We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location,location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wuksachi Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Wuksachi Lodge to your Saves list
Wuksachi Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location, location,location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is an average hotel which I would consider expensive. However, all is redeemed by its excellent location in the stunning Sequoia National Park. As mentioned in other reviews, the bedrooms are in separate buildings with no elevators. Breakfasts, dinners, rooms and service are all acceptable. Most visitors to this NP stay in tents or RV's. If you want a generally comfortable place to stay and use as a base for seeing the surroundings, then this is a very convenient choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    614
    291
    111
    42
See reviews for
491
656
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We enjoyed our room on the forest side of the Silliman Building. Basically this means looking into a hill right across the road. The room was nice, clean, and the beds were comfortable and the shower was instantly hot and the temperature constant. The lodge and restaurant are about a five minute walk from the rooms, all uphill coming back. No elevators service the buildings so I suggest using the porter service if you are on the second floor. It is worth every cent. There is no air conditioning but the window fans do a great job and that is really all you need. This lodge is right in the hub of the activities so the location cannot be beat. The front desk employees were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again, only the next time we would use the porter service.

Room Tip: Use the porter service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carrollton, Ky
Level Contributor
215 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We checked in at the lovely lodge, but the rooms were actually in separate buildings. Since we had food & quite a bit of luggage, we had to take almost everything in so the bears in the neighborhood wouldn't vandalize our car. Luckily, a porter will meet you in the parking lot, put everything in his van & drive you to the back door of the building & help you in. Thank goodness. We did rearrange things, then moved stuff out to the car ourselves in the AM. We weren't quite prepared for bears!! We did not have reservations for dinner in the dining room but checked in early enough that we didn't have to wait. The meal was very enjoyable & the wait staff very efficient & friendly. Get a seat by the window if you can. This is a very lovely, peaceful park lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I spent 3 nights over labor day weekend with my wife and 20+ daughter. Flew into LAX, then drove 4.5 hours north to the entrance of Sequoia National Park to begin the long drive on the narrow, winding, yet scenic Generals Highway. To give Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks their due, you really need to spend 3 nights in the centrally located Wuksachi Lodge. The only other viable option that I could see would be camping. Wuksachi was conveniently located for one full day focused on hiking among the Sequoia trees in Sequoia National Park and exploring Crystal Cave, and one full day driving to and from, and hiking in, Kings Canyon National Park. The main lodge building had a nice restaurant (MAKE RESERVATIONS FOR DINNER IN ADVANCE...we saw people being turned away with few other dining options available), a very small bar/lounge, a nice gift shop, and an area out front for relaxing. The setting is beautiful, although not among the giant trees (intentionally for conservation purposes). We did the "bed and breakfast" package and the breakfast was very good...lots to eat including a variety of fresh fruit and all the usual American breakfast items. We also ate dinner two nights in the restaurant and were pleased with the quality and variety of the food, particularly in such a remote location. Rooms are located in three near-by buildings. The rooms are fairly basic; but our two queen beds were fine. Cable/flat screen TV with a dozen or so channels. "Natural" air conditioning (a fan that fits in the window easily and cooled the room at night with no discomfort). We did see people having internet withdrawal due to the limited cell phone/internet reception but not an issue for me. The lodge is close enough to the Lodgepole area to attend the evening campfire programs sponsored by the National Park Service in the summer. This property is not on par with the Old Faithful Inn or similar classic lodges but is the best option for these two must-see National Parks. I only wish I had seen one of the 600 bears in the park.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It did not start too well. At 6:30pm I was told by the restaurant that I could not get a table for 5 before 9:30 pm. So I decided to place an order to go instead...that was supposed to take 20 min. Fine, but in the meantime I went to check in. the whole process took 45mn as I was 3rd in line and the Italian couple in front of me had a hard time to understand the safety rules about bears. Moreover the clerk kept picking up the phone as well...very frustrating. My own registration took less than 5min as I expedited it and we finally head to our room. Only 3 floors so no elevator. Be ready to carry your luggages. No table either, so we had an indoor diner on our suitcases. Our large room had a small fridge, a TV and beds were comfortable. Breakfast sitting was not a problem and buffet is affordable but variety limited. All in all I would still return simply for the convenient location in the middle of the park. But I guess I will check in as early as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Lodge is nicely done architecturally as it is spread out so as to present the property as the wooded wilderness that it is in a nearly natural way except, of course, for the roadways, parking lots and buildings. Staying at the Lodge is definitely not like checking into the usual commercial chain motel. It is rustic in its architecture and the lack of the standard pool/spa/gym as part of a monolithic building adds to the experience of being in the woods. The room was well maintained and clean. When a maintenance issue arose(failed light fixture) it was attended to immediately and corrected. Nevertheless, I do not believe that the price of lodging is justified.
I assume that the adjunct food service/restaurant review should be separate, but I cannot remain silent: The restaurant should be avoided if at all possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just stayed 4 nights over Labor Day weekend at a rate of $223 per night. For that we got a room lit by three 13 watt fluorescent lights and got no improvement when we complained. Nor did the staff react to the horribly squeaky bathroom door. There is no outdoor space with your room or near the hotel buildings- no chairs, tables or patio to enjoy the sounds, sights, and smells of the outdoors, nor do any of the rooms have a view other than the parking lot a or hillside. The main lodge dining room has horrible ventilation and was hot and stuffy because the architect did not allow for sufficient opening windows. The food is pricy, and while the ingredients are of good quality, it lacks any enhanced flavor at all - no spice nor sauce to enhance the basic ingredients. I will say to pay attention to the vegetable of the day, for it is generally fresh and interesting. The vegetables we had like broccolini and asparagus were tasty but cooked al dente so they had a crunch to them. Of curse, the wine list is incredibly pedestrian and over priced. A wine at Costco that was $6.99 was $34 at Wuksachi. Bring your own and pay the $10 corkage fee.
What else could go wrong? Our last night there, after having made reservations in the restaurant two weeks in advance of our stay, our reservation was claimed by someone else and we were relegated to the first available table. I complained and got some juvenile (they are teenagers after all) explanation of the party needing a place for 4? Huh? What does that have to do with us? No manager ever appeared to discuss our plight nor make an offer to improve the situation.
Wuksachi is part of the Delaware North Corporation monopoly in the US national parks. They bid to provide every concession in the parks so there is no competition. No competition for price, quality, or service. Because they employ mostly foreign teenagers who have no career path in mind, there is no sense of survival by providing responsive customer care.

There are a feew places outside the park between Wuksachi and Grants Grove that are in the National Forest and these places are run by locals. They may not appear as fancy but in the long run you will receive greater value there than by subsidizing the political profit maching of DNC.

Room Tip: Go some where else outside the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wuksachi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wuksachi Lodge

Address: 64740 Wuksachi Way, off Generals Highway, rte 198, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wuksachi Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every national park has its top lodge, the one place to stay that reflects all the park stands for. The Wuksachi Lodge® is Sequoia’s signature resort, a striking stone-and-cedar mountain lodge situated in the heart of the park and surrounded by a mighty sequoia forest and soaring Sierra peaks. Open year-round and located with the best access to Sequoia's awesome attractions, the Wuksachi Lodge was built in 1999 in a spectacular alpine setting at 7,200-foot elevation. Nestled amongst the tall timbers in Sequoia National Park, Wuksachi Lodge offers the perfect respite for anyone looking for a place to reconnect with friends, family and the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wuksachi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wuksachi Lodge & Village Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Wuksachi Lodge And Village
Wuksachi Hotel Village
Wuksachi Village And Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wuksachi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.