so we had an indoor diner on our suitcases. Our large room had a small fridge, a TV and beds were comfortable. Breakfast sitting was not a problem and buffet is affordable but variety limited. All in all I would still return simply for the convenient location in the middle of the park. But I guess I will check in as early as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Lodge is nicely done architecturally as it is spread out so as to present the property as the wooded wilderness that it is in a nearly natural way except, of course, for the roadways, parking lots and buildings. Staying at the Lodge is definitely not like checking into the usual commercial chain motel. It is rustic in its architecture and the lack of the standard pool/spa/gym as part of a monolithic building adds to the experience of being in the woods. The room was well maintained and clean. When a maintenance issue arose(failed light fixture) it was attended to immediately and corrected. Nevertheless, I do not believe that the price of lodging is justified.
I assume that the adjunct food service/restaurant review should be separate, but I cannot remain silent: The restaurant should be avoided if at all possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.